We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Owner was rude wouldn't recommend” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Alma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostel Alma
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Owner was rude wouldn't recommend”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

the owner was very aggressive and the hostel was closed when I arrived even though the supposed "cafe" had an open sign. Facilities ok but I did not feel safe withsuch a loud and rude manager

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank judy5555255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    10
    14
    9
    50
See reviews for
13
28
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Seems to be a bit of a pattern here. I turned up at the "cafe" which had an "opn" sign only to be told that I had no right to be there. Owner very rude and screamed at me. Didn't go back of course but he still debited my credit card. Place was filthy and messy

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elsieelsieelsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dover hotels

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

I emailed owner to say I would arrive a bit early, and his brochure said he had a "cafe' which was in fact a filthy storeroom. When I enquired politely about when I could get to the room he stood 6 inces from my face and screamed at me to get out. I am 60 years old 5 feet tall but no shrinking violet. he then pushed me. I went to the police - case still open - nad he still charged my credit card. the guy id a mad man - I agree with the last review - avoid at all costs

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sally7777_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

Wasn't easy to find - our navigator's fault. It's near gasoline station, just across.
Family run hotel, good location - 5 min walk from center, 10 from sea, 20(i think) from castle, but we was there by car just before coming hotel. Russian and English speaking master, parking across street or on backside. Good English breakfast made right for you, good coffee, croissans, jam, flakes, butter. Shared kitchen available 24/7, with filtered water, electric cooker, microwave, fridge.

Room Tip: room on street maybe noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sir_Suer_Vyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muir of Ord, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

I booked the room on the way to Dover, at 21:09, I then travelled the last few miles to Dover, got there at around 21:30 (after specifying on the booking form that I would check in at 22:00) to find that the hotel doors were locked, the lights inside were turned off and there was no one around. I banged on the doors for a while, but no one came down. The next day (after booking into the Premier Inn in Dover), I met some cyclists on board the ship. They had stayed in the hotel the night before, and said it was run by Ukrainians, who after some persuasion had let them keep their touring bikes downstairs. I had noticed the bikes in the cafe area, and realised now they must have been theirs. So, the hotel was open, but they had obviously closed the doors early. I have contacted them and they are denying that the doors were locked, and refuse to refund my payment!

The place looked very dilapidated from the outside, and was in a rough area.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chinaelephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2011

I booked this place for a stop off in Dover en route to France via hostelbookers. The day after I was slightly surprised to get an email asking for all my credit card information, including the online security code (CVV). This isn't standard practice for hostelbookers (it has never happened to me before out of 40+ bookings) where the point is that they keep your details safe and you don't have to worry about your card being misused. I called to query this, and had the most astoudingly rude conversation - I calmly asked whether I could pay the whole cost in advance, pay by paypal, send a cheque - but was just repeatedly asked whether I'd read their website. Finally the guy told me that he needed the card details so if there was any damage to the room (the example he gave: smoking!) they would charge the card without the permission of the card holder. This would of course be fraud! After five minutes of talking over me he then hung up on me. I don't know what the physical hotel is like, but if the propriator is this rude to a current customer over the phone I dread to think. Generally this stuff doesn't bother me (I have stayed in 50+ hotels and never complained - even when left in the lurch in Romania!), but this was quite special. Take my advice, avoid.

Room Tip: Watch out with your credit card details.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Tryptamine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Norman Guest House
The Norman Guest House
#11 of 41 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maison Dieu Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Alma

Property: Hostel Alma
Address: 37 Folkestone Road, Dover CT17 9RZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Alma 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Hostel Alma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Alma Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing