We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value B&B with helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The West Bank

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The West Bank
Ranked #22 of 41 Dover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Somewhere near London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value B&B with helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

We used 'The West Bank' as a stopover before catching an early morning ferry to France. It's a well-maintained, clean and comfortable B&B that was excellent value for money. It also has a secure car-park, which given it's in Dover is a big selling point. The staff were very helpful and directed us to an excellent restaurant on the sea front that proved a great start to the holiday. It's close to the ferry terminal as well, so getting from the B&B to the port is relatively quick and simple.

The B&B is situated on a street of 'mixed' buildings and clientele and we saw a couple of suspicious individuals trying car doors to see if they were locked. This is 'par for the course' in Dover, and does not reflect negatively on the B&B in any way, but if you're looking to stay in Dover I would highly recommend finding somewhere with secure parking.

If I had to stay in Dover again I would use ‘The West Bank’.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    22
    10
    8
    1
See reviews for
17
27
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

We booked to stay here for the night before catching the ferry to calais and also for a nights stopover on our return. We found it on the internet and were relieved to find that it is the loveliest place. The rooms are spotlessly clean, spacious and well furnished. The beds were very comfortable. Our two children had lovely comfortable beds and we enjoyed watching the Olympics on a good sized TV together with a nice cup of tea and biscuits. We made use of the secure car park and nothing was too much trouble for the owners. They were extremely friendly and helpful, including making a restaurant reservation for us. We sat in the lounge in the afternoon and they offered to put a dvd on for my children which was really lovely. My parents also came with us and they had a double room. They were equally as pleased as us. My mum hates milk from little cartons and the lady gave my mum some fresh milk in a jug. The breakfasts were fabulous. Honestly, you couldn't find a nicer place to stay if you tried. We will be taking the ferry again next summer and we will definitely be staying here again!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jpg2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

We wanted accommodation that would allow us to make Dover our "home" base for adventures before boarding our cruiseship. (We stayed initially for 7 days.) The West Bank proved to be perfect for this purpose. It is an easy walk to downtown and the sea (15 minutes), there's a bus stop right out front and the Dover Priory Station (train) is about 7 minutes away.

Our second floor room was cosy, clean and self-contained with a large viewing window. The two twin beds were comfortable c/w warm duvets.

The breakfasts were delightful, ample & served by the warm,generous and good humored owners. We cannot say enough about these fine people and their B&B which is well maintained and clearly cared for. A deck and small flower garden creates an inviting entrance and should be in full bloom on our return.

We liked this property enough that we cancelled our after cruise reservation so that we can enjoy another stay before returning to Canada.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanuckTraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Owners are very friendly but other than that, there was nothing special about this place. Secure parking did not have enough space to accommodate our car on our second night so we had to park on the street. Breakfast is included with rate and is pretty good. There's a Premier Inn close to the water at a similar rate - if I had known this before I booked, I would have stayed there instead with my family.

Room Tip: Bring cash. Owners charge 3% extra if you pay by credit card
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rajoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

We wanted a 1 night stop-over before getting the ferry and chose this hotel because it's internet site stated "secure flood lit parking" - essential as we had the car loaded for our holiday with belongings, including birthday presents for our son. When we arrived (10:30p.m.) we were told that we could not use the secure car park because we would be "blocked in, as we were wanting to leave at 6:00a.m. the next morning" This does not make sense because we must have been the last cars into the car park and would have been the first out. I suspect the owners did not want to unlock for us! We were forced to park in the road and unload all the visible baggage/presents from the car, and had to carry it 3 floors up to our room. Not a good start to opur holiday. I feel that we were misled about the parking situation when we made this booking.

Room Tip: Traffic too noisy to have the windows open your room is at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nickye_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremerhaven
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2010

Having spent our annual vacation in Southern England we wanted to have a place to stay for the 2 nights prior to our ferry departure. So what we were looking for was a nice B&B close to the ferry port with parking. We found this at the West Bank Guest House. The room was simple, nice and clean and even though it faced the main street we were not bothered by traffic-related noise pollution. The breakfast was served in a cute dining room where the owner gave us the breakfast cooked by her husband. Even though the owners were Greek the B&B had a very British atmosphere. Everything was easy to reach from the location and after a long walk along the cliffs of Dover we decided to stroll down to the harbor at night. We were quite pleased to find that hundreds more had decided to go there to witness the arrival of the olympic fire and large fireworks that same night. The walk down to the water turned out to be quite long, especially since the B&B is uphill from the harbor but the great sights had made up for it.
Another high light was the yard that had been turned into a parking lot. Its advantage was clearly that it was surrounded by high walls and a solid wooden gate and therefore well protected from any potential criminal intent. The down side of the site on the other hand was its tightness. It took all the skill and courage I could muster to get our station wagon in and out after having the landlord maneuver the cars parked between us and the gate away for us. It reminded us of the Rubics Cube on a two-dimensional scale.
All in all we felt good and comfortable there and would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HBS3300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DERBYSHIRE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

Stayed for two nights over the weekend, comfortable room on second floor facing the road but no noise from traffic due to double glazing, the complete hotel has just been extensively refurbished .Breakfast was very adequate and well cooked and presented.
I would recommend this hotel for single nights or longer stays, My wife and I will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DERBYSHIRECREW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
1.3 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.7 mi away
Heather's Woodlands
Heather's Woodlands
#19 of 41 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.1 mi away
Longfield Guest House
Longfield Guest House
#24 of 41 in Dover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Norman Guest House
The Norman Guest House
#11 of 41 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
2.3 mi away
Guston House B&B
Guston House B&B
#7 of 41 in Dover
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
1.0 mi away
Castle Guest House
Castle Guest House
#10 of 41 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The West Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West Bank

Property: The West Bank
Address: 239-241 Folkestone Road, Dover CT17 9LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The West Bank 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Odigeo so you can book your The West Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The West Bank Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing