We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic surroundings, tremendous breakast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dover
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alkham Court Farmhouse
Ranked #4 of 38 Dover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Idyllic surroundings, tremendous breakast”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We arrived looking forward to a relaxing weekend and were not disappointed. The room was comfy, the breakfast exquisite and the surroundings lovely. I would recommend a stay to anyone planning a stay near the Dover/Kent area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phxmars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
99
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in this excellent farmhouse bed and breakfast, and when asked for ideas for improvement, we were stuck! What a find! From our arrival to our departure nothing was too much trouble for our friendly hosts, Wendy and Neil, and all the little extra touches made our stay really special, from fresh milk and a decanter of sherry to home baked welsh cakes. We would certainly recommend this to friends, but warn them that, having eaten the wonderful breakfast, they will need nothing to eat till dinner time. Wendy's recommendations for dinner were very welcome and certainly worth finding. Thank you both so much for recharging our batteries so well.

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs in Badger Room and really enjoyed the sunsets from there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheKeighleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

A wonderful stay in glorious surroundings with excellent hosts - Wendy and Neil were generous with their time and advice. The full English breakfast was outstanding, our room comfortable with lots of little extras, even wine in the fridge. The views from the garden are fantastic with sheep and horses grazing in the fields, birds singing and the three amigos - 3 tame hens who spend much of their time foraging in the flower beds and waiting for Wendy on the front door step. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Watsonsgotravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

It was a very lovely stay. Wendy has been very kind and helpful. Pity we didn't get a chance to do the hot tub, the amazing country view thru the big window would have been a great experience. The welcome cake was one of the best handmade cake I have ever tried, also the breakfast was so yummy. Wendy was so kind and generous giving us some fresh eggs (which we actually went out and saw picked it from the chicken!!). It's definitely a place I'd love to go back and recommend to my friends.

Room Tip: Although there is a hot tub (that you can book your personal use time), we still enjoyed the bath in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NyssaWoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We spent two nights here in October and loved every minute of it. Beautiful farm, lovely owners, excellent accommodations and a relaxing atmosphere. I would recommend to anyone that if they are traveling near Dover to give Alkham Court Farmhouse serious consideration. The one thing I would suggest for Alkham Court is to make it easier to find. Although I was able to locate the road and rough location via GPS I found it difficult to figure out which exact entrance I needed to take. A larger sign would help:) Other than that, no complaints.

Room Tip: The Pheasant Room was a great choice for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Spent one night here, having booked at very short notice, and were so pleased with our choice. We stayed in the Badger Room, on the first floor, & it was lovely. The bed was super comfortable, and there was even a sofa to relax on. We also enjoyed the extra touches, such as the small decanter of sherry - very warming on a winter evening. The breakfast was very good as well, particularly the freshly made blueberry muffins.

There was lots to do in the local area as well - don't miss the White Cliffs, where you can do some excellent walking. We parked in the National Trust car park, on the outskirts of Dover, & walked to St Margarets at Cliffe & back again. It was a good afternoon's walk, with a teashop at the end, in the NT visitor centre. We also visited Samphire Hoe, which was good for a couple of hours - again you can get refreshments there, even in winter! From there we went on to Walmer Castle, much smaller than Dover Castle, but great for an afternoon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poppycatLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Best B&B for me .. where to begin.. everything was perfect.. we stayed there for my first birthday after marriage, i knew nothing about Alkham court,stay is one of my husbands gift :) Beautiful country view was amazing.. room was very cosy..Great breakfast..we loved the sauna and enjoyed the view from jaccuzzi and the host Wendy and Neil was lovely..they arranged beautiful flowers and cake.. it was on August luckily we enjoyed metier showers.. Perfect stay for any occasoin ... i would definetly stay there again :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Preethi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
4.6 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
127 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
888 reviews
4.2 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
4.9 mi away
Broome Park Golf and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alkham Court Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkham Court Farmhouse

Property: Alkham Court Farmhouse
Address: Alkham Court Meggett Lane | South Alkham, Dover CT15 7DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alkham Court Farmhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alkham Court offers award winning luxury farmhouse accommodation overlooking the scenic Alkham Valley with stunning views at Breakfast and glorious sunsets in the evening. Guests have complimentary use of the hot tub and sauna to relax and totally unwind during your stay. Our four guest rooms offer luxury ensuite rooms with kingsize beds and their own individual entrances. Our beautiful location in the Kent countryside gives you a unique and special stay. We are immensely proud to be recognised by Trip Advisor's Excellence Award and their Hall of Fame for 2015/16. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alkham Court Farmhouse Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing