We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Dover
london, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“weekend away”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Staff gave excellent service hotel was clean and comfortable . Food in restaurant was excellent. Stayed over Valentine weekend the hotel decorated the tables in the restaurant and put our names on our menus nice touch.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    434
    220
    119
    75
See reviews for
232
530
44
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manningtree
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This was the first time we had tried a Best Western in the UK but we had stopped in them in Europe and knew what to expect. We weren't disappointed. No extra charge for parking here, parking is free in De Bradelei Wharf just over the road, we paid the supplement and had a sea view over the harbour, the room was well appointed with all the usual accessories, hair dryer, iron, kettle etc and the WiFi connection was good. We didn't use the restaurant for dinner preferring to try Cullins Yard opposite, which is well worth a visit to look at its wartime bric a brac. We have left the best till last the bed was so comfortable - watch out Lenny Henry you have competition - and the breakfast, well, how often do you see kidneys on the menu. If it's full English you're looking for, this is the place for you. We will certainly stay here again when the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank SteveW58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights with my husband and 2 year old for my husbands birthday mid Feb 2014. We had amazing service from the staff who went above and beyond to accommodate our needs. I had asked prior to our stay whether they offered any special services for birthdays (I wanted to surprise my husband). Once we arrived at the hotel I was surprised to find that they had arranged for a cake to be placed in the room along with a hand written card to my husband! I had never asked them to do this so this added to our great experience.

The room was clean and we had an amazing view of the marina. We never got to eat at the restaurant or drink at the bar so I cannot comment on these. The only downside that I will add, which was nothing to do with the actual hotel, was that we stayed when the weather was absolutely terrible - windy, cold and torrential rain! However this did not 'dampen' our experience and we would love to stay again - in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Mixed service - some staff excellent, some not. Our room was very clean but on the small side, but we had a decent rate so no worries about that. Location is wonderful with beautiful views of the ocean. Pity the weather was a bit nuts.... I plan to go back in warmer times for sure!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Celerysparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnwick
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Our twin room was on the top floor of the hotel overlooking the sea. We have stayed here before & find their double beds rather small. It was cosy, clean & very comfortably furnished but disconcertingly after a choppy ferry crossing, the floor in the bedroom sloped. The management acknowledge that this might pose a problem for some guests & undertake to relocate if this is the case. The bathroom was large & quite utilitarian. We skipped breakfast so can't comment.
The reception staff were very helpful under difficult circumstances as we attempted to book in amidst a very large & noisy Christmas party which had congregated in the foyer before moving to the dinning room. If it is busy car parking can be a problem.
Where this hotel scores is on style. It is a beautiful Regency building with wrought iron balconies overlooking the sea & it really does exude old world charm. This is our second stay & we continue to be seduced.

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies overlooking the sea are large & lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

We spent a night here before our crossing. The hotel was clean, well maintained and comfortable. Seeing that the weather was terrible, we had a pint and some food in the little "pub" that resides in the lobby. The food was top-notch and the guy serving us was super friendly. Would definitely recommend it to a friend!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank iamrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I found this hotel through tripadvisor, and ended up getting a great deal, sub 50 quid for the night. Had a top floor room that overlooked the sea, which was brilliant as I woke to hear the sea crashing on the beach in the morning! Lobby was recently had a refurb (well it look like it has) and looked lovely. Reception staff were friendly, but found some of the lacked basic local knowledge as to the location of very touristy places.

The Breakfast buffet is very good value (Be sure to book it the day before as its cheaper than getting it on the day!). One of the waiters, Paulo, was brilliant. Very keen, professional, helpful, and cheerful in his role, put the other serving staff to shame a little.

Room Tip: Top floor, sea side facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpj79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
2.7 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
878 reviews
0.5 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
303 reviews
6.4 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,597 reviews
7.2 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa

Property: Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
Address: Waterloo Crescent, Dover CT17 9BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new 81 room Best Western Dover Marina Hotel is set in a Georgian Terrace building and commands stunning views across the Dover seafront with the famous Dover castle in the background. It is centrally located just a few minutes from the Ferry and Cruise terminals and 5 minute walk from the town centre, the hotel facilities include Free Wifi, a Restaurant, Bar & Lounge, and Coffee Shop brewing Starbucks Coffee and Movenpick Icecream.The Waterfront Spa will be open from 01st March 2013 offering a range of Beauty Tretments, Manicure, Pedicure and Massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dover Marina Hotel And Spa
Best Western Dover Marina Hotel Dover
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing