We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly an establishment to remember and to re-visit”
Review of Hostel Alma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostel Alma
Hamman-Sousse, Susah, Tunisia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Certainly an establishment to remember and to re-visit”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed for four (4) nights during our south coastal walk from Dover to Eastbourne - Whilst the exterior would well benefit from a coat of paint , the interior was clean , warm and friendly, The proprietors could not do enough to make us feel most welcome and nothing was too much trouble (late may 2012). Yes there was a steep and twisted staircase to the 1st and 2nd floor , where the rooms were situated , but once inside both the main entrance and the room doors , both of which were coded we felt most welcome. The room was exceptionally clean and tidy and the twin beds were well prepared with good quality , clean linen. The room was compact with freeview TV , and an (only small) , but sufficient Toilet/shower and wash-basin room. There was a kitchenette on the first floor complete with micro-wave and inclusive provision of tea/coffee/milk , crockery/cutlery etc - - This establishment is not for the sick , lame and lazy brigade and those with piles of luggage should go elsewhere , and should arrange their requirements in a complete and pro-active way , so as to obviate what they saw as a 'right to whine' (please see 'Williammc01' - - The proprietors certainly did not behave in a 'couldn't be bothered' or 'Too much trouble' manner , whatsoever , proving themselves to be a most helpful pair

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    11
    15
    10
    51
See reviews for
14
27
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Good place, very comfortable beds and room!
Great location and great English breakfast included!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diego_Costa_Juliani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I'm a bit supprised at the low score this place has. While it's nothing special, it does offer a cheap place to sleep before catching the boat in the morning, which I imagine is the point. It's not fancy, but our room was spacious enough for 3 of us, with free wifi and a clean bathroom. It's also easy to find when coming off the motorway, but parking can be an issue. I wouldn't recommend staying here for a week, but I wouldn't imagine anybody would be thinking of doing that. If you're just after a cheap place to stay for the night before a catching the ferry, then there is nothing wrong with Hostel Alma.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HodgesOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Our room was small but had everything we needed,central heating was on and the bed was very comfy and clean as was the towels,bathroom was small but modern and clean with heated towel rail.The kitchen was open all night with free tea and coffee and microwave cutlery etc. The stairs are very narrow and not really suitable for anyone with a disability.We had to leave early and thought breakfast started at 7 but the owner said it is 8 at weeekend,he offered to get up early and he made toast tea cereal and yoghurt,he was very helpful and chatty and went out of his way to help.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Reviews on Trip Advisor make this place sound much worse than it was for us. Our room was very clean and well-appointed, if small (although it did smell a bit of wet carpet). The rooms aren't very soundproof, either from traffic noise or from other guests in the hallway. The owner was friendly to us, although he can seem a bit brusque (we think he might be Russian, and brusqueness is not rudeness from them). A large English breakfast is provided, which is tasty enough. You could probably find better value elsewhere though.

Room Tip: We got the family room as it was the last available. It had beds for 3 people, a large TV and a smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseInCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

It appears from other reviews that we got away quite lightly, but the Hostel Alma is still a very cheap and not very pleasant place to stay. We paid £45 for an one night stay before our early ferry the following day, and apart from the owner wanting a 3% surcharge for using a credit card (to be fair, he retracted this charge as we were leaving too early to have breakfast), and the key numbers worked OK for both the main door and the room door. The rooms are tiny and the washing faclities extremely "cramped", but the room was clean with a working TV with many channels, and the bed was comfortable. The real downside to this room was the noise from the street which made sleeping difficult, and a nagging worry that we would be hard put to get out of the place in the event of a fire - the only staircase to the 2nd floor is very narrow and likely to disintegrate before the rest of the building. Also, this is not in a very salubrious area; our car was keyed down the side overnight...

Room Tip: I'd look for somewhere else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John080347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dover hotels

Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

the owner was very aggressive and the hostel was closed when I arrived even though the supposed "cafe" had an open sign. Facilities ok but I did not feel safe withsuch a loud and rude manager

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank judy5555255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
862 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hubert House Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Alma

Property: Hostel Alma
Address: 37 Folkestone Road, Dover CT17 9RZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Alma 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hostel Alma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Alma Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing