We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've had better...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Dover
Grande Cache, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I've had better...”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Booked this hotel online at the Calais ferry terminal, mostly by reviews and the price seemed reasonable. We took the last ferry of the day and arrived in Dover at nearly 1 am. To say the least the day was a long one. When we arrived, the was no one at the front counter, there were dirty dishes in the lobby on a side table, not really a welcoming situation. When the gentlemen finally showed up, he apologized for not seeing us because he was busy "stuffing his face" in the back room. We were given room 211 facing the back road. To say the least...I've had better!
The room was the size of a closet. There was a horrible smell in our room, like a toilet was backed up, the showerhead kept falling down, so I had to keep adjusting it to actually have any water spray on me. There were more minuses than pluses, but was way beyond tired to actually go downstairs and complain. The room was cramped, they supplied a floor fan, which may have been a saving grace since it was a stifling 28 degrees. The beds were sufficient, the decor was typical franchise art work, there were bare necessities for the bathroom but that was pretty much it. Words of wisdom, try to get a marina view room, at least you may get an ocean breeze on a hot day.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Schmenky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    434
    220
    119
    75
See reviews for
232
530
44
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
richmond, utah
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We loved the location of this hotel, we could sit on our balcony and see everything. The ferries were fascination for my family and we really liked strolling the beach walk. The beds were not great but all in all, we would stay there again

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a balcony room facing the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfmountain16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed at Dover Marina Hotel for three nights. As we had holiday-plus-vouchers we only had to pay for breakfast and dinner. As the rooms would've not been worth the money, we were actually pretty happy about that. The rooms had an okay size, the bathroom was quite small, and not at all in 4-star-condition, the windows didn't allow to be opened more than an inch and the temperatures were unbearably hot, as the room was on the 4th floor, beneath the roof. There was a fan provided at our room, that we left on all night, which made it a bit more comfortable.

The service was mixed. As we checked in, we didn't even get the standard informations as where we'd find the room or where and when we'd get breakfast/dinner. All we heard was, how expensive our room was an how much money we've saved. The following days we made good experiences with the staff at the counter, as they appeared to be very helpful and friendly.

Our first dinner was a bit of a disappointment, although the food was really good. The service seemed a bit overstrained and badly organized. As we were served by 5 waiters/waitresses, no one knew what the other one did, so we were served things, we didn't order or had to wait for long periods of time to get what we've ordered. On the following days the weren't as many guests at the hotel so we totally felt the difference. Also every waiter was very nice and helpful, even though the first evening was a bit stressful.
The breakfast was rich and had a good variety. We were filled up for half of the day and had absolutely no complaints.

All in all we had mixed feelings about the hotel. It tried to make a noble appearance, which I think it didn't fulfil. The staff was very well-trained, but they didn't cope with stressful situations. The dinner-room seemed elegant and chic, but we weren't quite sure when it was the last time it had seen a good cleaning, as we kept an eye on a spoon that was lying under a table from the first time we've had dinner to our last breakfast three days later.
It's okay for a stay, if you don't mind the prices. But don't expect too much.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulrike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
548 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We needed a reasonable hotel for an overnight stay in Dover. The Dover Marina is a great position, views of the Castle and inside the pretty little marina.
Great welcome at reception and a parking permit which is invaluable.
It rather stopped there. The room was OK for one night - but at £104 excluding any breakfast - it isn't exactly give away. It was a tiny room, albeit facing the sea. We could hardly walk around one another.
The TV did not work properly, the bathroom has basic amenities. The bed was minute - and with a husband who is 6'1" tall it was a nightmare. The curtains did not properly cover the windows so we were woken really early with the light. The WC cistern was noisy.
The Bar service was OK but the choices for sparkling and flat wines was simply dreadful.
I think a good B & B would have been better value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Liked the room but key card would not work and my husband had to return to the desk. Instead of offering to bring a card up, my husband had to go down to the desk for a new one which did not work either. However they did change our room to one with a view over the channel. Very comfortable bed and power shower. Apparently Churchill stayed here when he was Warden of the Cinque Ports. Beware of the cheap breakfast advertised all over the lifts and designated announcement boards as it is only offered in the coffee shop. We decided to have the breakfast because it was so reasonably priced. When we paid and were charged £12 each we were told we were in the wrong place. Not worth the £12. Nice place but service could be better. Close to the ferry and channel tunnel . Petrol station just across the road. Fans in the room if it is too warm.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank omawheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were late arriving at the hotel due to the traffic on the M25, so were probably not in the best mood when we arrived. This disappeared as soon as we received a lovely friendly welcome.
We stayed in one of the balcony rooms on the first floor at the front of the hotel, the view of the sea and port was lovely and the room was very large and clean. Dinner in the main dining room was very good and the breakfast was super. If you are taking a cruise from Dover, this is a great place to stay, cruise parking is only 4 minutes away.
If we take another cruise from Dover, we would definitely use this hotel.

Room Tip: Take a balcony room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
2.7 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
878 reviews
0.5 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
304 reviews
6.4 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,597 reviews
7.2 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa

Property: Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
Address: Waterloo Crescent, Dover CT17 9BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new 81 room Best Western Dover Marina Hotel is set in a Georgian Terrace building and commands stunning views across the Dover seafront with the famous Dover castle in the background. It is centrally located just a few minutes from the Ferry and Cruise terminals and 5 minute walk from the town centre, the hotel facilities include Free Wifi, a Restaurant, Bar & Lounge, and Coffee Shop brewing Starbucks Coffee and Movenpick Icecream.The Waterfront Spa will be open from 01st March 2013 offering a range of Beauty Tretments, Manicure, Pedicure and Massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dover Marina Hotel And Spa
Best Western Dover Marina Hotel Dover
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing