We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and perfect service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Norman Guest House
Ranked #10 of 38 Dover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clean and perfect service”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

The owners live in the house and the ensure that you feel welcome and that you have everything you need. We stayed for one night, we found the place quiet and perfect to rest after a day walking on the cliffs. For example, we said the night before that we wanted breakfast, but in the morning we slept over a bit, the owner went upstairs to knock our door so we didn't miss the breakfast time. I will stay there again, it is a highly recommendable place.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreita123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    29
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
26
36
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed at The Norman Guest House for two days before our Baltic cruise. Big mistake!!
Dover is a very small/blue collar town with very little to offer other than the Castle for sightseeing. The train service to Dover is excellent hence we would have been so much happier to have stayed in Canterbury and trained to Dover from there the day of the cruise. That said, our choice of the Norman House in Dover was another mistake. I was stunned to find that the full cost of our two day stay was charged to our Visa BEFORE we even arrived!! I prefer to pay cash when travelling and this option was taken from me by the use of my card without my consent!! We were then given an en-suite room at the top of the building......46 narrow stairs that would have been better suited to a billy-goat than a human. Thank God we had chosen to go carry-on and hence, did not have a lot of baggage to drag up to our room. Miss a step and die in the fall!! I mentioned the train service is excellent and it is! I didn't mention that the Norman House is directly next to the tracks that approach the train station......it sounds like the train is going through the room every 10 minutes or so until late in the night!!!! The rooms themselves are VERY sparse in their furnishings and a very uncomfortable place to spend non-sleeping time in. The beds? Rock hard. The owner was friendly but let it be known that we were to be out by 10am on check-out day..........hours before our cruise and a rainy day as it turned out. Breakfast is OVER at 8:30 am. There is NO common area to sit and watch television or read as there is in many B&Bs. In short, an unpleasant stay in an unpleasant town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lotsaplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
high wycombe
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Booked at late notice to meet an early morning crossibng to France and enabling a visit to Dover. Kids first experience in B&B.

Book parking if you require, it is available but mainly on street due to location opposite the station.

Initial welcome was poor and the room decor very 80s but clean and bathroom was reasonable, we had the family room. Do not expect to spend much time in the room as cramped. Noisy location and unable to have windows open hence stuffy.

Breakfast was excellent and my host was charming the following morning. Unlikely to revisit but reaonable as a stop over.

Room Tip: If you need parking book with the owner. Back of building would have been quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kendricn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provo, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Loved our stay at the Norman Guest House. Accessible and welcoming. Staff was awesome and very accommodating. Great value for the stay. Older establishment, but clean and well kept. Access to castle and cliffs is close. Delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hemaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiserslautern
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

A very nice small guesthouse. Was housed here with my girlfriend from France for one night. Were times briefly to England for a few days. The owner was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was delicious.

The Location is in the Centre of the Town.

The guest house was very clean. Car Parking available. Perfect.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Very well maintained & clean guest house with a very hospitable owner. From the moment we stepped through the door Laz made us most welcome. I would highly recommend this guest house & thank you Laz for your happy manner that made our stay in Dover a memorable on.

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious, so any would be suitable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Lovely people who made us feel at home immediately. Excellent breakfast and comfortable room. Very happy with our choice. Close to Dover priory railway station and easy to walk into town. Lots of information available for the locality.

Room Tip: Request lower level, steep stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.8 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
876 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hubert House Guesthouse
0.4 mi away
The West Bank
The West Bank
#19 of 38 in Dover
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norman Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norman Guest House

Property: The Norman Guest House
Address: 75 Folkestone Road, Dover CT17 9RZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Norman Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Norman Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Norman Guest House Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing