We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flo was the best guide we have ever seen”
Review of Dickens World - CLOSED

Dickens World
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dickens World The Grand Tour launched on 23rd March 2013. This is a new totally immersive, live 'Grand Tour'. Recreating a fantastical Dickensian World. Visitors can enjoy a journey of discovery as they join their unique tour guide and take a step back in time to the Dickensian England that Charles Dickens knew and wrote about in his novels and short stories.
York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Flo was the best guide we have ever seen”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We visited Dickens World, in Chatham Docks, whilst at the Rochester Sweeps festival and were shown around by a fantastic costumed guide called Flo. She was absolutely brilliant. Her acting skills were second to none and she thoroughly entertained our group as both the lovely informative Flo and her sister the strict school teacher. We learnt a lot about Charles Dickens and the era he lived in and wrote about in a funny and well presented atmosphere. The set is authentic looking and the storyline believable. Flo is a credit to the attraction and really made our visit special. I myself enjoyed the close shave and the caning for being naughty in class. The restaurant upstairs also served excellent food by friendly staff and was good value for money.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    720
    269
    93
    40
    44
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Flo provided Fantastic value for money”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We were visiting the Medway towns for a trampolining course and thought a treat visit would be fun. Flo was our guide and she was amazing, sensitive to the needs of our 8 year old gymnasts, catering for all needs pitching the information on a variety of levels of understanding. The set is realistic and atmospheric and helps the children to learn, retain and absorb information beyond the stories. This is also useful for any children studying the Victorians right through to older teenagers studying great expectations. I won't give to much away. Thank you for a positive, remarkable and fun experience. Fantastic value for money

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pond1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Impressive”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had a great day out, the tour by the actor playing William Dorritt was excellent. He was full of enthusiasm and the children loved it. Both adults and children learned loads about Charles Dickens while having great fun. Very impressed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tanya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Dickens world”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

William dorrit is a star performer. You will be captivated by his charm and courteous manner. Something that you do not see or hear nkwadays.

He Definately makes a vast difference to this visit to Dickens world.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Allen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“William Dorritt”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Enjoyed our tour, found it good fun and knowledgable. Our tour guide was excellent and definitely enhanced our experience. He was a real character and was made for the role.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dickens World also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing