We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessential Dover”

Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Dover
Reserve with OpenTable
Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Dover is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 185 Restaurants in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Delightful seafood restaurant situated on the beach at Dover. Fantastic sea views and stunning views of the harbour at night.Al fresco dining in good weather. Spacious and modern with excellent service.Local fisherman's catch used where possible and local produce sourced.Extensive fish menu with non fish and vegetarian options available.Ideal for families, business or relaxed lunch or dinner. Live music often on Saturday evening. Reasonably priced.
Reviewed 22 June 2018

My son surprised me by finding this restaurant so that we could eat Dover sole while in Dover. We went without reservations so we were lucky to be seated near a window so that we had a great view but we were warned that the table would be needed in an hour and a half. Johnathan was our server but because he was rather new he was assisted by Yas. A few minutes after we were seated we were told that those with the reservations were going to be delayed so we relaxed and settled in to enjoy.

Complimentary bread and smoked salmon pate' was a delicious starter but we also ordered the grilled scallops which were disappointing. I ordered the Dove sole which is quite pricey but delicious. It was large enough and served with mixed vegetables so that two people could share it with ease. We also ordered the Pappardelle and Hake fillet so everyone got what they wanted and there were no complaints. Our dining experience was the perfect end of a perfect day and we are so glad that my son Googled it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank M E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HytheBay, Owner at Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (898)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 898 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2018

The seafood we had at Hythe Bay Restaurant was very good. We had 3 different main course to share among 5 of us. Ben, the waiter was extremely patient with us. We wanted to make numerous changes to our order, he was very accommodating and his service was excellent.
We went back the next nite just to have oysters and cocktails. Wonderful dining experience.

1  Thank AnnL2962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HytheBay, Owner at Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you, we are so glad that you enjoyed your meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

This place tripped all of our triggers. You can sit inside or outside. If you sit by the window, you can gaze at the white cliffs while you eat. My husband wanted to eat Dover sole in Dover, and he did (although he ordered it a la Meunière and it just came grilled without butter or lemon), and I wanted some fresh fish of any kind. I had the special that day, and it was garlic and peppered hake. The salad I had was also very good. Truly wonderful. Great service and friendly servers. Reasonable prices.

1  Thank KayM506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HytheBay, Owner at Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you for your comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

Great choice of seafood, reasonably priced. They give you smoked mackerel pateand a bread roll so you don’t need to buy a starter. Smoked haddock was well cooked and the poached egg lovely and runny. They also have a limited choice of vege food. Reasonably priced wine list. Creme brule was to die for. The ap is not letting me rate!

    • Service
Thank MoyraJ6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HytheBay, Owner at Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you. We are glad you enjoyed the complimentary warm rolls and mackerel pate and the rest of your meal. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

Liked the 1920s feel to this restaurant; clean simple lines, lots of glass and well organised atmosphere.
The food was excellent from the starter to the dessert. We tasted each others meals and liked everything so I won't recommend any one thing, just glory in all the seafood and enjoy. The wine list is very good and not overly expensive. A great meal, highly recommend it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stevel849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HytheBay, Owner at Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thank you for your positive review and recommendation. We hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Dover also viewed

 

Been to Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Dover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing