We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Marquis at Alkham
Ranked #5 of 38 Dover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights in the smaller of the hotel's cottages. Very comfortable and well appointed. As it was very hot, the fact that it was cool and shaded was welcome but at other times I would find it too dark. Great grounds for our dogs, who are welcome in the cottages. We had two meals in the restaurant. Great food. Not cheap, but worth it. Service was at times slow and disorganised. We waited 15 minutes for a pre-dinner drink to arrive. A little thought perhaps needs to go into the organisation. Overall, though, a very pleasurable experience.

Room Tip: Did not see the rooms in the hotel. The larger of the cottages gets a little more sun.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halfahorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
There are newer reviews for The Marquis at Alkham
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed for a one night break over a weekend. From first at reception onwards the staff were excellent and friendly. Room well equipped and comfortable. Restaurant was not cheap, but the food was worth the price. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Only (slight) gripe was the WiFi, which never worked in our room, and was only reliable standing at reception. Given I had no mobile signal either, this meant I was cut off! Which for the weekend we had was ideal, but would possibly have been a problem under other circumstances.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The visit to this hotel/restaurant was a last minute improvisation and it proved to be a winner. Beautiful location, modern, large and beautifully decorated room, warm welcome and very quite location. The restaurant is very good as well, so if you want a quiet weekend in the beautiful Kent countryside and have a gourmet experience as well this place is as good as it gets

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Easy to find and convenient for Dover and Walmer castles. Friendly reception and immediate room upgrade to a suite. Much appreciated. Dinner in the restaurant was fabulous. A wonderful range of different tastes. Great breakfast and easy checkout. All very relaxed and friendly. We definitely would stay again.

Room Tip: Good website, with pictures of each room type.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steveadore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We had already decided to book a special birthday meal at the restaurant but when a package came up on Secret Escapes for an overnight stop we jumped at the opportunity. Although the stay and dine package was outlined in the inclusive voucher we were delighted that the hotel was flexible how we utilized the deal. Our stay was the perfect formula,nobody had to worry about drinking and driving. The meal was a great experience and for the wines we were guided by the sommelier who did not fleece us on price rather he helped us to discover mixed grape varieties we had never experienced before. Our room was very comfortable, with a first class tea and coffee tray .Breakfast was first class. We left feeling on top of the world for our first class experience. We so look forward to our next visit.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank KentWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We had dinner, bed and breakfast and each was perfect. The service is quick and friendly. The Icelandic man who I assume is the head waiter is extremely knowledgable about what he sells from the wine list to the tea list. Rooms are beautiful and clean although the odd stain on the carpet. A little pricey but you get what you pay for and there are plenty of deals which are great value for money. The food is great too, something you'd expect in London rather than 10miles from Dover.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Samuel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Just had a fantastic birthday meal – reviewed separately and overnight stay at this lovely hotel. We had booked a standard room and where given a free upgrade to Collard Room we were really impressed! The large room was very well appointed with very stylish black luxury wallpaper and fittings even a black chandelier. We did overlook the road but the secondary glazing was sufficient to dampen any traffic noise. The bed was so comfortable with quality bed linen and everything about it felt upmarket and pure indulgent. The beautiful bathroom with large deep claw bath and separate walk-in shower was a real treat and the bath smellies and soft luxury bath robes and towels were a nice touch so much better than a recent stay in a similar place in Shropshire. The ‘posh’ coffee machine and tea making facilities along with complimentary biscuits made this stay a real treat. The breakfast was a feast all local sourced produce with beautifully cooked bacon, sausages and a selection of teas and homemade breads. We will certainly return

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gardenofengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
3.0 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
905 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
6.6 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
315 reviews
4.9 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marquis at Alkham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marquis at Alkham

Address: Alkham Valley Road | Alkham, Dover CT15 7DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range: £93 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marquis at Alkham 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come on in. Take a look around. You might just be surprised. For while the Alkham Valley, indeed Alkham village itself, suggests genteel old England at its most rural and unspoiled, the Marquis itself is something else... It's a strikingly contemporary restaurant and hotel. The product of a major renovation in 2008, what was once the village's pub, The Marquis of Granby, has been utterly transformed. Space, light, fine furnishings and beautiful fabrics and the opportunity to fine tune every detail hasn't been missed. The restaurant is a revelation. Head Chef Andrew King's seasonally inspired and locally sourced menus are as fresh as they are imaginative, and the elegant 21st century styling is exceptional. Queen sized pocket sprung beds are swathed in the finest cotton. Sumptuous fabrics dress windows and chairs. And an eclectic collection of art completes the mood, the mix and the personality that makes this place unique. Boutique chic in the heart of the English countryside? You've found it. You've arrived. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Marquis at Alkham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marquis At Alkham Hotel Dover
The Marquis At Alkham Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing