We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than you might think”
Review of St. George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St. George Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Better than you might think”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I was happily surprised with this hotel. The staff are really loyal to the management. Nice, happy and helpful people. Just ask any of them how long they've been there!

Room: small and simple but quite comfortable. Can't really moan other than a bit noisy near the lift - oh and the snoring from adjacent room was very noticeable.

Bar/restaurant: I didn't have evening meal but food looked good and plentiful. Breakfast was just ordinary buffet cold, tick box hot. Not impressive.

Overall: better than you'd think from outside. If on a budget a good deal. If not, go to a premier inn - just the same but more polished.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    125
    42
    10
    12
See reviews for
69
86
30
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Although first impressions are not great, this hotel is in a good location between Rochester and Chatham, both are in walking distance. Parking was easy and secure, check in was good and we were given the option of paying on check out. We ate in the bar on the first night which was lovely, would recommend the fajitas! Wedding function which we attended on the second night was outstanding, food delicious and plentiful, decor and room amazing! Rooms are quite basic but very clean, would benefit from new bedding/headboards to give a better first impression. Breakfast was good, plenty to fill you and included in the price. Staff really friendly and helpful, great service. Noise is heard in the rooms, however this goes off at 12am on the dot and isnt too loud for you to sleep if tired! Overall, excellent value for money and brilliant wedding, thank you!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelprincesss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dumfriesshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

st george hotel in chatham kent,all staff lovely,rooms very clean & breakfast was spot-on.the staff on reception were very helpfull.we were only there for two nights,but would definetly return.we were in room 211 & one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotsawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel as we were attending a wedding on Saturday.

I must admit that the wedding was lovely, beautifully set up and the food was of a very good standard.

We had a parking issue when we arrived at the hotel. We have a people carrier and the height restriction into the hotel car park meant that we had to park the vehicle at another car park at the back of the hotel, resulting in having to climb very steep steps with no hand rail back up to the hotel. Anyone with disability issues would have not been able to do this so please be aware when booking.

There were 3 people sleeping in room and must admit this really does annoy me when they only supply enough towels for 2, consequently on both nights we had to request more towels. Room very basic could do with bit of update, no top sheets on bed only duvet, cleanliness in room was ok but I did find hairs from previous guests in bathroom sink and a collection in bath plug, not nice.


Breakfast was ok, child portion sizes served on small plates, but what we had was enjoyable. Service was basically none existent, not even a good morning grunt. On Sunday morning my sister arrived down to breakfast just on 10 oclock and was told that she was unable to order her vegetarian breakfast as service had finished, quite unbeliavable if she had been 20 mins late I could have accepted.

Overall probably more positives than negative, but would I recommend or stay again probably not.

Room Tip: Book a room overlooking the Medway we looked out onto a car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

If you get past its not very pretty facade (there are lovely buildings all around) You wll get a genuine friendly greeting at reception, a perfectly clean room, better than more expensive places I have stayed, a fantastic bed (I had to look under the sheet and protector to see who made it) and a nice fresh, breakfast.
I loved the view of the green hills and snaking river Medway from my room. What I can't understand is why I ever stayed anywhere else in Medway! It's a cheap bus ride/nice walk into Rochester especially if the blossom is out on the trees. Being a bit away from the chaos of Sweeps isn't such a bad thing anyway!
Will be heading back there for sure!

Room Tip: I had a twin which was set up as ac accessible room, good layout although I am not disabled, but spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ninecrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

i have stayed at this hotel a few times now and have loved it also i have eaten there the meals were lovely very quiet and friendly i rccomend this hotel but make sure u book

Room Tip: no problems with any rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Good value hotel not part of any chain. Very handy for Rochester High Street with its abundance of pubs, cafes and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingdaddio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
1.1 mi away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
640 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Chatham Maritime Hotel
2.7 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ship & Trades
Ship & Trades
#6 of 6 in Chatham
367 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
4.9 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#4 of 5 in Gravesend
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Hotel

Property: St. George Hotel
Address: St. George Hotel 7-8 New Road Avenue, Chatham ME4 6BB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — St. George Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Chatham/Rochester boarder the St. George Hotel is the ideal base at the heart of the Medway towns.We have 45 bedrooms all en suite, digital tv and radio, hospitality trays and telephones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your St. George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George Hotel Chatham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing