We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B we have ever stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandown Guest House
Ranked #16 of 38 Dover B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I have never stayed anywhere that felt as much like home as Sandown does. A group of four of us stayed for one night to catch an early ferry to Dunkirk and we all feel the same way. Martin greeted us with a smile (even though it was raining) as we arrived and he couldn't have been more friendly & helpful - giving us advice on when to leave for our ferry, how to get there etc. The rooms were outstanding: clean, spacious, beautifully decorated, comfy beds, great showers and the little touches - biscuits stacked in a jar, a toblerone each etc were lovely. The spacious lounge with the huge TV was also stunning. We literally cannot praise this place highly enough! Would recommend to anyone and we will definitely be going back when we catch the ferry again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samjane89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for Sandown Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

We a German family comprising 2 adults and 3 kids spent two nights in Dover at this lovely guesthouse where Sonja offers an excellent service and a cosy and comfortable accommodation meeting the high demands and needs of a family with 3 children. She even let us have a separate 3rd room for our daughter Rebecca to sleep in. She loved to have a room on her own not having to balance her needs with those of her elder and her twin brother.

Sonja did ask us every morning for our breakfast wishes and could even meet special needs our kids.

Furthermore it was quite convenient to have a car park in the rear of the house with Easy access to the guesthouse through the garden.

We enjoyed our stay very much and will definitely come again.

We also like to extend our thanks to both Sonja and Martin for having had such a pleasant and comfortable stay.

Reiner, Christa and kids

Room Tip: Easy booking via mail. On special requests, e,g, number of people to sleep there, it is advisable to...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reiner L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed at Sandown for two nights and agree with the positive reviews from other guests. Sonia and Martin made sure we had everything we needed. Martin kindly dropped us off at the ferry port and gave us lots of good information to help us on the rest of our trip. We definitely recommend Sandown!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We arrived by bus from London and Sonia was there to take us to the Sandown. Right away she made us feel very comfortable and we knew we had made the right choice even before we arrived at her B&B. WOW what a place:clean comfortable room, beautiful landscape, excellent breakfast!! Sonia and Martin were so helpful with everything, transportation, train and bus schedules, sites to see. Martin took us to a couple of places we would not have gone to, it was like having your own personal tour guide. We were part of a Channel Swim support crew and Martin and Sonia's tremendous knowledge of the Channel Swim helped with the stress of waiting for the swim to take place. Martin's humor, what a relief for us Yanks!! We feel like we made new friends and hope to revisit!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our night precruise at Sandown Guest House. Sonia was so gracious to pick us up at the ferry when we arrived and provide transport both to Dover Castle and the cruise terminal the day we departed for the cruise. She was very helpful with tips on things to do in Dover and made us feel at home. We stayed in the annex and the room was very nice, well decorated, and comfortable and we had an ensuite private bathroom. The breakfast was a full English breakfast and was delicious. We loved the garden and ambiance of the house and would recommend this highly to anyone wanting to get a feel for a true English home and wonderful hospitality!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terrymb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Just returned to US after cruise in Europe from Dover. Booked Sandown guesthouse sight unseen. What an amazing experience right from the get go Martin offered to help with plans for stay in Dover. When we arrived he offered us free calls home to US. To let family know we had arrived safely. The rooms were beautiful and very tastefully decorated. The beds were very comfortable. In the morning had a sumptuous English breakfast. To top things off they took our luggage to the cruise ship and delivered us to Dover castle for a tour. Everything went so smoothly. Their gardens were beautiful! For the first time ever I was totally relaxed for an amazing vacation. Hands down this was the best experience ever! I will return for a relaxing stay to enjoy the English countryside.

Room Tip: All the rooms were great! Went with a group of seven people so booked 3 doubles and a single. All th...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I never write reviews for my experiences, but I felt I needed to for this guest house in Dover. Sonia & Martin make you feel right at home...it was if we had known them for years. Their guest house is clean, colorful, and well decorated. But, that is not why you want to stay here. It is the "feeling" you have staying here...it can't be beaten. Sonia went out of her way driving us to Dover Castle and ensuring our luggage made it to the cruise port safely. My group of friends talked about our experience with Sonia & Martin throughout our trip. I would go back there just to stay at Sandown.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spkell56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
1.2 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
134 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
906 reviews
3.9 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
315 reviews
0.0 mi away
Westbank Guest House
Westbank Guest House
#18 of 38 in Dover
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandown Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandown Guest House

Address: 229 Folkestone Road, Dover CT17 9SL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range: £48 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandown Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin & Sonia welcome you to their family run Victorian guest house. We offer fresh home cooked full English breakfast with vegetarian options. We are situated only minutes from the train station, town and docks and cruise terminals. We offer high quality en-suite rooms as well as budget rooms without en-suite facilities. Private parking facilities and secure garage parking for motorbikes and cycles. We also allow pets to stay with prior arrangements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sandown Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandown Guest House Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing