We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient for channel train” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Norman Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Norman Guest House
Ranked #11 of 41 Dover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bath
Level Contributor
155 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Convenient for channel train”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

The host is very friendly and welcoming and the rooms are ok. I wish I knew that the guest house was next to busy road and train. I am a very light sleeper and noise kept waking me up during the night. The bed in our room was very hard so sleep was almost impossible for me. Kids and hubby did not complain though. 5-10 mins walk to find anywhere to have dinner. Cooked breakfast is ok. Kids liked hot chocolate made with milk - unlike the watery stuff they often get served up. Some street parking, however if you ask the host, he will arrange for free off-street parking behind guest house.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    28
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
25
34
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Very warm welcome ,room with Ensuite nice, shower ok (no bath) , bed very comfortable ,slight rumble from trains but did not disturb us as we were out all evening and we were able to return very late as you get your own front door key .English breakfast just right and plenty of tea and toast ,would stay again .

Room Tip: If you can't do stairs ask for a room on the lower floors we had 3 long flights with cases to ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Val D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

We found this guest house to be in a good central location, easy to find and we were greated with a warm welcome. We were looking for just a one night stay as we had a party to go to in the area. The room we stayed in was a family room and it was plenty big enough for us four adults. Ensuite bathroom was roomy and clean. We had an english cooked breakfast, which was needed after our night partying! All in all it was good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaBath70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

It was too near the train station that we got lost looking for it!!
Very good guest house, lovely couple, very clean, and a perfect English Breakfast!

It definitely worth a stop when visiting Dover!

Don't forget to sign a post letter for them before you go!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandrux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

I've been here with my girlfriend for 1 night only but it was a great experience! Rooms are very clean, breakfast delicious, unbeatable price and most important the gentleman who is running the place (sorry, don't remember the name) is really nice and helpful! Location is also perfect, just 1 min walking distance from the train station and 5 from the centre. I absolutely recommend this place to everybody!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luca_tnLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

We were very warmly welcomed by the owner of the guesthouse. He helped us to find some nice restaurants to eat and also gave us directions of the whereabouts of Dover. We had the family bedroom and it was very clean, the beds were comfortable and not too much noise from the railway (passes the side of the house). Also the traditional English breakfast was delicious! Overall a very good guesthouse and located only 5 minutes from the port of Dover.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRoderick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

The Norman Guest House was the starting point of our holiday in the UK & the wife & I couldn’t have got a better first impression. Laz & Des were friendly & up for a chat, breakfast was plentiful & delicious & it was convenient to both the town & the car hire. The stairs were a challenge for my wife but we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AWDVERADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hubert House Guesthouse
0.5 mi away
Castle Guest House
Castle Guest House
#10 of 41 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norman Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norman Guest House

Property: The Norman Guest House
Address: 75 Folkestone Road, Dover CT17 9RZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Norman Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Norman Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Norman Guest House Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing