We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ship & Trades

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ship & Trades
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
corby northants
1 review
“great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

my wife and i stayed here for two nights while travelling through kent and found the ship and trades to be an excellent place to stay,the location was just right for exploring the surounding area,the room, was clean and comfortable,the food was great,and all of the staff we encountered were friendly helpful and polite.we were made to feel welcome from the moment we checked in [at the separate reception desk] to when we left and we would not hesitate to recommend this establishment to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daytripper054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    111
    58
    22
    17
See reviews for
48
137
8
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
538 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2009

Whilst the sheets and towels were lovely and clean - the room was shabby, dirty carpet; old decaying bathroom; dirty corridor walls. On checking in I questioned the cost of the room as more expensive booking through internet; female assistant manager quite indifferent to my queries. We were told breakfast would be in the upstairs room but there was no-one there. Man who turned out to be the Manager saw us wandering around obviously needing help but ignored us. Did have an excellent breakfast thanks to lovely female chef and waitress. Noisy room due to extractor fans underneath and noisy early morning deliveries.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marigoldKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2007

This place may well have been the last word in post-indiustrial designer gastro-pubbery when it was converted (in the 90s, I would guess). But now it is looking quite sad, as though all the energy and the people with the bright ideas have long ago moved on.

On a recent visit the staff were disinterested, the carpets grubby, the lift smelly, the paint chipped and dirty and everything generally looked worn out and in need of refurbishment.. My room (no 2) was large and pretty well equipped, though the sink was the size of half a dinner plate and no use for anything (maybe because the bathroom was kitted out for wheelchair access - but why should that mean no-one can wash properly?). Beneath my window was a very noisy aircon unit (?) which stayed on all night and would drive you mad in summer with the windows open. Breakfast was pathetic - a surly young girl, cavernous room, blaring music and scrambled eggs that looked and tasted like bits of expanded polystyrene sprayed yellow. Very poor.

On the plus side the rooms are large, the location is great, £60 for B&B seemed reasonable, and they do a decent pint of Shepherd Neame plus adequate bar food. If they sorted out the decor and service, they could charge £80 and hold their heads high. Shame that they don't.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tlentifini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2007

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here for one night in September when attending a friends wedding in the town. Our first impression of the hotel was somewhat lacklustre.

Upon arriving we initially didn't spot the hotel as it looked more like a shed with corrugated steel walls and roofing. Whilst I was aware that the hotel didn't have a separate reception (from reviews on tripadvisor), I wasn't quite aware of the extent of this and you really do have to compete with people trying to buy a drink at the bar, which to put you in the picture is actually a completely separate pub from the hotel.

The staff upon check in were far from welcoming, more comparable to uninterested bar staff (which is essentially what they were) than a proper hotel check in. Had we actually needed any kind of guidance or advice on the area I doubt they would have helped beyond pointing to the coop next door.

However, when we received our key the room was well presented. It was spotlessly clean and did not resemble in the slightest its external appearance. It literally was like night and day. The rooms were of a good size and the bed comfortable with the usual basic facilities of tea/coffee, kettle, biscuits, towels and shower gel etc. provided. As there were a number of us staying I saw several rooms and ours was not unrepresentative of the standard of accommodation.

Overall I would say we were pleased with the accommodation but, whilst it wasn't too much of an issue for our stay, the service left a little to be desired.

  • Liked — Good room
  • Disliked — Awful chedck in
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick_LHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2007

We stayed at this hotel for one night as we were attending a friend's wedding reception in the Historic Dockyard down the road (the hotel is only about a 10 minute walk from this attraction and if we'd had more time we might have investigated more).

The hotel itself is in a nice location by the water's edge and next to a small retail outlet shopping mall. It was quiet when we checked in but if the bar had been busy when we'd arrived it would have taken us a while as the bar staff are also reception staff. We had a warm welcome though and it was easy to find our room. All the rooms have a slight naval theme including the name on the door and blue and white as a colour scheme which gave a nice fresh and airy feel. The bedroom and bathroom were larger than average and were very clean.

We didn't drink/eat in the bar or restaurant in the evening so I can't comment on that. I can, however, say that the cooked breakfast in the morning was delicious and perfect for starting our day of hangovers. It was served until 10am too so we didn't have to be early risers.

I would recommend this hotel for people who are just staying a night or 2 and want somewhere comfy and clean to sleep.

  • Liked — The large clean rooms
  • Disliked — The lack of reception desk
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saddleworth, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2007

This is a hotel with many plus points. The rooms are of above average size, clean and comfortable. The staff are very friendly and helpful from the manager to the bar staff. The building is an old engineering workshop and offices built for the naval dockyard and is located a stone's throw from the Historic Dockyard of Chatham where it is easy to spend several hours looking at historic ships, buildings and making rope! There has been some thought about how to use the building with a pub at one end and a Co-op store at the other. The hotel rooms are above the Co-op and are therefore quiet. The restaurant is above the pub and with its view over the Medway Estuary was a superb place to eat breakfast. The cooked breakfast was excellent.

However there are problems. Reception is at one end of the bar and you compete for attention with the drinkers. The staff agree that reception should be elsewhere. The restaurant has closed permanently in the evenings and food is served in the pub. You may be lucky to get an alcove with less smoke (not a problem in three months!) but be quick on Sundays because they stop serving at 6 p.m. Food is standard bar menu - good in parts but usually dull.

The biggest problem is the LACK OF HOT WATER. We stayed on two separate occasions. The first time we woke to find the water was stone cold. The manager apologised profusely and said the boiler closes down on a regular basis. Engineers are sent for on a regular basis but they have no idea what is wrong. We were given a 25% discount to compensate. We stayed again a few days later on the way back. Again there was no hot water in the evening. Again we were given profuse apologies. The following morning the water was acceptable. The assistant manager said he had checked the boiler at 6 a.m. and found it had switched off again.

Nice people and a nice hotel but we won't be staying again until we read that the problems have been sorted.

  • Liked — Comfort of room and excellent Shepherd Neame beers
  • Disliked — Lack of hot water, awful reception experience and closed restaurant
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Holfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2007

Enjoyed the stay. Rooms clean and well maintained. Excellent Breakfast. Staff Friendly, management staff extremely helpful.
Menu would benefit from more thought. Large bar with a good friendly atmosphere.

Helpful?
2 Thank gglynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
The King Charles Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gillingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. George Hotel
#3 of 6 in Chatham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
East End / East London
Sunborn London
Sunborn London
#153 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship & Trades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship & Trades

Property: Ship & Trades
Address: The Ship & Trades Hotel Maritime Way, Chatham ME4 3ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ship & Trades 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ship & Trades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship And Trades
The Ship & Trades Hotel Chatham
Ship & Trades Chatham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing