We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food. Tasteful room. Superb management response to difficult situation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Marquis at Alkham
Ranked #5 of 38 Dover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food. Tasteful room. Superb management response to difficult situation.”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We booked a night at the The Marquis at Alkham as a stopover on our way home from France. Our room was extremely comfortable, tastefully furnished, decorated and well equipped. Some nice toiletries were provided as well as a plentiful supply of tea, coffee and milk.
Our meal was as expected from the better reviews. From the delicious amuse bouches served with our pre-dinner drinks to a light fluffy soufflé at the end, all was tasty and well presented with relaxed but attentive service. We went for the matched wine option which we found well-judged and a great accompaniment to a lovely meal.
Unfortunately, after midnight a situation arose that I am certain would be unusual for this level of establishment. Without going into gory detail, we were awoken after midnight by a great deal of shouting, swearing in and outside the next door room and loud banging of doors and upon them. After some time we were about to call reception when one of the offending guests who was boorishly drunk deliberately smashed a fire alarm. Needless to say, this resulted in major disruption and the on call general manager was called. Once the immediate situation was under control we were offered an alternative room at the other end of the hotel. Profuse apologies from the staff the next morning were accompanied by the award of a generous discount on our total bill without any prompting from us. When we arrived home, there was a telephone message saying that the staff had also noticed an error in our bill and that they had corrected it. Another minor issue was also sorted out without fuss. In an era in which the common practice seems to be to deny everything and offer little or no reparation, this was all truly welcome. Although the situation was not of the hotel's making, the manager and staff went out of their way to make a difficult situation more bearable in a way that was more than acceptable. When things go awry, you could not ask for more than this.
As stated, I am convinced that this incident was a one off. Consequently, we will have no hesitation in using the hotel again for similar trips.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankOFile2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    126
    41
    24
    16
See reviews for
43
362
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Beautifully désigned and furnished, this is a really great building in a lovely location. Our room, with its wonderful large bath in the open room, gorgeous cosmetics and Nespresso machine, was lovely. But it has virtually no ventilation, hence the installation of a large air conditioning unit which would solve the problem... but it doesn't work and therefore a broken Homebase fan sits in its place in front of the TV. Thus, a rather warm and noisy night followed. The only shame of this otherwise splendid room. Breakfast absolutely stunning, except for weak and watery coffee.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamescw2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My wife gave me-who has everything- a splendid birthday present ,namely, a night including dinner and breakfast at The Marquis. Our excellent allocated room was rather pretentiously described as "Great Everden suite" - not as a good sized room with a pleasant settee. A splendid wide flat screen television and a modern coffee maker (Better operating instructions would have helped ) and a west facing sheltered balcony with table and chairs. A modern free standing bath and a separate drencher shower completed the first floor accommodation.
The dinner was an exceptionally outstanding 4 course menu plus a couple of chef's specials.
My wife pointed out when the fish course was served that she was allergic to scallops- whereupon without a moments hesitation both our plates were removed and subsequently replaced to our individual tastes. Similarly as borderline diabetics we declined the dessert but enquired whether we could have cheese instead.
This was swiftly agreed. The cheese board consisting of a wide choice of British cheeses was outstanding a accurately described by an obvious cheese devotee.
When my wife asked for the "coffee menu" the young waiter looked bemused before naming the usual options. My wife chose a liqueur coffee whilst I ordered a latte. What we were not told was that very sweet petit fours came with the coffee or the price we would be charged- ( we still only know that our extras- a carafe of wine and coffee came to £36.25 of a total bill of £265.25
Breakfasts were individually prepared to our taste -porridge with cream served followed by smoked salmon and scrabbled egg served by a most cheerful long serving employee. We look forward to another visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank objective_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Imaginative menu underpinned by a classic Roast Beef and Yorkshire Pudding. Good to see both a good fish dish and a very nice vegetarian main (there was also a veggie starter). All was well cooked, service was efficient and pleasant and the location in the Alkham valley made the journey on a lovely sunny Sunday part of the experience.

Reservation is a necessity.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarwoodEvents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Went for a 2-night break with LivingSocial, which included a 4-course Kentish menu meal on one night. The village where the hotel is situated is in a lovely location. It was good value compared to the full price and the meal was excellent, but a few things about the stay were not right. Firstly, we paid a little bit extra to upgrade the room (we stayed in the Everden suite). It was a good size (including the bath and bathroom), stylishly decorated and comfortable. But wifi didn't work (we had to go into the corridor to get a connection), and although staff helpfully got us access to another wifi network, that didn't work in our room either. Room was airless (there was no window to open other than the door to the terrace outside), we couldn't seem to turn the v hot towel rail off in the bathroom, lighting was poor and the staff were unable to replace a failed lightbulb. While there were bath salts there was no bubble bath, and the terrace outside was small, felt overlooked, and there was really no view from either there or the room. Specialty coffee, which they rather emphasised, didn't get replaced after 1st night, and DVD machine and large TV, though nice to have, were complex to operate and had no instructions. Finally, the bill was very wrong (although when I pointed this out the receptionist was helpful in putting it right). In summary: they need to get the details right.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed with my wife and 2 friends recently for one night on a D,B&B deal. Staff very friendly and attentive (but not over the top) The 4 course Kentish dinner was very good and the wine very reasonable (in quality and price) Our room was very good - it was obvious that a lot of thought had gone into the design. Unfortunately the cooked breakfast was not as good. Cold plates, cold scrambled egg, nice smoked salmon but no garnish ( lemon or chives etc ) All in all a pleasant stay but we felt that more effort could be made at breakfast time. Having said this we will be happy to return. Great location.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My husband and I visited this hotel with friends for a relaxing getaway, using a deal found on Livingsocial. The setting is idyllic, and the rooms were very pleasant, with good facilities, although a more thorough clean should be considered! The bed was comfortable.
On arrival the welcome was pleasant; however when we opened the wine list the prices were eye watering with the exception of a Tempranillo at £18, and they only had 2 bottles!!
The food was very good, both the evening meal and the breakfast. So if you are looking for good food and are teetotal you will definitely enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Some , not all, rooms have air conditioning,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
3.0 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
888 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
1,013 reviews
6.6 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
310 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marquis at Alkham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marquis at Alkham

Property: The Marquis at Alkham
Address: Alkham Valley Road | Alkham, Dover CT15 7DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marquis at Alkham 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come on in. Take a look around. You might just be surprised. For while the Alkham Valley, indeed Alkham village itself, suggests genteel old England at its most rural and unspoiled, the Marquis itself is something else... It's a strikingly contemporary restaurant and hotel. The product of a major renovation in 2008, what was once the village's pub, The Marquis of Granby, has been utterly transformed. Space, light, fine furnishings and beautiful fabrics and the opportunity to fine tune every detail hasn't been missed. The restaurant is a revelation. Head Chef Andrew King's seasonally inspired and locally sourced menus are as fresh as they are imaginative, and the elegant 21st century styling is exceptional. Queen sized pocket sprung beds are swathed in the finest cotton. Sumptuous fabrics dress windows and chairs. And an eclectic collection of art completes the mood, the mix and the personality that makes this place unique. Boutique chic in the heart of the English countryside? You've found it. You've arrived. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Marquis at Alkham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marquis At Alkham Hotel Dover
The Marquis At Alkham Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing