We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little place”
Review of St. George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St. George Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed here while visiting relatives. Nice little room. Bed, desk, chair, bedside drawers, tea & coffee making stuff, & wall mounted TV. Bathroom could do with an update. Well situated, close to the centre of Chatham & Rochester. 10 mins walk from either station, Rochester is up hill. Chatham bus station gets you to most of Medway Towns & is 10 mins away.
Breakfast is OK. Doesn't help that I'm a chef in a Cumbria based hotel where breakfast is bigger. Full English breakfast was 2 bacon, 1 sausage, fried egg & beans. Other choices here are bacon & eggs, veggie breakfast, boiled egg or croissants.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank 45topchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

Had an overnight stay here whilst attending a family party. Room was nice, clean and well equipped. Had a meal from the restaurant and breakfast next day, both of which were very nice. Only faults were that room was cold and central heating was not on at that time however they did provide a fan heater which we used. Also restaurant was not open a lunchtime as it had functions on at night which was a disappointment as we had been travelling for about 6 hours. Having said that the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank CSG63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the George for a family wedding we stayed in a executive room with view of the river Medway,room was clean,queen size bed was very comfy best nights sleep I've had in a hotel bed. Tea,coffee and hot chocolate in rooms toiletries in bathroom.breakfast very good.staff very friendly and helpful.will go back again

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thefordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed 14th august for one night in an executive room and loved it. We also had an evening meal which was real good value for money. There is nothing we can think of to fault this hotel, everything about it is spot on, from the excellent staff to the excellent food and perfect accomodation, well worthy of at at least four or five stars. Overall we loved it and we will be back in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Choose an Executive room, they are brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank basil f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I stayed at the St George for an overnight stay on a Saturday night. I arrived by train and it is conveniently located about halfway between Rochester and Chatham railway stations, about 10-15mins walk from either.
I was travelling solo and allocated a single room which was small and compact (single bed, bedside locker, table and chair, wardrobe) but completely adequate for my purpose. There was a kettle with tea and coffee facilities, a TV and lovely views over the Medway river. There was an adjoining wet room. Nothing fancy but clean and comfortable with free Wifi.
This hotel seems to be a favourite for those having functions (it has expanded over the years and has a number of function rooms) and I thought I had made a bad mistake when the beat of pop music could be heard from possibly the floor below. However this stopped at 10.30pm on the dot and thereafter the night was quiet.
There's a bar which also serves snacks and a restraunt on the lower ground floor. Breakfast was a selection of cereals, tea/coffee, choice of 2 juices and a choice of about 5 cooked breakfasts (full English, vegetarian, boiled eggs, bacon and eggs and another I can't remember, plus toast). Again nothing fancy but good..
The place appears to be family run, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed two nights here with eight other family members. Very good value for money. Family run and most staff very helpful and friendly. Rooms were very clean and had everything I needed. I had a riverside view which was lovely.

Parking was a bit of a problem as they had two functions on Friday evening and one on Saturday. I think priority should be given to those staying at the hotel and not just visiting guests. Also need to mention that the restaurant is closed when functions are on.

Good full English breakfast and choice of menu. Excellent coffee.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Bearable for a one-night business stay, but overall premises very shabby and not too clean. Below average breakfast. No hair dryer which is very unusual these days, nor toiletries. Didn't risk either bar or restaurant but went out in the evening instead. Cheap, but not cheerful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prose5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
1.1 mi away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
656 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Chatham Maritime Hotel
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ship & Trades
Ship & Trades
#6 of 6 in Chatham
382 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
0.7 mi away
Gordon House Hotel
Gordon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rochester
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Hotel

Address: St. George Hotel 7-8 New Road Avenue, Chatham ME4 6BB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range: £56 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St. George Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Chatham/Rochester boarder the St. George Hotel is the ideal base at the heart of the Medway towns.We have 45 bedrooms all en suite, digital tv and radio, hospitality trays and telephones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your St. George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George Hotel Chatham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing