We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Dover
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed here on 16th Feb 2012. Got a good deal through Booking.com - 50.00 GBP for a double room.
The room was nice & clean, newly re-furbished. Rooms were extremely warm & toasty- no cold drafts at all.
We had some sandwiches in the afternoon they were standard. The breakfast buffet in the morning was good value & had a good spread. Service very attentive.
We could not get a room facing the sea- that was the only gripe. Else lovely stay with no issues. Would definitely return if we are in Dover.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tesusj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    432
    218
    119
    73
See reviews for
230
525
44
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Staff friendly and helpful.Great Room(superior)with Harbour view and Balcony.Breakfast excellent,but thank goodness it was Self Serve as Dinner Service was dreadful!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank prodbourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk UK
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

What a great little find; set in a beautiful Victorian terrace with balconies overlooking the sea & quiet location. Inside the hotel has been completely revamped and the bedrooms although not huge are well appointed. The staff are very friendly and only too pleased to assist. Also parking is free nearby with a pass issued by the hotel. We only booked 'room only' as we didn't know what to expect but decided to take breakfast the following morning on seeing the place. It didn't disappoint, the full works including fresh fruit and pastries. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I am surprised by the last reviewer as I am currently staying on the 4th floor and have a good size room with large bathroom and average size windows looking out across the port. I really cannot fault it. It is an old building so yes there are sloping floors & as it is on the top floor the ceilings are quite low especially in the bathroom but the refurb has been done well, no it is not a luxury 5 star but it is not trying to be. The room has good lighting, is warm and the bed is very comfortable. The water pressure in the shower is excellent although there are no handles or rubber mats so care is needed getting in & out of the bath. Staff are friendly and efficient. Parking is a little confusing as it says on the website "parking on site" but it is not so do phone for instructions before going. The Room Service menu has a great variety & is very reasonably priced, I had a great meal. Use the Best Western website to book, I paid £62 room only - as a Best Western regular business traveller I can honestly say that this is one of the best I have stayed in - I will be back.

Room Tip: I have only stayed in one room and it was lovely but in a hotel such as this I am sure there is a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Posh100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fougerolles-du-Plessis, France
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Just checked other peoples reviews and astonished to see prices of £29 & £47 pounds being quoted. I have stayed at this Hotel 3 times int he last six months and paid between 79 and 82 pounds a night for three different standards of rooms. Don't have a room on the top floor, they are disgustingly small, with very small windows (more like portholes) . The room we had on the second floor 202 had a sloping floor, even the loo was at an angle. This is most disconcerting and could make a tea-totaller turn to drink. Windows also were very draughty. Our recent was in room 106, much large, nearly on the flat, but again very draughty. Breakfasts on the whole good, with the food being replinished on a regular basis - only down side was their bacon where it had white bits on it, which I have been told is because they freeze it ! . Staff very good, but again check-out a problem as not enough staff for the number of people checking out, I think they only have one position (computer). On the whole not a bad Hotel, recently "tarted-up" but if you look below the surface you can see it needs a lot of work to bring it up to a really good standard Hotel.

Room Tip: If possible check which rooms you will have
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baunach49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed here 2nd week of january and was pleased with this hotel. We were expecting a rough area with awful views of the docks. Wrong in a very pleasant situation with very pleasant sea view with beach across the road. In a lovely seaside Victorian or edwardian terrace. Public rooms all have amazing views
The new owners are trying vey hard to improve standards.we had a superior room,very nice with lovely balcony and windows looking out to sea. Clean and tidy. breakfast was of good quality and service good.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for superior rooms with balconies looking out to sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozziesyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham Abbey, Essex
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Stayed one night for our anniversary and got room for £29 plus breakfast - which was delicious and well worth the money (think it was £10 each). Staff were lovely - really help[ful. Room was a bit small, but had a great view of the sea and was clean and comfortable. Did have a couple of "friendly" seagulls outside the window in the morning, which woke us earlier than we anticipated, but it's expected if you're next to the sea. Was glad it was winter and didn't have the window open though!!!! Would go there again. Ideal if you have an early morning ferry.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacm35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
2.7 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
876 reviews
0.5 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel
3.3 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
303 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dover East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa

Property: Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
Address: Waterloo Crescent, Dover CT17 9BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new 81 room Best Western Dover Marina Hotel is set in a Georgian Terrace building and commands stunning views across the Dover seafront with the famous Dover castle in the background. It is centrally located just a few minutes from the Ferry and Cruise terminals and 5 minute walk from the town centre, the hotel facilities include Free Wifi, a Restaurant, Bar & Lounge, and Coffee Shop brewing Starbucks Coffee and Movenpick Icecream.The Waterfront Spa will be open from 01st March 2013 offering a range of Beauty Tretments, Manicure, Pedicure and Massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dover Marina Hotel And Spa
Best Western Dover Marina Hotel Dover
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing