We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Seaview”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dover
SW, UK
Level Contributor
269 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great Seaview”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I was allocated a very small room with a single bed and a very small shower room in the corner. I must have stayed here on one of the warmest days of the year and the window only opened about 3 to 4 inches. It was so warm and at about 9pm I phoned reception begging for a fan to be brought to the room. A fan was provided and this improved things a little. The bedroom decor was tired and the shower room so small that I had to keep my wash bag in the bedroom and when I needed I used the toilet seat as a shelf. Breakfast the following morning was interesting..........very few guests eating at 8am and some very interesting breakfast choices. Liver and black pudding available but no fried eggs. Overalll a fairly comfortable stay but air conditioning would have been welcomed. I would stay again but I would know what to expect.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WhereU2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    419
    214
    113
    65
See reviews for
222
510
41
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
257 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Waterfront so wonderful view. best decision was to take a room with a balcony as it was best to enjoy the beautiful weather and sights of the waterfront. multiple ferries in and out and a view of the cruise ship we took form that port. took a cab to the Dover castle and walked back. Hotel room, was upgraded to bridal room. very nice and the difference for the balcony was better seats and table in wicker as opposed to the other balconies which were metal. great size of room with French doors to balcony, also a large window. no air conditioning, but room had a fan. no safe and oddly enough only 1 bedside table. room beautifully furnished. breakfast was no included but we were able to purchase it, and it was quite good and we were nicely accommodated with special requests. the hotel bar was quite nice although service was slow at times especially for cleaning tables. hotel reception was fantastic, they have a terrific team behind the counter indeed. elevator very slow especially at check out time. bathroom amenities were basic but a great shower. only major issue with balcony is that the only room that has obstructed view is the bridal suite where the advertising banner runs the length of the balcony so you could not see the sea form sitting down, you had to be standing/ that was a shock and the main reason I only gave rating as very good as opposed to excellent/ WIFI hard to get on often/ bed felt more like a double, not as big as north American standards

Room Tip: caution with banner over balcony in bridal suite/ but do choose a room with a balcony, especially wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackiefrombrampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is our third time staying here, and everytime we do it's simply more amazing than the time before.

First, the staff...simply amazing people. I saw some new faces that replaced some of the few " less than pleasant" folks ( i.e., breakfast staff). My 4 year old still asks to go see 1 of the folks that works during breakfast ( name left out for their privacy). Very helpful when a family friend traveling with us took ill ( motion sick from a rough ferry crossing) and we needed to find a chemist close by.

Breakfast was excellent, and service times are a bit longer than at other places in the area...it's ok to have a slow, sleepy morning ( Important when traveling with kids!), you'll still make breakfast. Room is mostly clean ( Housekeeping always seems to skip 1 task and random- see below) and comfortable. TV, Internet and heating all work great.

My one and only complaint about the hotel remains the same..housekeeping! During a previous stay we had bits of broken glass spread out in the bathroom that we discovered with my daughter stepped on one. We were missing one drinking glass so I assume the previous occupants had broken it and housekeeping didn't clean up the bathroom floor. This time the bathroom floor was free of broken glass, but the bed sheets were full of biscuit crumbs, like the previous occupants ate in bed and the sheets were not changed. I do hope one day the issues with housekeeping will change...this hotel could easily be number 1 in Dover.

Room Tip: Top floors have the better views and get more of a seabreeze at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorring
Level Contributor
88 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Our room number was 400, and it was incredibly hot and humid. The window couldn't open more than 30 degrees. We booked twin, but got triple. When we told the receptionist she was very helpful and said that an extra bed will be removed. We had lunch there and my husband was very happy, but my jacket potato was soggy and was brown in parts inside. Tuna feeling was not tasty. When I complained, the waiter offered something else, or they would not charged. I opted for the latter one. The staff was very friendly, however because of the humidity, and the room did not deliver what was shown on photos, and the food was of a bad standard I would not return, or recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Do not take a room on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dover hotels

South Wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The room was sparkling, the sea view brilliant and the welcome warm.
Breakfast was great including cook-it-yourself waffles and a buffet with a wide choice.
Bar and food well up to standard.
Can't wait to stay here again.

Room Tip: Sea view means you can watch ferries come and go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Italylover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed here overnight at the end of July 2014 with friends before catching a cruise next day. Front desk was helpful, if at times overwhelmed and understaffed. Breakfast was included and was quite good. The room was very small; about 12x12 with a bathroom carved out in the corner. Bed was comfortable, but sleep was difficult due to the room temperature. We had to remove the duvet (!) from its sheet to get a covering for the bed. The room was too hot, no A/C. They will supply a fan, but the window will open only about 3 inches due to "health and safety regulations" Clearly in the UK people must be protected from jumping out of their hotel windows!!! I suggested placing protective bars on the the windows but "we can't do that as it is a "protected building" and we can't modify the outside". However we did notice that the rooms on the first floor (in UK that is the one above the ground floor) had windows that opened and people sitting on balconies. So it must be deemed by the "powers that be" that jumping off a first floor balcony was not too dangerous!
So with the window open about 3 inches and the fan going, the room did not cool down, but a pidgeon hopped in through the open window in the morning and woke me up by resting on my toes for a moment. I heard it hopping around in the room, sat up in bed at which point it flew into the window, dropped down on the sill and then hopped out. My wife was a basket case at this point.
I complained to the front desk and all they said was "yes that happens, they usually fly out again". No way to place screens on the windows as it is a "protected building". Obviously the building is more important than the guests.
A/C in the corridors might help but I got the impression that this hotel management was quite happy with the way things were and the features of the 80's and 90's were quite adequate for the 21st century.
It was outdated, outmoded, and not customer focused.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor that open onto balconies might be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I upgraded to a superior room with sea view to have a good start to our European adventure.
Advertised as a King size bed in a spacious room with balcony overlooking the sea,not the room we were assigned, a visit to reception after a short discussion with the receptionist, changed rooms to the one we should have had when we upgraded.
We reserved a table in the waterfront restaurant, and we enjoyed great food , with great service from all who attended us ,we would highly recommend the Waterfront restaurant even if you are not staying at the Hotel.
I cannot praise the restaurant staff enough for making our evening so enjoyable

Room Tip: A superior Double with sea view ( but make sure you insist that you have what you have paid for)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p2417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
2.7 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.5 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dover East Hotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa

Property: Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
Address: Waterloo Crescent, Dover CT17 9BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new 81 room Best Western Dover Marina Hotel is set in a Georgian Terrace building and commands stunning views across the Dover seafront with the famous Dover castle in the background. It is centrally located just a few minutes from the Ferry and Cruise terminals and 5 minute walk from the town centre, the hotel facilities include Free Wifi, a Restaurant, Bar & Lounge, and Coffee Shop brewing Starbucks Coffee and Movenpick Icecream.The Waterfront Spa will be open from 01st March 2013 offering a range of Beauty Tretments, Manicure, Pedicure and Massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dover Marina Hotel And Spa
Best Western Dover Marina Hotel Dover
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing