We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“small but clean and central” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Alma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostel Alma
Chernivtsi, Ukraine
Level Contributor
177 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“small but clean and central”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

Our room was tiny, but we stayed here the night before the ferry, bed is comfy, you actually get a big fluffy pillow as opposed to a wafer thin mint! room is very warm, free internet and very central to the town, for an over night before early ferry it is just fine. Parking is on the street, so I hope it is safe! there is parking behind, but we didnt explore that.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Princess__l0ul0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    10
    14
    9
    49
See reviews for
13
28
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We had an early ferry, and Tripadvisor tooks us to the Hostel Alma for a budget-price stay (£55.00 for two, B&B). The hostel is within walking distance of the town centre (not that the town centre is very inspiring). Parking is free overnight in the street opposite. Also opposite is a garage with convenience shopping.

Our second-floor room faced the road, which was noisy until around 11 pm. The room was compact to say the least, and the biggest negative for me was that (for my own protection presumably) it was not possible to open the window more than an inch or so. It was a hot night, and it was (for me) rather claustrophobic.

As others note, there is a well-equipped kitchen down on the first floor, although making a cup of tea involves bringing the full cups back up the stairs and through some very tough-to-push-open fire doors - not one of my skills.

The room was clean. The hostel's fascia describes it as a restaurant and take-away, but it appears that the (separate) restaurant section is used only for providing breakfast.

Free wifi was appreciated. The owner? manager? was pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was fine. Booking online was straightforward.

At the price, it was pretty good. But I suspect that for the future we would revert to a Travelodge for a cheap overnight.

Room Tip: Although the property has a hillside behind it, I believe that there are some rooms facing away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

While basic in terms of facilities this was one of the most welcoming places I've ever stayed in. The room was clean and tidy and nothing was too much trouble for the proprietors. The breakfast was lovely and there was lots of it! I would definitely use this venue for an overnight stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

A great place to stay. We had a family room on the top floor which was really quiet and comfortable. The self catering kitchen was great and very handy. The room was very clean and secure. The cooked breakfast was delicious and the owner very helpful. We would stay here again. Great value for money and the free WiFi a bonus

Room Tip: Top floor family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morristheminor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamman-Sousse, Susah, Tunisia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed for four (4) nights during our south coastal walk from Dover to Eastbourne - Whilst the exterior would well benefit from a coat of paint , the interior was clean , warm and friendly, The proprietors could not do enough to make us feel most welcome and nothing was too much trouble (late may 2012). Yes there was a steep and twisted staircase to the 1st and 2nd floor , where the rooms were situated , but once inside both the main entrance and the room doors , both of which were coded we felt most welcome. The room was exceptionally clean and tidy and the twin beds were well prepared with good quality , clean linen. The room was compact with freeview TV , and an (only small) , but sufficient Toilet/shower and wash-basin room. There was a kitchenette on the first floor complete with micro-wave and inclusive provision of tea/coffee/milk , crockery/cutlery etc - - This establishment is not for the sick , lame and lazy brigade and those with piles of luggage should go elsewhere , and should arrange their requirements in a complete and pro-active way , so as to obviate what they saw as a 'right to whine' (please see 'Williammc01' - - The proprietors certainly did not behave in a 'couldn't be bothered' or 'Too much trouble' manner , whatsoever , proving themselves to be a most helpful pair

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Good place, very comfortable beds and room!
Great location and great English breakfast included!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diego_Costa_Juliani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

I'm a bit supprised at the low score this place has. While it's nothing special, it does offer a cheap place to sleep before catching the boat in the morning, which I imagine is the point. It's not fancy, but our room was spacious enough for 3 of us, with free wifi and a clean bathroom. It's also easy to find when coming off the motorway, but parking can be an issue. I wouldn't recommend staying here for a week, but I wouldn't imagine anybody would be thinking of doing that. If you're just after a cheap place to stay for the night before a catching the ferry, then there is nothing wrong with Hostel Alma.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HodgesOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Norman Guest House
The Norman Guest House
#11 of 41 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maison Dieu Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Alma

Property: Hostel Alma
Address: 37 Folkestone Road, Dover CT17 9RZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Alma 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, SpeedyBooker.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Alma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Alma Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing