We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely clean hotel”
Review of St. George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St. George Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2013

we had never been before we were here for my husbands brothers funeral and had been ravelling over 6 hours on trains what a lovely hotel queen size beds big rooms even iron and board trouser press tea coffee wonderfull river views breakfast was great anything you wanted nothing was any trouble also had a bar if you wanted a drink would stay here again even had own car park looks small from outside but realy big hotel much bigger than it looks .

Room Tip: I would ask for river view room beautifull
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christony50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

The St George Hotel is a good independent hotel which is well located for people working in the area or as a stop off for travellers heading for the channel tunnel who might prefer something more interesting than a bland room on a motorway. It is located on the A2 close to the town centre and has its own car park with approx. 24 spaces to the rear.

Single rooms have bed, table, wardrobe and en-suite bathroom with walk-in shower. Bigger rooms are available but I haven’t used these. Rooms are on the upper three floors. There is a spacious bar beside the reception on the ground floor and a restaurant downstairs. I have only used this facility for breakfast, which is good (full English, vegetarian or continental).

I have stayed twice now and paid £48 each time which includes breakfast and offers very good value. I am happy to recommend this hotel and will use it each time I work in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LintonWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel as we had an early morning pick up by coach very close by. We were two couples each with a double room. Rooms were spacious, warm and clean with tea and coffee making facilities. Dinner was excellent in the downstairs restaurant and were served by a lovely waitress. We left too early for breakfast but instead we were provided with a packed lunch and were able to choose what we had. Receptionists were very friendly as was the night Porter who,let us out at 4.45 am. Will stay again and would recommend.

Room Tip: River views available if asked for. Handy for coach our pick up point.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DorothyT202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Was a little sceptical when I read some of the reviews on other sites, as soon as I walked in the doors at the front all the fears went away. Made to feel very welcome, explained where my room was and given the key for WiFi.
When I got to my room I was gobsmacked by the Wonderful view overlooking the River. The room was immaculately clean as was the en suite bathroom.
My Breakfast was smashing as was the evening meals and the prices were very reasonable. Freshly cooked and hot.
Staff very very friendly and having the Lift up to the floors was a big help.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 407 which was a single room. Will ask for that one again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Stayed 3 nights, good value no frills accommodation. Room spacious though fairly basic, reasonably clean, beds comfortable ,functional rather than luxury but about what you would expect for the price. Breakfast and evening meal fine. Staff very friendly and obliging, would stay again.

Room Tip: If you want a bit more luxury it's probably worth paying for a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

As others have said, the exterior of the hotel is not very prepossessing especially around the back. I found the bar area rather dark and gloomy but otherwise the rooms and facilities are fine. Unfortunately I missed dinner as it ended at 2115, but the breakfast was very good (with the possible exception of what I took to be orange juice but wasn't) and generous. Great coffee. Friendly staff.

The hotel is very handy for walking into Rochester which does look a little run-down at the moment, but has some fantastic buildings.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Bloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We held a 60th Birthday party at the St George. It was a whole day event and the room, catering and staff were excellent and couldn't have provided us with a better service.
Roland, the Manager was totyally professional and made some of the mangers of London top hotels look inferior.
Rooms are comfortabel and many have good views of the Dockyard etc.
Breakfast was a little disorganised but that was ismply due to everyone turningup at once nevertheless the staff were charming and apologetic.
Wouldn't hesitate to have an event there again. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noodlewoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Chatham Maritime Hotel
1.1 mi away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
664 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
1.6 mi away
Ship & Trades
Ship & Trades
#6 of 6 in Chatham
388 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gordon House Hotel
Gordon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rochester
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Hotel

Address: St. George Hotel 7-8 New Road Avenue, Chatham ME4 6BB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range: £52 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St. George Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Chatham/Rochester boarder the St. George Hotel is the ideal base at the heart of the Medway towns.We have 45 bedrooms all en suite, digital tv and radio, hospitality trays and telephones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your St. George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George Hotel Chatham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing