We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, delicious food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Rustico

Il Rustico
Ranked #6 of 170 Restaurants in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place, delicious food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I had a lovely dinner with my wife for my birthday! Definitely we gonna visit that such a nice restaurant again!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    87
    22
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Excellent service. Very warm and welcoming staff. Food was delicious. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Petya82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
432 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“Real Italian From a Real Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Mrs Too and I walked to dinner at Il Rustico from the Best Western Dover Marina Hotel where we were staying. It was seven-eightish when we arrived and the restaurant was doing a brisk business but was not crowded or noisy. We were seated promptly by the owner (perhaps manager) and given menus.

Even the merest of questions evoked a rhapsodic reply making it clear that this fellow knows and loves his native cuisine and probably most if not all of its regional specialties. We eat a good deal of Italian food at home as well as out, so can spot a pretender in two sentences. At Il Rustico we were in good hands, indeed.

Ben had veal marsala with the most delicate wine sauce he had ever tasted. Mrs Too ordered the lasagna and found it quite good. Our days (years, even) of drinking a whole bottle of wine with dinner are, regrettably, behind us, but we always order a glass or two. Il Rustico has a much greater selection of wines by the glass than usual, including Ben’s choice of Sicilian rose with a spicy, leafy character and well tamed tannin. Mrs Too stuck with her favorite, pino grigio.

For pudding, we had excellent profiteroles. Il Rustico offers a variety of well known cognacs, but, to Ben’s slight disappointment, no desert wines.

Several reviews lament the quality of dinner restaurants in Dover, and I suppose that may well be true for a frequent diner, but our two dinners here were right up there with the better reputed dining centers. Il Rustico was quite enjoyable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben_Theretoo406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We chose Il Rustico over its sister restaurant and were not disappointed. It was a very quiet Sunday evening as it was the World Cup final.
Couldn't fault anything. Service, food, choice of alcoholic drinks, competitive prices. Everything first class.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goff50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Singers on a ship who always stop by ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

This is by far one of our favorite italian restaurants in the world. Just as good as good in Italy. The staff and owner are amazing. We come in every time we are in Dover. We returned for the first time in 2 years to a warm welcome. Now time for some pizza and pasta.

Helpful?
Thank Justin Duval S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Il Rustico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing