We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food & a fantastic hotel what more can I say.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Marquis at Alkham
Ranked #5 of 38 Dover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2010

We stayed for one night but wished it had been longer, we were upgraded free of charge to the Collard room and it was such lovely room. The hotel has been decorated to a very high standard and the staff cannot do enough for you. As for the food it certainly deserves a michelin star presentation was excellent and everything we had was delicious. We will certainly visit again and recommend The Marquis to anyone who wants a nice relaxing break with pleasant surroundings.
Joy & Alan Wilson

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joycalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

539 - 545 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2009

I stayed at the Marquis Hotel midweek in December 2009 and was lucky enough to book it through laterooms.com so I got a real bargain. The hotel itself is small and personal and set in a very charming little village in Kent. We stayed in a suite which consisted of a living room area and a bedroom separated by a curtain which I thought was very well thought out and quite a sensible way of making the most of the space available. I’ve stayed in hotels all over the world and would honestly say that it deserves its star rating.

The room was clean and luxurious and the attention to detail was wonderful – fantastic espresso machine and the biggest deepest bath you’ve ever seen. Unfortunately we didn’t have time to eat in the restaurant but it looked cosy and welcoming and the menu was very appetising. Breakfast was a real treat! Everything was fresh and delicious and I ate smoked fish and poached egg which was very nice. The usual breakfast pastries, cereals and toast were also available and again, nice attention to detail with fresh smoothies and local jams. I noticed that other people mentioned that their stay was spoilt by noise and we certainly didn’t experience any problems in that department. It’s a small hotel with only a few rooms and I would imagine it would be a lovely venue for a wedding and that being the case, noise might become a problem but certainly not for us – in fact I slept like a log!

I think the web price might be around the £250 mark for the suite and whilst we didn’t pay that I would definitely say that you won’t be disappointed with the Marquis. It’s comfortable, clean, luxurious and the attention to detail is commendable. I would definitely love to stay at The Marquis again in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rick1789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

The Marquis is a real surprise. The rooms are very comfortable but I agree with a previus reviewer on the key fobs and the frustrations on getting into the room...The room was spacious, clean and well equipped - 2 TVs!! The bar area is a bit soul-less but we were made very welcome. The evening meal was really excellent - a fabulous locally sourced menu with a very good wine list. We would definitely return to eat there. We would, however not return to stay. We were unable to sleep until well past half past midnight because of the loud music in the lounge area which was directly beneath our room. This somewhat took the edge off what could have been a really excellent place to go back to.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeonyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarquisBen, Manager at The Marquis at Alkham, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2009

As part of our policy to listen to customer comments, we have recently had secondary glazing installed in the rooms which front the road which has been very effective in controlling the noise in the rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

Background

The hotel is an AA rosetted restaurant with four luxuriously appointed rooms and a suite above it. It is situated in the village of Alkham a few miles from Dover.

We stayed there for its proximity to the attractions we wanted to visit in the area, for the luxurious rooms and for dining at the restaurant.

Booking

The hotel has its own website which has quite a bit of information about restaurant and the rooms etc.

There is an online booking facility on the website though we e-mailed the hotel direct and their response was very quick. Booking was easy with a credit card securing the room.

Check in

The latest check in time is 10.00pm but you would be advised to arrive before dining starts as the car park has about 15 places and they usually get full with diners.

Check in was easy. We were greeted and shown to our room on arrival.

Room

The terminology of luxurious and superior rooms we found a bit confusing. We thought luxurious might be better than superior but the reverse is the case. The luxurious rooms (Hopton /Malmains) are situated to the rear of the restaurant, probably over the kitchen area as remarked by a previous reviewer.

The superior rooms (Collard/Granby) are situated over the front of the restaurant. The De Pamier suite too has views towards the front and is over I think the lounge area of the restaurant’s bar area.

Each room has it own ‘guard’ dog which you put outside your door instead of a do not disturb sign.

We stayed in the Granby. Pictures of the room etc are attached.

The room is very large and nicely appointed. The bed is one of the best we have slept in as it was very comfortable.

The bathroom was of a good size. There is a luxurious shower and a his and hers wash basins. We couldn’t figure out whether the extractor fan was on (couldn’t hear it) but it must have been as the room didn’t get too misted up and the bathroom mirror seemed to clear itself. The bathroom comes with luxury toiletries.

The only problem we had with the room was the noise. Although looking at the map the village of Alkham appears situated on a minor road the traffic is in fact quite heavy and the traffic noise disturbed our sleep. We had to have the window open as it was hot though I don’t think there would have been that much difference with it shut as the windows are only single glazed.

Also as the room is situated above the restaurant besides the hubbub of people talking in the restaurant you also hear the music from the speakers in the restaurant which are placed just below ceiling height in the restaurant. We found that when we were dining in the restaurant you could hardly hear the background music – you could hear it a lot better in the room above!

We found the key fob quite irritating – the keys are attached to a large wooden fob bearing the name of your room. The locks to the room were quite close to the door knobs (large) and got in the way of each other when locking/unlocking. Also if you were to go out in the evening and be back late at night the key fob is somewhat large for carrying around in your pocket.

Cleanliness

We found the hotel to be very clean.

The hotel has a policy of changing bed linen every 2 days. In our experience this did not happen until after the 3rd night.


Staff/Service

We found all the staff to be friendly and courteous and were efficient in dealing with any queries.


Food

The food was of the highest standard. Our meal in the restaurant was one of the best restaurant meals we have had.

Breakfast consists of a choice of help yourself cereals/fruit juice etc followed by a cooked breakfast. The standard of the cooked breakfast we found to be very high.

In the evening food is available either via the bar or the restaurant (not Sundays). The restaurant offers either a fixed price set menu or a la carte.

Location

The restaurant is situated in its own grounds overlooking the ‘minor’ road which runs from just north of Folkstone to North of Dover. From the hotel you there are local walks of the area - as the hotel is situated in a valley most of the walks will involve some up hill walking!

As noted above the ‘minor’ road is in fact quite busy and despite the section where the hotel is situated being 30mph quite noisy.

Access out of the hotel is a bit tricky as it is situated close to two bends and has a dip in the road too. There is therefore a bit of a blind spot when exiting in either direction.

The car park has a limited number of places which can get full when the restaurant is open.

We thought the hotel could have been better sign posted/advertised on the road itself. There was no indication you were approaching it until you were right on top of it.

Business services

We understand wireless internet access but as we did not visit for business purposes cannot assess this.

Value for Money

The rooms are luxurious, the service great and the food also very good and this is reflected in the price paid for the accommodation etc.

Our only problem was the noise and therefore we would not recommend staying here for more than an overnight stay if noise is an issue.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scowlsandgrowls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

We had our wedding at 'The Marquis' on May 30th.....It was the most fantastic wedding, everything was just amazing, the setting the food and the service! Ben and Hannah have a fantastic team of staff behind them who contributed greatly to making our day so special. The food especially is out of this world, and was complemented by the fine wines which Hannah suggested at the tasting of our menu prior to the wedding. Leading up to the big day, Hannah looked after all our requirements and also had some great suggestions towards planning the day - and it all went without a hitch. The feed back we have had from all of our guests, without exception, was that it was the perfect setting for what was 'The perfect Wedding' and our photos and memories from the day support this claim. FANTASTIC!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophie040977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2009

We used this place as an overnight stay before our early morning ferry from Dover. There is nothing else around this area unless you have a car which suited us fine. The bonus to this is that it is a very quiet location (if nothing is booked for the downstairs bar). The room was immaculate, the shower was huge with excellent pressure and the bed was incredibly comfortable. Had the best sleep in ages. The whole restaurant, bars and rooms are to an impeccable standard. The service was very good. We were leaving early in the morning so would miss breakfast so we were provided with some cereals, juice and fruit which was delivered to our room that evening ready for the next day. The bar was a very enjoyable place to relax, have a drink and unwind.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi_gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlisays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
6.6 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
336 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
944 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
4.1 mi away
Hubert House Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marquis at Alkham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marquis at Alkham

Address: Alkham Valley Road | Alkham, Dover CT15 7DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range: £96 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marquis at Alkham 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come on in. Take a look around. You might just be surprised. For while the Alkham Valley, indeed Alkham village itself, suggests genteel old England at its most rural and unspoiled, the Marquis itself is something else... It's a strikingly contemporary restaurant and hotel. The product of a major renovation in 2008, what was once the village's pub, The Marquis of Granby, has been utterly transformed. Space, light, fine furnishings and beautiful fabrics and the opportunity to fine tune every detail hasn't been missed. The restaurant is a revelation. Head Chef Andrew King's seasonally inspired and locally sourced menus are as fresh as they are imaginative, and the elegant 21st century styling is exceptional. Queen sized pocket sprung beds are swathed in the finest cotton. Sumptuous fabrics dress windows and chairs. And an eclectic collection of art completes the mood, the mix and the personality that makes this place unique. Boutique chic in the heart of the English countryside? You've found it. You've arrived. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Marquis at Alkham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marquis At Alkham Hotel Dover
The Marquis At Alkham Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing