We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing WHOLE day out!”
Review of Dover Castle

Dover Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
US$329.84*
and up
White Cliffs of Dover Private Half-Day Tour from Dover
Ranked #1 of 52 things to do in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The most iconic of all English fortresses commanding the gateway to the realm for nine centuries. Climb the Great Tower, meet the characters and immerse yourself in vivid medieval interiors. Then delve deep within Dover's White Cliffs to witness the drama in the Secret Wartime Tunnels. Roam through centuries of history at Dover Castle, from the Romans to the 20th century, in an action-packed day out.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Baby buggy parking, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing WHOLE day out!”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

So many things to see and do. War tunnels are extremely interesting, kids had an amazing day and unlike so many other attractions, we arrived at 10 and left at 5 (having not quite done everything).

The food in the café was pricey, but very nice indeed. Children's lunch bags were £4.95 but included sandwich, crisps, fruit, drink and a treat. There are plenty of picnic spaces, which I think we may use next time, to save a bit.

All in all, I highly recommend Dover Castle.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,048
    924
    161
    52
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful from outside, interesting events inside”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Pretty beautiful and royal from outside, a bit plain from inside but the events make up for it...
Tickets are expensive if you are not a member of national heritage.

Helpful?
1 Thank Raghunand_I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Interesting tunnels to visit”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Brilliant and informative. Loved learning and seeing what went on in the hills under Dover castle. The tour guides were knowledgable and were able to answer our questions

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant day out!”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

A castle you must see.
Loved the tunnels, our guide Sam was very funny! The tower is amazing and the view is beautiful. Parking was an issue as we ended up parking in the overflow down the road, down a hill, which for my mum was not an easy walk as no pavement. I think there was a shuttle but wasn't told by staff at car park. You need comfortable shoes and be able to climb stairs, loads of stairs! However, still would recommend

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“pricey but worth it for a great day out”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I visited with my husband and 17 year old daughter on the Sunday of bank holiday weekend. £17.50 for each of us is expensive but we arrived at 10 and left at 5.30 so had a full day of entertainment: this isn't a place you can just "quickly pop in" if you want to see everything it has to offer. I would recommend comfy shoes and clothing as it is a huge hilly site with lots to explore. As three able bodied people we enjoyed the exercise! The war time tunnels were our favourite part and we thought they were excellently presented. The main part of the castle was very interesting to explore and fitted out with reproduction furnishings, which was made all the more fun by the actors who were "living" there during our visit. (If you're wondering about the colour scheme which some reviewers have written negatively about, ask one of the guides stationed in the rooms). There was a siege re-enactment taking place during the weekend we visited which was great fun for all the family and included in the price. We had lunch which was tasty; if you're on a budget bring a picnic as there's plenty of picnic space with beautiful views. All in all a great day out.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dover Castle also viewed

 

Been to Dover Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing