We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for business of pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dover
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Perfect for business of pleasure”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I am surprised by the last reviewer as I am currently staying on the 4th floor and have a good size room with large bathroom and average size windows looking out across the port. I really cannot fault it. It is an old building so yes there are sloping floors & as it is on the top floor the ceilings are quite low especially in the bathroom but the refurb has been done well, no it is not a luxury 5 star but it is not trying to be. The room has good lighting, is warm and the bed is very comfortable. The water pressure in the shower is excellent although there are no handles or rubber mats so care is needed getting in & out of the bath. Staff are friendly and efficient. Parking is a little confusing as it says on the website "parking on site" but it is not so do phone for instructions before going. The Room Service menu has a great variety & is very reasonably priced, I had a great meal. Use the Best Western website to book, I paid £62 room only - as a Best Western regular business traveller I can honestly say that this is one of the best I have stayed in - I will be back.

Room Tip: I have only stayed in one room and it was lovely but in a hotel such as this I am sure there is a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Posh100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    440
    225
    120
    76
See reviews for
235
540
46
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fougerolles-du-Plessis, France
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Just checked other peoples reviews and astonished to see prices of £29 & £47 pounds being quoted. I have stayed at this Hotel 3 times int he last six months and paid between 79 and 82 pounds a night for three different standards of rooms. Don't have a room on the top floor, they are disgustingly small, with very small windows (more like portholes) . The room we had on the second floor 202 had a sloping floor, even the loo was at an angle. This is most disconcerting and could make a tea-totaller turn to drink. Windows also were very draughty. Our recent was in room 106, much large, nearly on the flat, but again very draughty. Breakfasts on the whole good, with the food being replinished on a regular basis - only down side was their bacon where it had white bits on it, which I have been told is because they freeze it ! . Staff very good, but again check-out a problem as not enough staff for the number of people checking out, I think they only have one position (computer). On the whole not a bad Hotel, recently "tarted-up" but if you look below the surface you can see it needs a lot of work to bring it up to a really good standard Hotel.

Room Tip: If possible check which rooms you will have
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baunach49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed here 2nd week of january and was pleased with this hotel. We were expecting a rough area with awful views of the docks. Wrong in a very pleasant situation with very pleasant sea view with beach across the road. In a lovely seaside Victorian or edwardian terrace. Public rooms all have amazing views
The new owners are trying vey hard to improve standards.we had a superior room,very nice with lovely balcony and windows looking out to sea. Clean and tidy. breakfast was of good quality and service good.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for superior rooms with balconies looking out to sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozziesyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham Abbey, Essex
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Stayed one night for our anniversary and got room for £29 plus breakfast - which was delicious and well worth the money (think it was £10 each). Staff were lovely - really help[ful. Room was a bit small, but had a great view of the sea and was clean and comfortable. Did have a couple of "friendly" seagulls outside the window in the morning, which woke us earlier than we anticipated, but it's expected if you're next to the sea. Was glad it was winter and didn't have the window open though!!!! Would go there again. Ideal if you have an early morning ferry.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacm35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed a night here, and got a great price of £29, the room was lovely,and very modern and up to date,lovely flat screen tv on the wall,and a great tea tray. would of prefered a room with a sea view, but cant complain at that price.
The staff were very helpful.The bar was lovely, with amazing views over the sea, so could watch all the ferries coming and going. We ate out, but the bar food looked very good, and was a reasonable price.
There were just 2 slight moans, 1 .... that the shower was very slow, and 2.... the room had a obvious slope to it, but thats to be expected in a building of that age.
If we do another day trip to france in the near future, i would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angel-fish16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We booked this hotel because it is close to Cullins Yard restaurant, recommended, the venue for a works evening. Got a good price through their own website, £47.20. It was going to cost at least £35 for train and taxi fares from Ashford.
The standard double rooms only have a small double bed so we opted for a twin room and just pushed beds together. Hey presto a super king bed! Room looked out over the outlet centre but that didn't bother us.
Rooms are on the narrow side but ok for a 1or 2 night stay. Beds comfortable and clean. Shower not powerful but ok, it is afterall only a 3 star hotel. Plenty of inclusive shower gel. floor 'wonky' and sloping,but thats part of the old building.
Didn't book breakfast. We had a bacon sarnie and a coffee next door.
Make sure you find out what time the doors are locked, we didn't and had to wait a while to be let in by a very rude grumpy night watchman who insisted that another couple hadn't been trying to call him for 20mins to get in when we could hear the phone ringing! I forgot to mention this when we checked out.
A parking permit is issed for the outlet centre carpark a minutes walk from the hotel.
Easy check in and out - polite staff. Overall good value 3 star hotel. I have only given sleep quality 4 blobs because floors do creek and I did hear the neighbours baby crying in the early hours.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper level if going for standard/special offer rooms. You get a view up the hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woola56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

This hotel is a gem. The room was lovely, tastefully decorated with lovely vies of harbour and sea.

This hotel is well run and I am very impressed with the Ethos of the Leaf Hotels group. Prices are very reasonable with free wifi and free parking.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigMac2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
2.7 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
888 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
0.5 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
310 reviews
6.4 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,657 reviews
7.2 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa

Property: Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
Address: Waterloo Crescent, Dover CT17 9BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new 81 room Best Western Dover Marina Hotel is set in a Georgian Terrace building and commands stunning views across the Dover seafront with the famous Dover castle in the background. It is centrally located just a few minutes from the Ferry and Cruise terminals and 5 minute walk from the town centre, the hotel facilities include Free Wifi, a Restaurant, Bar & Lounge, and Coffee Shop brewing Starbucks Coffee and Movenpick Icecream.The Waterfront Spa will be open from 01st March 2013 offering a range of Beauty Tretments, Manicure, Pedicure and Massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dover Marina Hotel And Spa
Best Western Dover Marina Hotel Dover
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing