We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely landlady” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Martin's Guest House

St. Martin's Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dover
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St. Martin's Guest House
Ranked #29 of 41 Dover B&B and Inns
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely landlady”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We had to make an emergency trip to Dover on the way to France after missing a Eurostar and were lucky enough to get the last room in town at St. Martin's B&B. The landlady couldn't have been more helpful and sympathetic, telling us how to get to the ferry quickly and putting up with us trying to book the room by phone despite it constantly cutting out as we were on a train. The crowning glory of our stay in Dover was the 3am ferry we had booked not letting us travel as foot passengers even though it had let us book it. We trudged back to the B&B with a wait of 5 hours before we could get on a ferry and had to wake the landlady up, but she was terrifically kind about it and came downstairs to let us back in. Since she basically saved us from 5 hours crying in a cold ferry terminal full of football fans, we feel like she is a total star.

I should also say that the room was very comfortable and well stocked with tea, towels, all the usual nice things. St. Martin's has plenty of kitsch seasidey British charm and we enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katealeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    10
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
12
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

I took my young boy on a trip to Dover and surrounding areas to visit most of the castles and historic buildings. On arrival the landlady was very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and tidy. The room was a bit on the small side but considering there was a toilet in one corner and a shower in the other, I thought it was a good size double room. Breakfast was lovely. Plenty to eat and drink. Overall, a very nice stay at a very nice price. Will definitely use again.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rik C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

I stayed in this B&B for one night and was very satisfied with every aspect of the stay. The landlords made us feel at home, the room was well equipped and comfortable and the breakfast in the morning was simply perfect. It is located exactly next to Dover castle which we visited. If I ever return to Dover I will definitely return to St. Martin's Guest House.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

A lovely couple. Accommodating with early breakfast as I had to go to work, extremely clean and every evening when I came in, the room was spotless and had clean bedding and towels. Highly recommended and value for money. Will be visiting again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the house are very quiet and a good night sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

This bed and breakfast was adorable and the staff was lovely. Very kind couple who had no problem advising us on our travels. Definitely recommended!
It was just a short walk to dover castle and to the downtown area very easy to make your way around an explore
Thanks for the great stay!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ju13les
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

My Girlfriend and I stayed here recently for 3 nights, as we were part of the Roman Festival at Dover Castle, and this B&B was less than a mile away.

We arrived quite late (around 8:30pm), but having telephoned ahead to tell the couple running the place that this would happen, they kindly waited for us to arrive. Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed, and booked in. Upon entering our room, It had everything you needed - shower, bed, TV, tea and coffee, etc - Perfect for us as we were only going to be there to sleep.

Breakfast in the mornings was top notch each time. The table already had orange juice and tea and coffee waiting for us when we arrived, and the full english is one of the best I have ever eaten. One morning I needed some string for my Roman Gladiator Costume, and the kind lady owner gave me some string for it. This really is going beyond expectations!

On checkout we gave them a bottle of wine, as we felt this was deserved. I used to work for the hilton group, and have stayed in many hotels over the years. This place rivals these hotels for service, and I would recommend anybody visiting Dover to consider staying here. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomGreet88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Spent two nights at the guest house in June - it was a lovely experience! The breakfast each morning was the highlight! Nothing is too much trouble and the food great. The room was lovely, cosy and homely. We will definately be returning if we are ever in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiree G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hubert House Guesthouse
0.0 mi away
Castle Guest House
Castle Guest House
#9 of 41 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Number 7 Priory Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Martin's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Martin's Guest House

Property: St. Martin's Guest House
Address: 17 Castle Hill Road, Dover CT16 1QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Martin's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
St. Martin's Guest House Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing