We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dover
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a great location, and is in a great period building, one if the oldest in Dover with a lot of history. It is great for a one night stop to catch the ferry. This hotel could be excellent, however the beds are not great, the showers are very weak, and the staff are not friendly. And the rooms get very hot on sunny days.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Oxfordmartyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    407
    210
    108
    63
See reviews for
218
495
40
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
407 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed here overnight prior to cruising. It's a four star hotel. Our small bedroom was at the back of the hotel so no seaview. It was VERY hot and we needed to keep the fan ( supplied in each room) on full settings overnight. We didn't have breakfast but our friends did and they said it was good.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have used this hotel several times because it is ideal for the ferry and has a good view of the harbour but we have always been disappointed. Our last stay is definitely our last stay. They were informed that Wendy is in a wheelchair so they give us the smallest room which is impossible to get around in a wheelchair, the shower has no means for her to sit to have a shower. Entering and leaving the hotel by wheelchair is a nightmare. There are steps at the front which I can manage, but the automatic door closed on me and if other guests hadn't rushed to help we would have been in trouble. There is a metal ramp at the rear but the door is kept locked with no means of contacting reception to say you require access. This entrance is also used for deliveries so you find your way blocked when these are taking place.
Very unimpressed by the breakfast, £10 each for food kept under lights or on burners, so rubber eggs, dried slices of bacon stuck together and congealed beans all of which you have to serve yourself. Do as we did, it's only a short walk to Wetherspoons where you can get a freshly cooked breakfast delivered to your table for under half the price.
Now to add insult to injury, we were charged twice. On checking in the receptionist authorised my credit card, I explained I would be paying cash on leaving. When we came to leave I paid the bill in cash thinking that was the end of it, I then find out my credit card had also been charged. I then had problems getting my card reimbursed, it was only when they checked and found their takings were over by the exact amount on my bill did they agree reluctantly to repay me.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dover hotels

Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

What a disappointment . We booked a balcony room with a great view onto Dover harbor . The room was dated but although very expensive would have been OK for one night . If at least the service would have been in line with the star rating . And from here on it went downward very quick . With all the carry in limitations almost every hotel carries at least tooth past . Not so this one . They run out of it at least that's what we have been told by the reception in the evening . The converter plug they gave us didn't work either and no other was available . But the next.morning they had some for sale !! I needed to charge my phone and has to purchase one from the 4 star hotel . And all of a sudden there was plenty of tooth paste available . 15 hours after we requested it several times. The reception stuff was rude and not helpful at all and I would not stay in this hotel again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyingplumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
154 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We spent 2 nights here in June, waiting to cruise on the Fred Olsen Line to the Scandanavian Fiords-real central for shops, walks along the beach and on the pier. The hotel was quaint with lots of character.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 60stravellers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel has some things going for it... It's right across from the beach, quiet, and has a good view of Dover Harbour , it's close to the cruise ship and ferry terminals, and within walking distance to much of the area. However, because it is a heritage building (there are pictures of it from the mid 1800s) what modernizations were done, especially in the lower priced rooms have been minimal. We paid about $180 per night for a double room with sea view. We got a room on the top floor, with a small window that could only open a few inches. The window was dirty, and the room, although clean, was old, worn, and crowded. There was a wardrobe with a few hangers in it, a rickety table with a lamp on it, a worn looking dresser and a tv with a handful of channels. No air conditioning meant the room felt like a sauna by evening. Although a fan was provided it really didn't help. The bathroom was functional at best - no space to put toiletries, and the only place to blow dry my hair was in the room but not unless I sat down in front of the small dresser mirror. It was advertised as free wifi but I could only access it the tiny lobby. Breakfast was not included but we ate at the restaurant anyways and found it good. I expected better overall considering the price we paid.

Room Tip: Don't take a room on the top floors! No air conditioning means they are always too hot in the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
2.6 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.5 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dover East Hotel
3.3 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
Address: Waterloo Crescent, Dover CT17 9BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new 81 room Best Western Dover Marina Hotel is set in a Georgian Terrace building and commands stunning views across the Dover seafront with the famous Dover castle in the background. It is centrally located just a few minutes from the Ferry and Cruise terminals and 5 minute walk from the town centre, the hotel facilities include Free Wifi, a Restaurant, Bar & Lounge, and Coffee Shop brewing Starbucks Coffee and Movenpick Icecream.The Waterfront Spa will be open from 01st March 2013 offering a range of Beauty Tretments, Manicure, Pedicure and Massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dover Marina Hotel And Spa
Best Western Dover Marina Hotel Dover
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing