We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything here has character”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dover
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Churchill Guest House
Ranked #2 of 38 Dover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
milton keynes
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Everything here has character”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

and that definitely includes the hosts! I had a cosy single room, with lovely large en-suite, overlooking a wilderness of tropical-style planting. The whole house has an intimate and welcoming atmosphere, and I positively looked forward to getting back for a second night after a brief holiday in Europe. Lovely breakfast with splendid conversation. Easy walking to the port. If I return to Dover I shall be very disappointed if 'my' room isn't waiting for me.

Room Tip: Mine was Chartwell at the back and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gardenlover10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    22
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
100
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Stayed one night at this marvellous BNB. Alastair and Betty are charming hosts and will help with lots of information. Car parking is not a problem either. We stayed in the Clementine room. I had previously asked for the Winston but when it saw Clemy I had to stay there instead. Beautiful room and a big bathroom with lots of hot water and the whitest towels I have ever seen in any hotel/BNB. Breakfast was a feast. A beautiful house awaits you when you stay here. If you are going on the ferry to Calais the walk is about ten minutes all downhill. Cash only accepted. Extremely reasonable rates for what you get. Would highly recommend this BNB.

Room Tip: Clementine faces the street but there was no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank astra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowen Island, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Loved our stay with Alastair & Betty. We had booked one room but saw another very near the car parking area and immediately changed rooms (for a whole 5 quid more). VERY large room, bathroom almost the size of some of the B&B rooms we've been in on this vacation. Free wifi was great.. but didn't penetrate the walls of this 300 year old mansion (Alastair said he'd look into a wifi booster/signal repeater).... had to sit in the non-tv salon... not a big deal.
Breakfast was served in the adjacent house (their actual residence). Alastair was one of a very few hosts who really got involved in the table's conversation. A great place! Should be rated #1.

Room Tip: We loved the "Clementine" Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Murray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

You will feel most welcome once you arrive at this hidden treasure in Dover. The rooms are quite unique and special. You are close to everything and access to the major things to see and do is quite easy. Breakfast was an entertaining time and the stories flowed and were enjoyed over a great feed. The host should write a book about his life and times running a B&B! We were a bit concerned about what to do when we arrived at Dover, but our concerns were soon dispelled when we chose this B&B. We were fortunate to have a room with access to the carpark which meant no stairs to climb with all our luggage, bursting at the seams from weeks of travel. A definite bonus for us! Highly recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed Sept 5 and was pleased. From my check in to check out I could not have been happier. Entire building was very nicely decorated. Room was very comfortable and better than I could have imagined. Breakfast in the morning was perfect. You have to visit the castle via the trail at the end of the street. Dover is a great town to visit. This was my first stop during a 15 day trip to the UK and was one of the best.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wurzburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed at Churchill House for one night . It was one of the best acoomodations we had during our holidays in England and Wales. The room was very big and looked like a sleeping room in a castle (look at the photo!). The bathroom was excellent and very clean. In the morning we got a delicious breakfast with fresh fruit , fried eggs, fresh sausages an mushrooms. The hosts were friendly and we had interesting conversations. For the next time we stay in Dover we´ll book this accomodation again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eva R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Great place to stay! Rooms are beautiful and very cosy, we had one double and 1 single room, and both were fab. My fiancee and I had a beautiful 4 poster bed which was a real treat. Owners are very welcoming and make a great english brekkie. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: See the photos - they are accurate
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salvosisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.3 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
891 reviews
3.0 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
311 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hubert House Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Churchill Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchill Guest House

Property: Churchill Guest House
Address: 6 Castle Hill Road, Dover CT16 1QN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Churchill Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Churchill Guest House nestles at the foot of Dover Castle and is ideally situated for the Town Centre, Eastern Docks, Cruise Ships Terminal, Channel Tunnel and the famous White Cliffs of Dover. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Churchill Guest House Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing