We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never a bad meal”
Review of New Moon Flower

New Moon Flower
Ranked #29 of 170 Restaurants in Dover
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Never a bad meal”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Eaten here quite a few times and food is consistantly good. Good value too. Parking can be a bit tricky.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    41
    17
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Deal
Level Contributor
141 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Solitary lunch but not put off”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Some mixed reviews on here, but reasonable choice for £8 for starter, main and Chinese tea or coffee. My chicken and sweet corn soup did not stint on the chicken, and the sweet and sour pork was favoured with peppers, pineapple and carrots. The staff were quite prompt but not conversational. They occupied themselves with folding linen napkins for perhaps a busier evening. Did they forget to put out salt and pepper? - prawn crackers were provided however. There is a takeaway next door, and both had the courtesy to inform diners of Christmas opening times. If you come in at noon, keep your coat on as the restaurant heating was just kicking in, but the English Christmas music was turned up for my benefit. This end of Dover not too affluent which may explain lack of other diners, who perceive a buffet in a competitor as the best value

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worst lunch”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Visited for lunch yesterday. Restaurant was empty. Service was minimal and staff not particularly friendly. The food was bland and tasteless, like the cheapest supermarket ready meal!!? In fact one of those would have been preferable! I have been several times in the past and always enjoyed good atmosphere and food...what has gone wrong? Disappointment was expressed at the time but staff did not appear to be bothered we had not enjoyed the food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue14612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best in Dover!!”
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Simply the best Chinese food in Dover I have ever tasted!! I have been here twice now and on both occasions it has been perfect. Such rich tasting and flavoursome food.

Helpful?
Thank DanCronin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wow absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Our family went for an early Christmas meal on a Wednesday night the place was really busy but we were served very quickly with our starters and soup. The mains were fabulous too and when we wanted to order more it wasn't an issue at all. Fantastic value for money good variety of well cooked beautifully presented food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hamdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Moon Flower also viewed

 

Been to New Moon Flower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing