We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dover Marina & Spa Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dover
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
“Dover Marina & Spa Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Me and my husband stayed here for a 2 night break and it was really relaxing. The breakfast was great. The hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly. My only problem there were works being carried out across the road from our hotel room which caused a lot of noise from time to time but otherwise it was a great break.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    407
    211
    108
    63
See reviews for
218
496
40
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Staff very helpful and pleasant,but there was no organisation in the dining room.Dinner 7pm,but with only one type of meal coming out at a time,very slow.Staff had no idea where the food was meant for, hence kept being asked by different staff if we wanted the dish,even though a menu was filled in at breakfast.The food, when it arrived, was very good, and good choice of menu.The second night there was a birthday party,and all other guests,including our party, were moved out of dining room to another room with long tables, making it difficult for the less able guests to get in and out.The staff had further to walk from the kitchen with the food,so again had a long wait.On last night it was 8.30pm before the tea and coffee finally arrived.
The room wasnt very clean, with tea having been dripped on skirting boards by previous guests and not cleaned off,also dust.Good view of harbour from room.I have stayed at Best Western Hotels before and I must say I was disappointed with this one.The situation was very good,being just across the road from the harbour,and Marina at the back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is supposed to be a 4 star hotel but the toilet was dirty, the bath had smears of blood on it and the windows were in a poor state of repair. The plumbing is spectacularly noisy! My room was not as shown in the publicity, small and with a slopping floor. I am sure there are rooms with views of the sea, I got a view of the car park.

I also had difficulty with my booking in the hotel restaurant, having booked a sea view table at 5, when I arrived for my meal at 7, I was told that there were no sea view tables available. In the whole time I sat there, at no point were all the tables occupied. The restaurant food was nice but the waitress was condescending to the point of being supercilious. I did not eat at the hotel again.

There is a premier inn about 1/4 mile down the road. If I go to Dover again, I'll book in there. Basic but clean.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view you probably have to jump and down to get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Pat67920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dover hotels

Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Nice room pity about the loud noise made by pipes when emptying bath etc. group menu was ok, not sure about ordering at breakfast for evening meal. Good staff. Would have liked more storage space in room but it was ok. Felt hotel needs more signs on the stairs directing you to the floors and rooms. No sign on second floor. Telling you which way to go for higher floors. I did like the food especially the breakfasts. Would go there again

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hazel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidlington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Staff are very friendly. Room was clean and good with lovely views of sea. We went there on a package, Not sure if it was because of the package(but looked like it was same for everyone) we did not have much choice for dinner, that was ok still. We got horrible tasting and portions suitable for an eight year old! There was some party and dinner was actually in suites of hotel not restaurant. Staff were new and obviously not trained as our table which we had booked earlier was given to other people and we had to take a table in middle of the room where lights were bright on us and this was romantic break with dinner package :)

Room Tip: Definitely stay specially if you have seafront rooms but eat somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sowjanya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

I have given this four stars not because it's the height of luxury, but because it was excellent value for what it was and we had a very enjoyable time, so it met its objectives in every way! It would have had five were it not for a couple of very pernickety things I've mentioned at the end - if I could I'd give it 4.5.
My friend and I paid just £50 each for a girly weekend here, including a spa treatment of our choice. For this price we got a nice room with a sea view and a great night's sleep: the beds were really comfortable and there was no outside noise. The room was uncomfortably warm BUT we rang down to reception (at 1am, when we got back from our night out!) and they immediately brought a fan up for us. I was very impressed by this level of service. The breakfast was good with lots of choice and again a nice seat overlooking the sea. The spa treatment (we both had a facial) was excellent and we didn't feel we were short-changed in any way for getting it as part of a deal. The gym was quiet and well-equipped for a hotel gym, with a nice freestyle area as well as the usual machines. The hotel is well positioned for restaurants etc in town but also a short walk from the beautiful cliffs.
The only downsides are there is no pool (would be nice if you're going on a "spa weekend") and the service in the bar is agonisingly slow (a quick drink before dinner ended up with us practically downing our gins!) but in general it was great and just the refreshing weekend we were hoping for.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
324 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Its probably Dover`s best hotel, your welcomed with a great smile from reception and then into such lovely room with a sea view, personally i think the room was a good size. There`s every thing one needs in a hotel room tea and coffee making iron and ironing board writing desk yes it`s all there for you. The bar is just great for drinks and snacks that we so enjoyed and if you take breakfast your going to love there full English its all there. The Location is fanatic close to the ferry port close to the harbor and across the road from a lovely beach and croisette. I can tell you i will be returning back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
2.6 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.5 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dover East Hotel
3.3 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
Address: Waterloo Crescent, Dover CT17 9BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new 81 room Best Western Dover Marina Hotel is set in a Georgian Terrace building and commands stunning views across the Dover seafront with the famous Dover castle in the background. It is centrally located just a few minutes from the Ferry and Cruise terminals and 5 minute walk from the town centre, the hotel facilities include Free Wifi, a Restaurant, Bar & Lounge, and Coffee Shop brewing Starbucks Coffee and Movenpick Icecream.The Waterfront Spa will be open from 01st March 2013 offering a range of Beauty Tretments, Manicure, Pedicure and Massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dover Marina Hotel And Spa
Best Western Dover Marina Hotel Dover
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing