We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house, lovely room, great welcome, we'll be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crabble Hill House Guest House
Ranked #7 of 38 Dover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

A big thanks to Gary who has a lovely friendly manner, keeps a perfectly clean house, & offered us smoked salmon & eggs for breakfast along with a traditional English feast, which I really appreciated whilst my husband indulged in the full monty!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013

My partner of life and myself did only spend one night there on our way from Germany down to the South of England but we are sure that we'll try to plan a longer stay for our next trip. We got a warm welcome even if we did arrive in the middle of the night. Because my partner had to work before we had to book the last ferry from Calais to Dover but that didn't cause any problem to Gary, the owner. We had a lovely room, Mulberry room. The interior was excellent, everything was clean, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was large with a big shower in it. This place was the perfect start for our first holiday as a pair for years and not only because it so close to the ferry port. Breakfast the next day was very good and Gary and his staff were very kind and helpful. We really can recommend this house and we are sure that we will come back one day.
Thanks a lot Gary!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ecosse68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Spacious room / shower. Nice little extra touches biscuits / toiletries . Lovely valley views from dinning room . Gary very welcoming and friendly . Would defiantly recommend . Problem finding it but Gary patiently rerouted us in .

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corinnejohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Why it has taken so long to discover this Guest House I've no idea, but thank goodness we finally did. It's an exceptional find and we look forward to staying again whenever we return to the area. I had made a mistake on my booking and we turned up a day early, which could have been disastrous. However, Gary, the owner, was so charming and accommodating and the problem was solved by him in such a gracious way. Thank you so much Gary for your welcome.

Lizzie

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizziep8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This was my second stay at Crabble Hill. Gary is an exceptionally friendly host and the guest house itself is lovely - I was in the gorgeous Mulberry room (both stays) and had a perfect night's sleep, both times. I need fast, reliable wi-fi for work and the internet connection was flawless both times. Breakfast is excellent - lots of delicious fresh fruit with a stunning view on the gardens below! I believe the guest house does not have credit card facilities so, if you haven't paid in advance, make sure you have cash on you.
For me, the best bit about the guest house is its location. It's just outside Dover and literally a five-minute drive from the ferry terminal - which you get to from a back road, avoiding Dover altogether, so you don't even have to worry about town centre traffic.
Regarding the comment below re. the icy car park - in similar weather conditions I chose to park on the street in one of the very spacious slots just outside the entrance - it seemed just as safe and it's so convenient to just get into the car in the morning and drive off to the port!
Needless to say, I will be back plenty more times.
Lovely guest house in a really handy location!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Selene80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

the second time that we stayed here and we will come back for sure!

It was again an excellent stay - we even got a free upgrade to a bigger room. Room was very nice and large - nice new bathroom - TV - free internet - very quiet.

Gary was very pleasant as usual and we even got a doggy bag for breakfast in the morning, because we had to leave very early.

Thank you very much for a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andreada64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay in Dover to make our early ferry to Calais a lot easier,and picked Crabble Hill House as the building looked gorgeous and the reviews were excellent. To be honest these didn't do it justice.
We arrived mid afternoon to be welcomed by Gary as if we were long lost friends. We were shown around the house before being taken to our room, which was beautiful. We were in the Bay Room which was warm and welcoming. Lovely bed and authentic furniture with tea and coffee making facilities (very nice cups), cold water and glasses. The shower room was large and immaculate with good shower and again lovely furnishings.
We were recommended to try a pub in one of the nearby villages for dinner and I am delighted that we did. We went to the Fox in Temple ewell and much like Gary I would highly recommend this splendid old pub.
Upon returning to the house we found a warm room and slept very well despite overlooking the road due to the superb glazing. The following morning we woke early and met Gary in the breakfast room (what a view!) for a freshly cooked breakfast, cereal, fruit, toast - even vege sausages!
Once breakfast was over Gary showed us the best way to go to avoid the heavy traffic and ensure we catch our ferry in time.
Frankly we could not have been happier with the Crabble house. This is a perfect place for a very relaxing stay and I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madison_Stargate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.9 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
917 reviews
2.2 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
136 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Marquis at Alkham
1.8 mi away
Guston House B&B
Guston House B&B
#6 of 38 in Dover
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crabble Hill House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crabble Hill House Guest House

Address: 35 London Road | River, Dover CT17 0SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range: £62 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crabble Hill House Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely Art Deco house provides B&B accommodation close to Dover Ferry and Cruise terminal, has easy access to the channel tunnel and has large en-suite rooms with spacious bathrooms. We have a private guest lounge and pleasant dining room with views over the valley. We have free off road parking and home cooked breakfasts with vegetarian options. There are good local train services to Canterbury and High speed rail link direct to London (1 hour). There are many local attractions to visit including Dover Castle and many local golf courses. We have a large family room and allow pets. The garden is large and secluded with a large decking area, with views over the valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and HotelsClick so you can book your Crabble Hill House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crabble Hill House Guest House Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing