We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for! Amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Good Luck Chinese Restaurant - CLOSED

Good Luck Chinese Restaurant
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Description: THIS ESTABLISHMENT IS CLOSED PERMANENTLY & CEASED TRADING. We thank you all for your loyalty, friendship and for dining with us over the years. We wish you all good health and the very best. Good Luck Chinese Restaurant
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for! Amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Best food, and friendliest staff in Dover!
This place has been going for many years but they are simply the best!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    14
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Deal
Level Contributor
141 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Saved best until last”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

This is a modest unpretentious Chinese restaurant on a busy road just out of Dover town centre. With a cosy alcove the Good Luck seats around 46. Other diners seemed like locals. There is a £7 lunch menu for 3 courses including tea or coffee. Unusually some of the choice A to I combine dishes, which is great if you like sweet and sour pork, egg fried rice and chicken chow mein with bamboo shoots.. Starters are chicken and sweetcorn soup or juice. The full menu is also available. Service was leisurely but friendly and other diners were all spoken to. Closing day here is Wednesday they told me, but I am happy to return. Do not expect expensive décor or ritzy furniture, but that would be out of place in most of Dover. There are two competitor Chinese restaurants but I thought the food here the best in details like rice that did not clog together.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Such good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Came here for the £7 lunch deal and wow it was really excellent soup or juice starter choice of 9 mains and tea or coffee. I had juice followed by fried rice sweet and sour chicken with beef and mixed veg hubby had juice chicken omelette ( all breast meat) and chips really tasty definitely would come again. Yes it looks a bit run down but staff amazing as is the food

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Hamdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Kent and Fantastic Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

The head waiter and staff were all very helpful and accommodating to our large 15 person party.
We had an entire area of the restaurant to ourselves and were made comfortable and welcome instantly.

A few of our group had intolerances to Dairy and some were vegetarian, so after informing the waiter he advised us that it was no problem as his son was also allergic to Dairy. Very reassuring to know that!

The starters were bought out quickly after the drinks and the food was sublime.
Unlike other Chinese restaurants that use a lot of E numbers and artificial flavourings, we were told that rolls, pastries and ribs were marinated fresh, with great quality ingredients.
This clearly showed!

Mains was also fantastic, rice was plentiful, you will 100% be satisfied if you are hungry as the portions are good sized and generous!
The flavours were rich on all the sauces and recommendations on the main dishes such as duck pancakes or chicken were kindly welcomed!

Tea and Dessert was equally nice. Caramelised bananas are a new favourite for me!

I will certainly visit Good Luck Chinese Restaurant again soon, whether it be for a intimate couples dinner or with my friends.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank iamRayRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“My favourite Chinese!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I've been coming here for nearly 25 years now, with family and with friends. The food is really good Chinese/Cantonese cuisine. And the service is polite and charming in this little family-run restaurant. I particularly love the salt and spicy ribs. The dishes have always been tasty and well-cooked, and I've never tasted that 'chemical' overtone you often get in some Chinese restaurants which overdo the MSG. Of all the Chinese in Dover, this is still my favourite.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Good Luck Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing