We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Salisbury House

Salisbury House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Salisbury House
Ranked #33 of 41 Dover B&B and Inns
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Never again.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We arrived mid afternoon to find no one at home, just a paper notice saying to book in after six (this wasn't mentioned when we booked). Despite booking three months ago and receiving a confirmatory e.mail we came back later on to find that we were not expected due to an 'administration error'. Apologies were given by the owner and after being left in the entrance hall for a short while we were shown to a room witch contained spare furniture. Not at all happy with the situation we decided not to stay. I cannot comment on what the normal rooms/breakfast were like but from what I did see of the clutter on the entrance / hall sideboard and the spare room, all I can say is that I was not impressed and was glad to leave. There is a cat in the house so if you are allergic be aware. The owner was pleasant enough and did kindly offer to phone one of the local hotels for us which we declined. Note that the ratings shown other than service/value/location are marked poor as these have to be completed before submitting the review and are not a reflection of this property

Room Tip: Sorry cannot comment as decided not to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nighthawk60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    5
    4
    5
    9
See reviews for
4
21
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Our host was genuinely helpful but perhaps we should have chosen somewhere different as we had chosen a b and b but didn't expect to use family bedrooms which were still full of their things and very cluttered. The overall cleanliness could have been a lot better but we enjoyed the breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dover hotels

Epsom, UK
Level Contributor
123 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

We usually drive down to Dover on the day if departure but due to poor weather decided to stay overnight in Dover. Salisbury House is a very convenient location, near town centre and the port. It's a funny place, almost like staying in somebody's home rather than a B&B with plenty of memorabilia in the rooms. Rooms were clean and beds comfortable. The owners were VERY friendly. Breakfast was ok but as a nice surprise, they proposed Linda McCartney veggie sausages for vegetarians. Good price rooms if you want to/need to stay in Dover before travelling to France.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HanneleD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Very welcoming despite my late arrival. rarely do I stay at a bed and breakfast establishment and it was quite unexpected to stay in a decent sized, warm and comfortable room. Everything was to hand with tv, kettle, decent WiFi available, an abundance of nick-nacks making it feel very homely. Breakfast was served in the conservatory and you couldn't want for anything. I enjoyed my stay at Salisbury House and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveharris616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Avoid this place. The rooms were not very clean nor was the breakfast area. It more like going to your messy neighbors to stay a couple days, and they put you in the spare room with a 20 year old mattress. Poor parking, poor WIFI, marginal breakfast of generics from local grocery, unresponsive owner.

Room Tip: There are lots of comparably priced hotels, and adequate places to eat. Everything in the Dover area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Very comfortable lovely house and a funny, great host. Room was very clean with private bathroom, great breakfast. I had all the comfort I needed for this B&B, it was very quiet, great bed. It was a great location, close to city center, a small parking, everything was positive. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittle le woods
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Very friendly and helpful owners with a lovely homely B&B. Excellent value for money and a really nice breakfast. Only a five minute to the ferry.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidWhittlelewoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.5 mi away
Hubert House Guesthouse
0.0 mi away
Heather's Woodlands
Heather's Woodlands
#21 of 41 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rolles Court
Rolles Court
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#36 of 41 in Dover
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Number 7 Priory Guest House
0.3 mi away
299 London Road
299 London Road
#20 of 41 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salisbury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salisbury House

Property: Salisbury House
Address: 59 Salisbury Road, Dover CT16 1EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Salisbury House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salisbury House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury House Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing