We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great attraction for all but very young children/babies” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dickens World - CLOSED

Dickens World
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dickens World The Grand Tour launched on 23rd March 2013. This is a new totally immersive, live 'Grand Tour'. Recreating a fantastical Dickensian World. Visitors can enjoy a journey of discovery as they join their unique tour guide and take a step back in time to the Dickensian England that Charles Dickens knew and wrote about in his novels and short stories.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A great attraction for all but very young children/babies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by how good Dickens World is. Our guide, in period dress, remained in character throughout the one and a half hour tour.
We began with a short film about Dickens' life and travels then were led through a very good re-creation of Victorian London, seeing living and working conditions as well as prison life and a school. Even some smells were reproduced.
We were given a lot of information about Dickens himself, his early life and how he went about his writing and making it accessible to all, not just the rich who could afford leather bound books.
I would recommend this to anyone but perhaps not with children under 5. However, remember to book in advance as tours were limited to a maximum of 20 people. We just turned up but could not get in as there were 2 school parties in. Fortunately, we were able to go back later.
No food or drink available during the tour but plenty of options next door and in the vicinity.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    719
    269
    93
    40
    44
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

What a great experience, our guide was a William Dorrit . He really worked hard and gave us a great time. Brilliant, we where in 2 minds to go in but he made it worthwhile.
The Owners need to look at the outside to make it more exciting.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank milchilchhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
1 review
“tour guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

we took our grandson to dickens world chatham kent where we had a tuor guide called bill and I have to say I really didn't want to go at first but I had a wonderful day out and the tour guide we had was wonderful he made it all worth while so to u bill I thank you for making it such a wicked day you should be proud of yourself I would do it all over again as long as I could have bill as my guide thank you

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“OK but could do so much better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

When we visited this attraction we thought that visually it looked pretty good.

The biggest issue we found was the staff who were supposed to be Dickensian characters but some of them were on their mobile phones standing around looking totally bored which did nothing for the overall Dickensian sounding at least keeping it real.

The bar area also was totally out of character with the rest of the attraction it doesn't do anything for the feel of the place.

All said and done we di enjoy our visit but it could be so much more ..... the management need to go to USA and see how these type of attractions are done properly and make it real.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank VERONICAHEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
medway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good entertainment but we expected more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I heard very good opinions about the place from people who already visited Dickens World and we saw many pictures. It was interesting and entertaining especially for older children who knows the books of Charles Dickens but we were disappointed that the boat tour was no longer available which we hoped would be the main attraction. There was only 2 staff members who did the guided tour dressed in clothes from Victorian times and we expected more staff dressed like that walking around and chatting to the visitors as it apparently used to be. And that was the Dickens festival weekend so we expected more attractions! Overall a good place to spend an afternoon with children and make them more familiar with the Dickens output if you live in Kent but not really worth ito come from far to visit it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank elizabell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dickens World also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing