We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great b&b find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maison Dieu Guest House
Ranked #3 of 38 Dover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed in May 2014 and was overjoyed with this b&b. The hosts were very helpful and friendly. Bedroom very comfortable with a lovely view of Dover castle. The guest house was spotless and compliments to the chef on the tasty breakfast. When we need a b&b in the Dover area Maison Dieu will be our first choice. Thank you Diane and Barry for the obvious hard work you put in to make your guest house feel like home from home.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HazelC234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed here in May 2014. The owners were very gracious. They helped us with bus directions
& information on touring Canterbury. We felt like we were staying with friends. We loved the way the rooms were decorated. Breakfast was delicious. We had our choice on a menu & wrote in what we wanted & what time we wanted to eat. I think this was probably the best B & B in Dover. We had a great time touring the Castle. We walked from the B & B from the train station & walked to the ferry to journey to France.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heiny-gianino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We received a lovely warm welcome from Diane and Barry (along with a pot of tea and biscuits). We had booked a twin room in attic with shared facilities as this was the only one left. The place was spotlessly clean, although a small room attention to detail and use of space available made it a very pleasant room to stay in. The location of the hotel is great a short walk into town and to the sea front. Breakfast was fantastic, great choice and cooked to order. Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SussieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bazildonbond, Owner at Maison Dieu Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you so much! It's great that you so enjoyed your stay.

We have 7 guest rooms located on the 1st and 2nd floors - our Small Standard Twin has everything you might need, is still AA 4 Star quality but it has limited space and shared facilities (with 1 room for 1 person). It's great for those on a budget or those just looking for a clean and comfy 'nice place' to stay here in White Cliffs Country. We have a TripAdvisor Special Offer for 2 nights stay in this room throughout June - so a great deal, and a great central location for exploring the Garden of England Country of Kent - and of course we're so close to the ferry port it's easy to take a day trip to France too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed with 2 young children for 2 nights and really enjoyed the time. The place is very clean and truly lovely, great breakfast and warm welcome from the hosts, who helped with local advice. Good location for both the marina, the city centre and the castle, and good value for money in quality of the accommodation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OlgaNLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Lovely clean and homely stay. Barry and Diane made us very welcome with lots of information on places to go. Very handy for the town centre, the Castle, and the ferry.
It's a small point, but I have to say we both liked the shower dispenser, with its supply of shampoo, conditioner, and shower gel. It's little things like that that make all the difference. The decor was fresh and neutral, and....the fire door into our bedroom was painted to match the decor!! I'm fed up of staying in rooms that are often spoiled by a tatty looking sapele faced door that's had loads of sticky tape stuck on it for years.
Well done both of you for a keeping such a smashing place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed with a friend at the B&B. Had a warm welcome. Room and bath were clean and comfortable. Extreme friendly owners gave us the feeling of being welcome. One of the best breakfasts I had on the trip. Next time in Dover I will definitely stay there again.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Anke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I normally stay overnight at the Premier Inn (but only if they have a cheap deal!), so this time I needed to look elsewhere as object to paying full whack for corporate service. What a find Maison Dieu was. Good price, excellent room, cleanliness could not be faulted, and was even welcomed with a cup of coffee! An early start meant I didn't have breakfast but if everything else experienced is to go by, then I would expect it would be very good. location is less than 5 minutes to ferry, and a short walk to town. There is a small car park outside but nowhere near big enough if many people were staying but a public car park is right opposite. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank witneytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bazildonbond, Owner at Maison Dieu Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay -as you say, hotels in Dover charge a great deal for impersonal service PLUS supplements for single rooms!

We have only 7 guests rooms which means we can offer best advice and service to our guests whether they are travelling alone or with family (our family ensuites sleep 3-5). We have free parking for 5/6 vehicles which over 11 years has proved adequate for our guests needs but as you say, we do have a huge public car park directly opposite. We are only 5 -10 minutes walk from bus and train stations and 15 minutes walk from Dover ferry terminals which means that many of our guests don't even require parking and our location is great for those walking North Downs Way, we also have secure anchorage for bicycles so perfectly located for a short break Dover and able to cater for most requirements. We look forward to seeing you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
0.6 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
917 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dover East Hotel
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Dieu Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Dieu Guest House

Address: 89 Maison Dieu Road, Dover CT16 1RU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range: £63 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Dieu Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic modern in style, welcoming & very comfortable guest rooms are perfect for a stay in Dover! Our AA 4 STAR Silver Award fully acoustic glazed Guest Accommodation Kent is offered with genuine English warmth and hospitality. Personal attention, maps & information ensures the very best is made of your stay. We offer Ensuite Family, Superking, Double and Twin Guest Rooms - in addition, cosy Twin & Single, each with own private lockable bathroom across small landing - ideal for those wanting high quality accommodation but at a budget price. Central for shops, restaurants & launderette - providing left luggage facility, free Wi-Fi & parking, we're situated just 5 minutes' drive from Dover England ferry & cruise terminals & a few minutes' walk from bus & train stations. With simply stunning coastal scenery (the White Cliffs of Dover) & the fabulous Dover Castle - for those with even a little time to spare Dover, in the gorgeous Garden of England County of Kent, offers much to inspire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Maison Dieu Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Dieu Guest House Hotel Dover
Maison Dieu Guest House Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing