We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, good food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Dover
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

We spent a night here before our crossing. The hotel was clean, well maintained and comfortable. Seeing that the weather was terrible, we had a pint and some food in the little "pub" that resides in the lobby. The food was top-notch and the guy serving us was super friendly. Would definitely recommend it to a friend!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank iamrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,187)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

757 - 763 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

I found this hotel through tripadvisor, and ended up getting a great deal, sub 50 quid for the night. Had a top floor room that overlooked the sea, which was brilliant as I woke to hear the sea crashing on the beach in the morning! Lobby was recently had a refurb (well it look like it has) and looked lovely. Reception staff were friendly, but found some of the lacked basic local knowledge as to the location of very touristy places.

The Breakfast buffet is very good value (Be sure to book it the day before as its cheaper than getting it on the day!). One of the waiters, Paulo, was brilliant. Very keen, professional, helpful, and cheerful in his role, put the other serving staff to shame a little.

Room Tip: Top floor, sea side facing
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpj79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Overnighted here as had an early ferry to catch. Was not expecting much beyond the usual Best Western standards. I was surprised and delighted to find a beautifully restored historic hotel literally facing the sea. I never tried the spa so can't comment on those facilities but very pleased with the hotel and would definitely stay here again.

The highlight of the stay was the urbane and charming Dimitris. If there was a prize for the most helpful and thoughtful front-of-house staff - it would be a crime if this chap were not put up for it!

I had phoned to say I'd be arriving late - I hadn't realised it was Dimitris who'd answered the 'phone until I arrived but he confirmed it was not a problem. There was a speedy check-in when I arrived tired and after a long drive and thoughtfully I was reminded to book breakfast and asked if I'd like an alarm call. These are small things I know, but they are the details that frequent travellers like myself look for from hotel chains that aspire to repeat custom.

When I came down in the morning at 6.30am I found the same helpful Dimitris (who had been there at 11.45pm) there to help speed the check-out process as efficiently as possible, so I got to my ferry connection on time.

Well done Best Western Dover I was won over by the old world charm of your hotel and the quality of service I received from your front of house staff.

Room Tip: They are all good - but ask for one that has a sea view - the hotel faces the sea so shame not to...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hlj1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We had to wait a while for someone to turn up at the front desk. The place was clean, and right opposite the sea. The room was clean and warm (not always the case in winter), and everything was as it should be. The major inconvenient is the floor board that tend to squeak - not a problem during the evening, but at night if someone else is sharing your room, and needs to take a leak - this will most definitely Wake you up. Car parking nearby and included in room rate.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RussellLyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I was able to book 2 rooms here for a night, wasent sure what to expect as it was a winter deal of £30 pound a room.When we arrived we was greated by very friendly staff at the desk, was booked in very quick, given our key cards and told we had been given a free upgrade with sea views.1 room on 2nd floor, other on 3rd. Both rooms very spacious, clean and nice and warm, which was very welcoming as the weather was very cold and wet.We paid an extra £10 each for the buffet breakfast which was well worth it.Everything you could wish for, and everything nice and hot and fresh.Could not fault anything.Would stay again when visiting the area

Room Tip: sea views are good
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrbusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Good location and sea view room. Every where you walk the floor boards squeak, you are aware you may be annoying someone above or below you! Room small, one small lift for everyone! Tried the curry night in the restaurant, probably the worst buffet meal ever!.
One bonus, the staff are first class and make up for the other downfalls.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
2.7 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
906 reviews
0.5 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel
3.3 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
315 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dover East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa

Address: Waterloo Crescent, Dover CT17 9BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Dover
Price Range: £58 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new 81 room Best Western Dover Marina Hotel is set in a Georgian Terrace building and commands stunning views across the Dover seafront with the famous Dover castle in the background. It is centrally located just a few minutes from the Ferry and Cruise terminals and 5 minute walk from the town centre, the hotel facilities include Free Wifi, a Restaurant, Bar & Lounge, and Coffee Shop brewing Starbucks Coffee and Movenpick Icecream.The Waterfront Spa will be open from 01st March 2013 offering a range of Beauty Tretments, Manicure, Pedicure and Massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dover Marina Hotel And Spa
Best Western Dover Marina Hotel Dover
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing