We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and spacious rooms on the waterfront”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dover
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for one night, using it as a base for exploring the area, specifically dover castle and Canterbury cathedral. I was a little torn as to how to rate it - the hotel does it's 4 stars justice, it's clean and the rooms are spacious, the staff are courteous, and it's location on the waterfront is the nicest location for dover. The beds are very comfortable, and we didn't suffer any noise to disturb our rest. The rooms were on the cold side, when we complained we were told that the central heating isn't turned on in the spring, however we were brought a heater and it heated the room well. Unfortunately the bathroom remained very cold, so I opted out of a full shower or bath, and settled for a quick wash, shivering over the basin..
Less than satisfactory. It is a pretty location, but were I to do this trip again, I would have based ourselves in Canterbury, which is a beautiful, quaint town, with many bars and restaurants, instead of at dover, which is a little underwhelming. Both dover castle and Canterbury cathedral were magnificent. The castle had a staff of actors who brought the history to life. They were excellent! I wasn't traveling with kids, but the children there vastly enjoyed the interactive entertainment, as did we as onlookers. We travelled to dover by train from London, and from there to Canterbury by bus. I was impressed by the convenient public transportation, and if I'd had more time in the area, I would have taken advantage of the buses further, and visited Deal castle, which a local advised me was lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naomitate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

754 - 760 of 1,216 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in the family room. The room was huge! Despite it being an old hotel, the upkeep was very good, the service excellent and it had a nice ambience. Location was also fantastic as you can get rooms that look out to the bay but yet using the underpass it's just a 5min walk to town in the opposite direction. Hotel restaurant served very good food along with the Cullin's Yard restaurant just 3 mins walk from the hotel. Plus there's free parking.

It was almost the perfect hotel barring the slightly poor sleep quality. Both the king bed and the sofa bed mattresses had gone soft. Someone with a back problem may not be able to sleep on them. Time for a change! But I must qualify that I am not sure if all the beds are in the same condition.

Still, for the price, service and location, this place is unbeatable considering some of the B&Bs are charging the same nightly rate for smaller rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank n810el
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Very good service and excellent location, We booked a room with sea view and it was, just in front of the beach. Comfortable and pretty room, not too big but more than enough, We took there the dinner and breakfast and the food was really good. In general, a very nice week end.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Had an overnight mini break in March
Comfortable room ,tasty afternoon tea ,good evening meal and breakfast
Bathroom a little jaded but adequate.
Interesting room the hotel is quite old so the floors av
Re very uneven ,we felt it added to the character but might be a problem for those less steady on their feet.

Room Tip: We upgraded to sea view ,good view of the ferries
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

If you put the post code for this place into your Sat Nav, you will end up directly outside the front door of the hotel and will then have to turn round and turn right so you end up behind the hotel in what is really a public car park, so watch for the Best Western signs and then take the first right BEFORE you reach the signs, follow the road around to the right and you see the signs for the parking for the hotel. You then just need to go into the hotel and obtain a car parking pass.
This hotel has bags of character and this is evident from the instant you walk in through the door.
The guy on reception (Dimitri, I think) was EXTREMELY friendly and helpful but this was somewhat overshadowed by the fact that we were waiting nearly 10 minutes to get into the tiny, single lift in the hotel. By the time I got to the 2nd floor, I was extremely good friends with 3 total strangers!! Do yourself a favour and take the stairs :-)
The room was OK. Clean and tidy if a little small, but the floor above me was VERY squeaky (thank heaven for considerate neighbours) and the thing that really let the room down was the shower. It took an age to warm up and when it did, it leaked water from the top of the shower head meaning that there was hardly any power in it.
There is a leisure club, which basically consists of a small cardiovascular room, a small weights room and I think there is also a sauna which I didn't use, but not bad if you want a bit of a work out, but it was a bit claustrophobic, in the fact it just feels like they cleared a basement out and decided to use it as a gym, but it's definitely better than nothing.
The bar food is very recently priced but the drinks are definitely NOT. Nearly £8 for a pint of Stella and a Coke. Again, do yourself a favour and have a walk into Dover and find the Wetherspoons if you want a pint. The hotel does however have Sky Sports if the football is on.
Breakfast was AWESOME!! Bacon, sausage, proper scrambled egg (not powdered), mushrooms, black pudding and believe it or not, a Chef's special of Cajun Chicken Liver's which went down very nicely indeed. I was certainly well set up for the day after that.
I was here on business, but the ferry port is literally 5 minutes drive down the road, so this would be an ideal place to stay if travelling to the continent the day after.
This place would definitely have scored higher if it wasn't for the lift and the dodgy shower, but would I stay again?? I think I probably would.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and make sure you don't get room 201 which is actually located on the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BUCKETHEAD218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Ideal location for Dover port, castle, Folkestone and other south-east coat attractions. Hotel staff are always friendly and helpful. Food is good and rooms comfortable (although we always have the same favourite room!)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
2  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The Dover Marina Hotel is probably suited for one night stop overs for use of the port. The hotel certainly did not meet the expectations of my Wife and I. The room was to small, the toilet system noisey and there was very little wardrobe space. There was also poor security on the outside window.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
3  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
2.7 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
923 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
138 reviews
3.3 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
324 reviews
7.2 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa

Address: Waterloo Crescent, Dover CT17 9BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dover
Price Range: £46 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new 81 room Best Western Dover Marina Hotel is set in a Georgian Terrace building and commands stunning views across the Dover seafront with the famous Dover castle in the background. It is centrally located just a few minutes from the Ferry and Cruise terminals and 5 minute walk from the town centre, the hotel facilities include Free Wifi, a Restaurant, Bar & Lounge, and Coffee Shop brewing Starbucks Coffee and Movenpick Icecream.The Waterfront Spa will be open from 01st March 2013 offering a range of Beauty Tretments, Manicure, Pedicure and Massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dover Marina Hotel And Spa
Best Western Dover Marina Hotel Dover
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing