We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmm..interesting!!”
Review of Blakes of Dover

Blakes of Dover
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blakes of Dover
Ranked #25 of 37 Dover B&B and Inns
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mmmm..interesting!!”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

What a fantastic location....close to the town and the ferries with parking outside, how ideal!! Or at least we thought...we decided to have breakfast on the final morning and were greeted less the favourably by the owner (we assumed) and he was nothing short of rude as we hadn't booked!!! Some passers by tried to stop for food too and they were dispatched by him...very rudely!!
Shame.....great location, clean and simple accommodation let down by an obnoxious proprietor!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    12
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
5
19
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We picked Blakes for the price and location. Sadly, we did not get a decent sleep when we stayed there. The boiler in our room was so noisy that every time someone uses the loo, there was a piercing noise filling our room. The bed was so bad that my husband and I were forced to roll right in the middle of the bed (romantic...right). So, you can imagine how annoying it was at 5am with the boiler going off, waking up a couple of hours later with a sore back and not enough sleep. Complementary tea/coffee was a nice touch, only that the heating coil in the water jug was all rusty. There was scaffolding covering our view of...nothing really. So, we shouldn't have minded scaffolding as our scenery. I don't understand what kind of B&B wouldn't ensure that their guests have a decent night's rest by testing that the facilities were up to scratch (noisy boiler, crap bed, rusty water jug). The staff are quite friendly, yes, but you can hardly stand upright in the basement pub.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StumpyLegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Our stay here didn't get off to the best of starts: 'you're early', we were advised by the owner on arrival, 'I'm not ready for you yet.' And this after a five hour drive down from the Midlands on the day after 'the big snowfall'. We'd been asked to suggest an arrival time and had taken a stab at 6 pm, not thinking it too important. But arriving at 5 pm had put the owner out, it seemed.

Things improved after that. The room was clean and tidy, with an extremely comfortable bed. Orange juice, bottled water and biscuits were provided, which was a nice touch. And it was warm, which with freezing weather outside was most welcome. A downside for some might be the lack of a wardrobe and chest of drawers, with just a hanging rail for clothes storage. For those 'just passing through' like us it made no difference.

We couldn't sample the breakfast, as we were on an early ferry the next day. Nor can I report on the bar - this was shut on Sunday evenings. We'd been so advised when the owner rang to check our booking [and arrival time!] a few days earlier, which had annoyed me considerably. The fact that the bar was CAMRA-recommended etc had been a major factor in deciding to book at Blakes. But it was my own fault - the website does indeed point out the limited opening on Sundays, which was when we arrived. Caveat booker...

Recommended for anyone looking for a cheap overnight stay, but the owner might want to reread his customer care handbook.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericonabike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

My wife and I stayed one night in Blakes after returning fromm France. We were very happy with our short stay, our hosts were very welcoming and advised us of the best fish and chippery in town (they were right) and the breakfast we had in the morning was hands down the best breakfast we've had at any hotel, anywhere in the world. I note in other reviews that people have complained of noise, but we did not notice this. Our sole complaint would be that because we stayed on a Sunday night, the attached alehouse was closed. But then that just gives us an excuse to go back and stay again!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendanandmerrisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The owners were very nice. Free internet. TV. You do (or I did) have to climb stairs but the owner carried my bag. Easy walk to the center of town. You could hike to Doveer Castle from there but you need to be in great shape. It was quiet when I was there--a bit worried as they have a popular bar. You can walk from the bus station even pulling two bags. For the money it was nice. Breakfast is noit included but you can pay and they have a dining area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grande7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Blake's is an older hotel but is well-maintained and clean. We had a room on the second floor which boasted high ceilings. free wireless internet and large windows. They offer a full English breakfast if you order in advance and it will leave you...well, full!
Ww thoroughly enjoyed the Pub downstairs and joining in the banter with the locals. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go and it is close to the cruise port, although you will still need a taxi.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvie003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

I think the hotel was good. The room was spacious and comfortable. There were 4 of us staying in a family room, 4 adults. The room was enough big for four adults. The ceiling is high so it feels big.
The only problem is the location. Our room faced a very busy street, if you sleep the window open then you can hear all the seagulls flying nearby and all the cars passing by. What is worse is the drunk people's fight in the middle of the night. They shout, fight, laugh and etc. Basically they do their best to ruin your sleep. The noise problem is the only serious problem at this place. If you keep your window shut and bring some ear plugs with you, there is no other problem.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akrep81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hubert House Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Norman Guest House
The Norman Guest House
#10 of 37 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.8 mi away
The West Bank
The West Bank
#21 of 37 in Dover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Number 7 Priory Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blakes of Dover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blakes of Dover

Property: Blakes of Dover
Address: 52 Castle Street, Dover CT16 1PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Blakes of Dover 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Blakes of Dover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blakes Of Dover Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing