We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spic & Span, Martin can.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dover
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bleriot's Belper House
Ranked #1 of 38 Dover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spic & Span, Martin can.”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We travelled to Dover on a spur of the moment thing and arrived in the evening and whilst Googling for somewhere to stay Bleriot's stood out. We phoned and luckily Martin had a cancellation. We arrived to a very welcoming, smiling gentleman who showed us the available double room with en-suite. Upon entering the Guest House the reception area had plenty of information leaflets for all over the local area and Martins local knowledge was vast and he willingly passed on where was good to eat, as well as the areas around Dover that were good for living (this was the point of the trip) The house oozes character, cleanliness is superb. The rooms are bright and functional, having a Tv, radio alarm clock and a kettle (with a good selection of tea,coffee,biscuits etc). as well as a hair drier. Plus there was soaps etc. in the en-suite. The towels were super white and smelled as fresh as spring. We slept well in a comfortable bed (although some road noise was heard). There was plenty of hot water for a good shower. Breakfast and what a breakfast selection, superb is best way to describe the full English. Overall great value, comfortable, homely and welcoming. Thanks Martin, we highly recommend to all and will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinky3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    39
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
109
111
38
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Dover was on our list of places to visit while in England and we were so glad that many others on Travel Advisor suggested Bleriot's. We echo what others have already said. We arrived early but, within ten minutes, Martin was home and greeted us at the door, ensured the room was ready and shared the many wonderful sites we should see while in Dover.

Breakfasts were fantastic, entertaining, and, again, full of great advice for what to do and see. Martin's suggestions for dinner while in Dover were outstanding and we got to see some great sights courtesy of his advice.

We happily and wholeheartedly recommend this Bed and Breakfast. We'll be back!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We arrived in Dover, planning on staying at one I'd the hostels, but after getting one look at it, we quickly changed our minds. Desperate for a place to stay, we checked into the awful county hotel for a night. The next morning we were told of a B&B up the road , but they were full. The owner called up Martin, owner of Bleriots and secured a room for us. When we arrived, he was full of life and welcomed us into the house right away.
The house was lovely, clean and very welcoming. There were numerous pamphlets and maps, and Martin himself was an endless supply of knowledge that we wouldn't have learned elsewhere. He made sure we had good directions to several places and suggested some good place to eat and get a pint.
Breakfast was wonderful, lots of choices and served very quickly and with a smile! We needed a taxi to get back to the train station and they called one for us. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Good old fashioned service, Martin was welcoming, the rooms clean, he cooks a really good breakfast, excellent value for money. Will be staying next year. Ideal location for Ferry and Channel Tunnel. Nice quiet part of Dover, safe parking on the road too.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maple52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We arrived at the guest house at 11.30,we were given the room keys and were able to leave our car in the gated car park (locked at night) while we walked to the shops.rooms are available from 4.30 pm.only a short walk to the shops, not really a nice shopping area so we stayed at the stone
Beach most of the day as it was great weather.
Room was fine with tea and coffee,tv,hair dryer and shampoo and shower gel.beds were comfy with a light duvet,shower was super and hot. breakfast was lovely at £5 per adult £3 per child.all round a good stop over place.would reccomend

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carrie094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My wife and I stayed at this B/B on 21 July 2013. The owner, Martin, warmly welcomed us. Our room, number 4, overlooked Dover castle. The room was clean, spacious with very good bathroom facility. There is a choice of breakfast menu, we were not disappointed. The B/B location is quiet and ideal for those wanting close proximity to Dover port, or to walk along the white cliffs. Private parking is available at the B/B. We were given data about this B/B from another in the area which was fully booked. Perhaps we missed sign posts relating to the B/B, however that said, additional signs strategically placed would benefit the accommodation. Would we stay again at Bleriot's Belper House, without question. Ubon and Mike Gilman.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We planned our motorcycle trip to France so that we had a nice relaxed start, by staying in Dover rather than riding down at silly o'clock in the morning to catch the ferry. What better place to stay! Bleriot's a very clean tidy B&B decorated to a good level. Martin (the owner) does a cracking job of looking after you and making sure your stay is as pleasant as it can be. Great location within a short walk to Centre of Dover. Full on breakfast, Ideal start for a 250 mile bike ride. More people should consider staying in Dover instead of rushing through it on their way to the the continent. Bleriot's is a very Motorcycle friendly B&B and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgatens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.8 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
126 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
878 reviews
3.1 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
304 reviews
0.6 mi away
Castle Guest House
Castle Guest House
#6 of 38 in Dover
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bleriot's Belper House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bleriot's Belper House

Property: Bleriot's Belper House
Address: 47 Park Avenue, Dover CT16 1HE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bleriot's Belper House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bleriot's Dover Bed & Breakfast, named after the intrepid French aviator, Louis Bleriot, who made his pioneering cross-channel flight to Dover in 1909, is an 'AA Three Gold Star Award Highly Commended' non-smoking Victorian guest house in a leafy avenue between Dover castle and the ferry terminals. Within easy reach of restaurants, Town Centre, Ferries, Cruise Terminal trains and buses. Channel Tunnel approximately 10 minutes drive. We offer walled and gated security lit on-site parking for guests vehicles. We specialise in one night stop-over's and mini-breaks. Single, Double, Twin and Family rooms with Full En-suite, all rooms have flat screen TV's with freeview, Tea/Coffee making facilities and individually controlled full Central Heating. Free Wifi. The attractive dining room is the venue for a wholesome breakfast served from 7.00am to 9.00am Bleriot's provides bed and breakfast accommodation close to Dover's ferry terminal. P&O and DFDS run services from Dover docks. Bleriot's is ideal if you are a tourist visiting Kent's many attractions or needing an over night stop on your holiday. Please book direct by phone or e-mail as you will not find us on any online commission based booking sites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bleriot's Belper House Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing