We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good - but not so good as they aspire to be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Marquis at Alkham
Ranked #5 of 38 Dover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good - but not so good as they aspire to be”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Went for a 2-night break with LivingSocial, which included a 4-course Kentish menu meal on one night. The village where the hotel is situated is in a lovely location. It was good value compared to the full price and the meal was excellent, but a few things about the stay were not right. Firstly, we paid a little bit extra to upgrade the room (we stayed in the Everden suite). It was a good size (including the bath and bathroom), stylishly decorated and comfortable. But wifi didn't work (we had to go into the corridor to get a connection), and although staff helpfully got us access to another wifi network, that didn't work in our room either. Room was airless (there was no window to open other than the door to the terrace outside), we couldn't seem to turn the v hot towel rail off in the bathroom, lighting was poor and the staff were unable to replace a failed lightbulb. While there were bath salts there was no bubble bath, and the terrace outside was small, felt overlooked, and there was really no view from either there or the room. Specialty coffee, which they rather emphasised, didn't get replaced after 1st night, and DVD machine and large TV, though nice to have, were complex to operate and had no instructions. Finally, the bill was very wrong (although when I pointed this out the receptionist was helpful in putting it right). In summary: they need to get the details right.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    126
    40
    24
    16
See reviews for
42
362
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed with my wife and 2 friends recently for one night on a D,B&B deal. Staff very friendly and attentive (but not over the top) The 4 course Kentish dinner was very good and the wine very reasonable (in quality and price) Our room was very good - it was obvious that a lot of thought had gone into the design. Unfortunately the cooked breakfast was not as good. Cold plates, cold scrambled egg, nice smoked salmon but no garnish ( lemon or chives etc ) All in all a pleasant stay but we felt that more effort could be made at breakfast time. Having said this we will be happy to return. Great location.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My husband and I visited this hotel with friends for a relaxing getaway, using a deal found on Livingsocial. The setting is idyllic, and the rooms were very pleasant, with good facilities, although a more thorough clean should be considered! The bed was comfortable.
On arrival the welcome was pleasant; however when we opened the wine list the prices were eye watering with the exception of a Tempranillo at £18, and they only had 2 bottles!!
The food was very good, both the evening meal and the breakfast. So if you are looking for good food and are teetotal you will definitely enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Some , not all, rooms have air conditioning,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We booked a living social deal for two nights b&b plus dinner one night. Every member of staff we came into contact with were helpful, courteous and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is set in they valley of Alkham a beautiful part of Kent we had never visited before but will again. The hotel is charming, we had a large room with a beautiful view and everything was as it should be. A tip, ask for a room at the back of the hotel , ours was at the front and was noisy due to the close proximity of the road. The breakfast was ,well what to say, fantastic as was our evening meal. Great chef clearly loves his work, the food looked fantastic on the plate and was fantastic on the palate. I must mention Abbey at reception efficient, helpful and made us feel at home on arrival . A beautiful hotel set in beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaygoer270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We booked an overnight stay via an amazing Living Social deal for dinner, bed and breakfast (although we sadly had to miss the latter - early channel crossing!) with the assistance of the charming Abbi on Reception, who couldn't have been more helpful and efficient. The booking was confirmed with a personal email within a few minutes of making our reservation by telephone.

The Marquis is easy to find, the car park and entrance are well-signed, and from the moment we arrived and were welcomed by Henry, we couldn't have felt more at home. Henry even went to the trouble of arranging for some ham, bread and cheese to be available in our room so we didn't leave on an empty stomach. Exceptional service indeed.

Everywhere at The Marquis is spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished : our accessible room Nailbourne was spacious & warm (with instructions for turning off the underfloor heating and towel warmer in the bathroom if need be). Robes were provided, along with bottled water and a comprehensive beverage tray. The beds & pillows were comfortable, the bed linen & towels were of very high quality, and there was even a change of duvet available for warmer nights. A very nice touch was a personally-addressed letter of welcome placed in our room, along with a newsletter : Wi-fi is provided free throughout the hotel.

Back in the bar, Henry's commendable knowledge of wines was evident as my husband sampled a glass of Pomerol while perusing the extensive wine list. We had a pre-dinner drink and then ordered the four-couse set Kentish menu included in the deal. A surprise amuse-bouche headed up what was to be a most enjoyable & delicious meal carefully prepared by Head Chef Charlie Lakin : his reputation is clearly well-deserved, along with the 3 Rosettes the restaurant has been awarded.

The service throughout the meal was attentive without being intusive, but there are a couple of small niggles : one, we were only offered one tiny piece of bread apiece - no doubt more would have been provided has we asked, but given the length of time between courses it would have been nice to have had something to nibble on and two, we were disappointed to see that the cheese was served using fingers rather than cutlery.

We are well-used to long, lazy meals having been francophiles for years, but two-and-a-half hours for the set four course menu when the restaurant is not busy is a little excessive (although our view is of course both personal and subjective) notwithstanding Chef's evident desire to achieve perfection on every plate. Consequently The Marquis has earned a four star rating rather than a five star on this occasion : however we would return again without hesitation for the quality of the food and accommodation and above all, the superb staff. Bravo!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheNorfolkBroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We married last week in Kingsnorth Church and after the service travelled down to The Marquis for our reception. We had the sole use of the venue including overnight accommodation. We could not fault anything. Laura the wedding planner was amazing and everything ran smoothly. All the staff were brilliant and really helpful. The food was outstanding, they should have a Michelin star!
The venue is classy and the rooms beautifully decorated. All our guests commented on how wonderful The Marquis was.
They also do very nice cream teas so we will be regularly visiting!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purley
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

What a lovely Kent village set in beautiful countryside and then you find this little gem of a hotel a small boutique hotel the rooms are well designed with great decor and great use of space each room is different but they are all lovely we had afternoon tea which was very good the staff are all very helpful and polite
Set within easy reach of both Dover and Folkstone harbours will be a place that I re- visit

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank nigelbrignall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
3.0 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
886 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
1,006 reviews
6.6 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
310 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marquis at Alkham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marquis at Alkham

Property: The Marquis at Alkham
Address: Alkham Valley Road | Alkham, Dover CT15 7DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marquis at Alkham 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come on in. Take a look around. You might just be surprised. For while the Alkham Valley, indeed Alkham village itself, suggests genteel old England at its most rural and unspoiled, the Marquis itself is something else... It's a strikingly contemporary restaurant and hotel. The product of a major renovation in 2008, what was once the village's pub, The Marquis of Granby, has been utterly transformed. Space, light, fine furnishings and beautiful fabrics and the opportunity to fine tune every detail hasn't been missed. The restaurant is a revelation. Head Chef Andrew King's seasonally inspired and locally sourced menus are as fresh as they are imaginative, and the elegant 21st century styling is exceptional. Queen sized pocket sprung beds are swathed in the finest cotton. Sumptuous fabrics dress windows and chairs. And an eclectic collection of art completes the mood, the mix and the personality that makes this place unique. Boutique chic in the heart of the English countryside? You've found it. You've arrived. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Marquis at Alkham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marquis At Alkham Hotel Dover
The Marquis At Alkham Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing