We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Room with Lovely View”
Review of Ship & Trades

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ship & Trades
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My mother, 2 yr old daughter and I stayed from Friday - Monday. We arrived in Chatham via train and easily hired a taxi once finding it'd be too far to walk to the Ship and Trades. The staff is friendly and the hotel is well decorated. As other reviews have mentioned there is a pub attached. The menu is pretty standard pub grub and great prices. I live in Cheshire and was surprised to find the prices lower than my own local pub! I thought as London is so close the prices of the area would reflect, but simply not the case! The price of double room was also very competitive.
The room was clean and nicely decorated. It is understated, but still modern. It definitely reflects the areas nautical heritage, and not in a cheesy way.
Like the last review mentioned it was uncomfortably warm in the room as the windows are only tiny. The fan provided didn't give much relief as it was a tower fan which had seen better days.
The other issue I found was with the room being directly over the back door of the pub, so at 11:30 the first night (friday) the bottle bins were being emptied. So there were a few almighty crashes of glass bottles being dumped. I was already awake as I was so hot. Neither of these things were the fault of the hotel - they can't control this crazy hot summer we've had. If I were to stay again I'd make sure to request a room other than 4 because of the location above the back door. Other than that it was surprisingly quite even being above a busy local pub with tons of outdoor seating.
The staff was lovely as I said. Breakfast was provided, there's no need for me to restate what the other reviews have said. They had a nice variety so in the time we stayed I never had the same breakfast twice.

There is a CO-OP shop in the same block as the hotel and pub, as well as a little chippy. Having the shop so close was great as my little girl drinks milk like it's going out of fashion! Within short walking distance is an outlet shopping mall, a number of restaurants, a cinema and the Dicken's World attraction. All of which we took advantage of. There are bus stops outside of the shopping mall which went into Chatham town and Rochester.

Over all it was a pleasant stay. If I ever returned to the area I would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Room 4 is above the pub back door so there was noise of bins being emptied as the windows were open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Feliciawoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed at the Ship and Trades Hotel so we could visit The Historic Docklands reception. Small the greeting was very welcome, our room clean bathroom needs updating a pleasant view looking at the docks and boats, breakfast was hearty plenty of it very nice, busy pub we enjoyed our meal in the evening, then we had a lovely meal the next evening in the restaurant upstairs staff pleasant most enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank edna54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed there for one Saturday night in July as I was meeting friends for a birthday in the local area and I was pleasantly surprised!! The hotel was part of a busy bar and the room was a nice size for us. When I booked they only had twin beds left but that was OK as it we were only staying one night. We didn't have any of the bar food but it looked really nice and plenty of people were eating there which is always a good sign. They have a separate restaurant on the 1st floor where you can book to have evening meals and this is also where you have breakfast as well.
The room had tea & coffee making facilities and very soft towels plus toiletries and a small TV, all we needed for our one night stay. Nice hot, powerful shower too.
The full English breakfast was huge and very nice and freshly cooked. (It kept us going for the rest of the day!) There is a choice of cereals to start if you like, and then you have a choice of hot breakfasts. Tea and coffee which is regularly replenished too. And a lovely waitress who served us. Overall the hotel is clean, with nice people and good food and for the price what more do you want!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paddy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This hotel/pub is a really good use of one of the old dockyard buildings. Our room was nicely decorated with a nautical theme. It was clean as was the bathroom . The view was of the dock and apartments opposite. This was a problem as there was no privacy in the bedroom or bathroom unless blinds/curtains were closed. Because of the construction of the building, the room got very hot from the Sun and opening the tiny producers. windows did little to help. A fan had been provided but it was rather old, noisy and feeble.
We had dinner at the hotel. The restaurant is a pleasant room with nice views of the marina. The food was pub grub - nice but nothing out of the ordinary

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank WH56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights so as to visit attractions in the area. Reception staff were pleasant and polite.
We had arrived in time for lunch so decided to eat there as well.
Food was typical pub fayre (which I usually enjoy) but this was mediocre, to say the least. The vegetables, carrots and green beans, were practically raw and had no taste whatsoever.
Breakfasts were better. Plenty of choice and cooked to order but we had no other meals there.
The room was basic but adequate but some shelving close to the washbasin in the bathroom would have made things a bit better.
The room was hot for sleeping, no air con, so we needed windows open. However noise from the building's condensers were a nuisance. At £80 per night, I thought it poor value for money although one might argue that you pay for the location.
We could walk from there to the historic dockyard and Dickens World and catch a bus nearby to go to Rochester.
One final criticism was the way we were rushed out of the bar at 11 pm. Staff were clearing up around us well before that. As there was no resident's lounge, the only alternative was to go to the room. No 24 hour reception but we were given a key to the front door for when we were out after 11 pm.
I can't imagine I would go again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Decent hotel amidst the dockyard with a young and helpful staff. The rooms are simply furnished with good beds. The pub is inviting and attracts a lot of different people. Parking is great.

The bathrooms are a bit too simple to my taste. A very tiny sink, an old bathtube and hardly space to move. Nn maintenance! Bathrooms don't match to the otherwise good rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bosbeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Chatham Maritime Hotel
4.3 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
St. George Hotel
St. George Hotel
#3 of 6 in Chatham
349 reviews
0.8 mi away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
684 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gordon House Hotel
Gordon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rochester
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship & Trades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship & Trades

Address: The Ship & Trades Hotel Maritime Way, Chatham ME4 3ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range: £79 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ship & Trades 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ship & Trades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship & Trades Hotel Chatham
The Ship And Trades
Ship & Trades Chatham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing