We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A guest house with personality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dover
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Churchill Guest House
Ranked #2 of 38 Dover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A guest house with personality”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We loved Churchill House. Ideally located between the castle and town. We had Spencer and Astor rooms, which worked perfectly for the four of us: two boys upstairs and we had the double. Lots of nice touches: biscuits & tea, shampoo etc provided, a communal fridge with real milk, cuddly toys and other curiosities. Food intolerances well catered for in a great English breakfast. It was great to spend time with Alastair who drove us to Samphire Hoe nature reserve as we came by train - service beyond the call of duty, and probably not on tap for all visitors, but came from a shared interest in natural history. We'd certainly stay here again if we re-visit Dover.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    20
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
94
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Wonderful hosts with a beautiful home to share! Within walking distance to the castle and close to the ferries! Fantastic breakfast and wonderful conversation. The Rome was spacious and comfortable! Thank you very much for the information and catle hints!

Room Tip: Book early! Cash only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Knnthwlsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We fell in love with this place at first sight! Everything about it has a character and is so besutiful! The Clementine room is simply gorgeous and the bed is so good, I had the best sleep in it in a long time. The breakfast is delicious and the hosts are most welcoming and helpful people. Would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kseniya31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay in this beautiful building for two nights. The rooms are huge and all very different. All the facilities you could need, including fresh milk and filtered water in the shared fridge. Off-street parking was useful, although on street is also available and free round the corner. Really close to the castle and great places to eat really close by. Only gripe would be the single-glazed windows -street noise can be loud!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank moomin81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We were spending three nights in Dover. We stayed in the Victoria double, with our own en-suite conservatory! The room was lovely and it was very relaxing to sit in the conservatory.

Our hosts Betty and Alistair were friendly and very welcoming. They live in the Cleveland b&b just around the corner. Note that the b&b sign has been taken round and this is the house immediately next to the Victoria guest house.

We had breakfast in the Cleveland b&b. We sat at a round table with other guests which encouraged discussion. Despite our English reticence, we enjoyed this!

The location is very convenient for the castle and white cliffs (but this does involve a steep climb!) and the centre of Dover.

Places to eat and drink all within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gelsenkirchen, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We now found the place worth to stay in Dover.
Churchill House is a very well kept place, a nice house with every comfort to be expected.
Alex, Alastair & Betty gave us a very warm wellcome! Thank you for that!
If ever possible, we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We visited Dover and areas around it. The location is super, just 10 min walk to Dover Castle, 10 walk to the beach and 15 mn to clifs. Room and all house was very clean and tidy,and the age of the house gave a sense of history. Breakfast was nice; we had vegetarian breakfast which was superb. When we visit Dover next time, we will def stay in Churchill Guest House.

Room Tip: None of the rooms were the same; each one is very unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sim0nali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
862 reviews
3.0 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
299 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hubert House Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Churchill Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchill Guest House

Property: Churchill Guest House
Address: 6 Castle Hill Road, Dover CT16 1QN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Churchill Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Churchill Guest House nestles at the foot of Dover Castle and is ideally situated for the Town Centre, Eastern Docks, Cruise Ships Terminal, Channel Tunnel and the famous White Cliffs of Dover. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Churchill Guest House Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing