We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like a pub with a few rooms”
Review of Ship & Trades

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ship & Trades
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“More like a pub with a few rooms”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights so as to visit attractions in the area. Reception staff were pleasant and polite.
We had arrived in time for lunch so decided to eat there as well.
Food was typical pub fayre (which I usually enjoy) but this was mediocre, to say the least. The vegetables, carrots and green beans, were practically raw and had no taste whatsoever.
Breakfasts were better. Plenty of choice and cooked to order but we had no other meals there.
The room was basic but adequate but some shelving close to the washbasin in the bathroom would have made things a bit better.
The room was hot for sleeping, no air con, so we needed windows open. However noise from the building's condensers were a nuisance. At £80 per night, I thought it poor value for money although one might argue that you pay for the location.
We could walk from there to the historic dockyard and Dickens World and catch a bus nearby to go to Rochester.
One final criticism was the way we were rushed out of the bar at 11 pm. Staff were clearing up around us well before that. As there was no resident's lounge, the only alternative was to go to the room. No 24 hour reception but we were given a key to the front door for when we were out after 11 pm.
I can't imagine I would go again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    122
    62
    25
    17
See reviews for
51
152
10
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
230 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Decent hotel amidst the dockyard with a young and helpful staff. The rooms are simply furnished with good beds. The pub is inviting and attracts a lot of different people. Parking is great.

The bathrooms are a bit too simple to my taste. A very tiny sink, an old bathtube and hardly space to move. Nn maintenance! Bathrooms don't match to the otherwise good rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bosbeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Former workshop and offices, so you get impressive spaces - the upstairs restaurant and rooms were large. Previous furnishing and equipment from the past are preserved but the use of wood in wet bathroom is not a good idea.
Fish and chip shop and small supermarket next door if you don't want to eat there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOASIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A good place to stay if you are visiting the dockyard as it is within walking distance. A lively pub with a good, reasonably priced menu. Our room was small but fine. Staff were friendly. Free parking was a bonus.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peterkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My wife & I were visiting the Historical Dockyard and wanted to stay close by,we saw this establishment advertised on the internet.On arrival check in was friendly and fast. The place is clean and modern. Our bedroom was clean and well equipped. The central heating was adjustable. We could see car park to the front and parking was free to use. The bar food was well prepared and typical pub grub. The locals were very friendly and welcoming. The staff were efficient. Our major let down was the over night noise that kept us awake in room 11 it was so loud we could not get any sleep. This appeared to be caused by the fact that this room is over a late night co-operative store and chip shop and sounded like coolers or air con loudly humming. When we told the staff of this problem at breakfast they did not seem very concerned at all and no offer was made to resolve the issue. Overall we would stay here again, perhaps not eating as the food seems quite dear for the quality, and certainly in a room at the opposite end of the inn from the shops.

Room Tip: Not room 11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We had a very nice stay here. The breakfast was great, small rooms but very comfortable. The location was very good as we were visiting our daughter who is studying in Gillingham. Restaurants, shops and the marina, just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladefoged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Sunborn London
Sunborn London
#136 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,522 reviews
St. George Hotel
#3 of 6 in Chatham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship & Trades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship & Trades

Property: Ship & Trades
Address: The Ship & Trades Hotel Maritime Way, Chatham ME4 3ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ship & Trades 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ship & Trades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship & Trades Hotel Chatham
The Ship And Trades
Ship & Trades Chatham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing