We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay!”
Review of St. George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St. George Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very nice stay!”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Spent a weekend there with friends, booked 3 double rooms and on arrival we were asked if we would like to upgrade, the receptionist had kept it back for us to decide as we had made all the arrangements which we really appreciated. In fact the receptionist was lovely, very friendly and chatty both on arrival and departure. Room was very good but we did have some problem with the water pressure in the jacuzzi and would have preferred just a shower! Plenty of teas and coffee, nice view of the river and a comfy bed.
We attended a function during the evening and the food was excellent as was the entertainment!
Breakfast was very good though our friends appeared to wait a very long time for the coffee pot to be replenished!!
Good location, reasonable rates, pleasant stay, can recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    122
    42
    10
    12
See reviews for
68
85
30
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed there last Saturday. Nothing special.
Very noisy in room 314 - until midnight. - I had to go out for a walk to get away from
the noise.
Had my bag checked at reception earlier......what's that about? Too intrusive.....

Breakfast was a very nice tick box affair.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DFol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We booked a party package to celebrate our wedding earlier in the week.
The manager, Roland Stanley, could not have been more pleasant, more accomodating or more professional.
He and his staff ensured that we had the most fantastic night to celebrate our marriage.
The disco was superb, the dance floor was full all night (thank you Steve Ware)
The buffet was excellent, good quality food.
Our guests have commented on how fantastic the evening was and so many have stated that it was the best party they had been to in a very long time.
The evening could not have been more successful, a perfect way to start our married life, we had so much fun!
Thank you so much to all the staff who made our evening so special.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartyHel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here while visiting relatives. Nice little room. Bed, desk, chair, bedside drawers, tea & coffee making stuff, & wall mounted TV. Bathroom could do with an update. Well situated, close to the centre of Chatham & Rochester. 10 mins walk from either station, Rochester is up hill. Chatham bus station gets you to most of Medway Towns & is 10 mins away.
Breakfast is OK. Doesn't help that I'm a chef in a Cumbria based hotel where breakfast is bigger. Full English breakfast was 2 bacon, 1 sausage, fried egg & beans. Other choices here are bacon & eggs, veggie breakfast, boiled egg or croissants.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 45topchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Had an overnight stay here whilst attending a family party. Room was nice, clean and well equipped. Had a meal from the restaurant and breakfast next day, both of which were very nice. Only faults were that room was cold and central heating was not on at that time however they did provide a fan heater which we used. Also restaurant was not open a lunchtime as it had functions on at night which was a disappointment as we had been travelling for about 6 hours. Having said that the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CSG63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the George for a family wedding we stayed in a executive room with view of the river Medway,room was clean,queen size bed was very comfy best nights sleep I've had in a hotel bed. Tea,coffee and hot chocolate in rooms toiletries in bathroom.breakfast very good.staff very friendly and helpful.will go back again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thefordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed 14th august for one night in an executive room and loved it. We also had an evening meal which was real good value for money. There is nothing we can think of to fault this hotel, everything about it is spot on, from the excellent staff to the excellent food and perfect accomodation, well worthy of at at least four or five stars. Overall we loved it and we will be back in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Choose an Executive room, they are brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank basil f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
1.1 mi away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
627 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Chatham Maritime Hotel
1.6 mi away
Ship & Trades
Ship & Trades
#5 of 6 in Chatham
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
0.5 mi away
Gordon House Hotel
Gordon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rochester
125 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Hotel

Property: St. George Hotel
Address: St. George Hotel 7-8 New Road Avenue, Chatham ME4 6BB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — St. George Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Chatham/Rochester boarder the St. George Hotel is the ideal base at the heart of the Medway towns.We have 45 bedrooms all en suite, digital tv and radio, hospitality trays and telephones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your St. George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George Hotel Chatham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing