We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok option for Dover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dover
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Ok option for Dover”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Nice water view. Wifi was ok, they were able to fix it quickly when it went down. They have a coffee shop next door. Their breakfast looked ok but too expensive for us when we don't each that much. Parking is close by. Their restaurant is decent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillipsrhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    440
    225
    120
    76
See reviews for
235
540
46
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had booked one night at this hotel prior to our catching the ferry in the morning. We arrived a little late at around 11 pm. First impressions count for a lot especially when you consider that this is supposed to be a 4 star hotel.

Check in was not a particularly positive experience. The receptionist seemed to be far too pre occupied with other things rather than attend to guests booking in. Seriously, I have been better welcomed at budget hotel groups than at this establishment and had better rooms!.

The room was a good size but look tired. There was a draught from the windows and we could not get the heating to work. The hotel rooms definately need a good overhaul. Please don't think this all adds character to a hotel - it doesn't!. Tea and coffee facilities are provided. The bathroom is what you would expect and the bed is comfortable enough.

We did not pay the extra for a breakfast in the morning since the town centre is just a short distance away and you can get a perfectly adequate breakfast for half the price the hotel want to charge.

The hotel is in a great location. Just across the road is the main beach so I would think that this might be popular in the summer months because of where it is. Parking was also fairly easy on the main road in front of the hotel.

I wish I could write something more positive about this hotel but I am left confused as to why such a dreary old fashioned place like this should warrant a four star. I wouldn't rush back here. OK for a one night stop over I suppose if you cannot find anything else available locally.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAVAKLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Ive read a lot if reviews for this hotel, some i agree with, some i think i visited a different hotel!!! Its difficult to review, but i found pros and cons....the pros are its in a great location, rooms on the front would have a fab view, car parking is close by and you get a permit, so its free, the staff one and all i found to be brilliant, and the public rooms are lovely. Breakfast was excellent, great choice of hot and cold buffets, and sandwiches in the bar/lounge were fabulous and goid value.....The cons are mainly with our experience of the guest rooms...efforts have obviously been made with the decor which was neutral and clean but to me the room was badly laid out. It was spacious as you came in but cramped to walk around the bed and get into the bathroom whilst avoiding the tv on the wall. The tv didnt work at all during our 2 night stay, nor did one of the overbed lights, small things, but easy to put right. The floor had the most unbelievable slope on it, so much so i didnt dare risk putting a drink on the occasional table which had a scary list to one side! The bathroom was large and clean but very poor for toiletries, a tiny body lotion and a pump dispenser of body wash for the overbath shower. I hate plastic shower curtains too!!! I could not see how this warrants 4 stars, ive stayed in that standard all over the world and it is poor by comparison. We booked a deal which 'included dinner first night' .. That turned out to be £15 towards dinner.....hmm bit of a cheat there!!! Three course set menu offered us enjoyable starters but the rump steak main was so chewy i discretely complained, it was replaced without demur but that was just the same and the pavlova dessert was ready made meringue, squirty cream and tinned peaches!!!! Not good enough!!!! In short in my experience great staff, shame the product they sell isnt as good as they are.....ive stayed in lots of Best Westerns in the UK and Europe, this was the worst......

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shirleylyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Located in front of the sea, this hotel has sea facing rooms which can be obtained at an additional price. Location is great - you can see the sea and the white cliffs while sipping beer in the lobby. Lift is small and two taps on the basin, which I hate in UK. Book breakfast the previous night which will give 30% discount. Ideal for relaxation and holidaying.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ayan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Have stayed at the Marina many a happy occasion but when the lights go off be warned. This morning have awoken to no electricity anywhere in the hotel. Consequently the corridors are very poorly lit, the lift does not work and there is not hot breakfast available in the restaurant. So much for a 4 star hotel having back-up utilities even for the public areas and kitchens. Our octogenarian parents who are fairly fit guests have managed the stairs from the ground to first floor both ways but beyond the first floor the hotel is totally inadequate and unfit for purpose for catering for elderly people when there is a power failure. Reception staff were chatting to non guests who had popped in and seemed inexperienced in what to. So maybe the Dover Marina should consider investing in some emergency infrastructure works before a tragedy occurs - people falling in corridors or downstairs. PS. The lights have just come back on but the power outage has nevertheless demonstrated the Achilles heal of this otherwise pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank 21stCPragmatist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dover hotels

Kitchener, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Spent one night recently and really enjoyed the location, the room (especially the balcony), the food and food service BUT, my wife and I had a number of extremely negative encounters with the front desk staff. We found them dismissive, condescending, ill-informed, disengaged, brusque, rude and unprofessional. In fact it was the worst front desk experience we've ever had.
Thankfully this lack of customer service did not extend to the restaurant or bar where we received excellent service. This property has a lot going for it, but the management needs to address their front desk situation and either replace or extensively retrain their staff. Since the "encounters" were with a number of front desk staffers, I have to conclude this is a systemic situation. Unfortunately, the front desk staff wouldn't last 5 minutes greeting at my neighbourhood Walmart.

Room Tip: Get one with a balcony. The view of the channel and the castle are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cristal-lover0516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The hotel is located at the beach and offers free parking. The staff is nice.
The hotel itself is not very spacious and the room we had was very small.
Overall: it is too expensive and not worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
2.7 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
888 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
0.5 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
310 reviews
6.4 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,659 reviews
7.2 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa

Property: Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
Address: Waterloo Crescent, Dover CT17 9BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new 81 room Best Western Dover Marina Hotel is set in a Georgian Terrace building and commands stunning views across the Dover seafront with the famous Dover castle in the background. It is centrally located just a few minutes from the Ferry and Cruise terminals and 5 minute walk from the town centre, the hotel facilities include Free Wifi, a Restaurant, Bar & Lounge, and Coffee Shop brewing Starbucks Coffee and Movenpick Icecream.The Waterfront Spa will be open from 01st March 2013 offering a range of Beauty Tretments, Manicure, Pedicure and Massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dover Marina Hotel And Spa
Best Western Dover Marina Hotel Dover
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing