We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely house, but uncomfortable”
Review of Beulah House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dover
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beulah House
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Dover
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely house, but uncomfortable”
Reviewed 22 October 2010

We stayed one night at Beulah House, Dover, England where our ship was embarking for its transatlantic cruise. The huse was lovely, but the upstairs bedrooms are too much for anyone not completely able. The room was hot and stuffy, tv unattached, bed like a rock, and bath too small for two people to stand in., The rate was high and it appears the cruise ship terminal is a valuable income for local residents., Breakfast was lovely, and the innkeeper pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoloresSanDiego_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    17
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
8
28
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Stayed here for three nights with colleagues. Excellant establishment. Anitas knowledge of the area and amenities made our leisure time everything we had hoped for. Many thanks to her and her staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We paid £85 for a double room, granted it was for a Friday night, however we feel it was extremely over priced considering the room we were allocated. We had a very small room, and very small ensuite. The room was also noisy and hot as it housed the boilers for ours and other rooms, meaning there was noise when taps were on in adjoining rooms. In addition, the shower was not very powerful and would fluctuate with hot and cold and although we tried the water for over 25 minutes, it didn't improve. When we complained about this, we were informed that the shower was "fine" and it was just that other people were accessing hot water at the same time. We were not offered an apology.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, England.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

A very pleasant stay overnight before a ferry crossing. Standard of rooms was excellent, very welcoming. Towels and bed linen very good quality and particularly liked having two good sized pillows on my single bed. Mattresses were a little soft but this is more down to personal choice. We ate out at The Three Cups just a minute down the road, had a fantastic meal and excellent value. Overall, highly recommend Beulah House.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmam25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argentina
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2009

I've stayed in Beulah House for almost one month and I absolutelly loved it!
The house is beautiful, the bed is unforgettable comfortable, the breakfast is absolutelly delicious and the owners are so lovely..
Absolutelly recommendable! I hope I can come back to Dover again and stay in this wonderful B&B.
Thank you for your hospitality dear Anita..

Gisel

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiselDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

The house was very clean.

Children do not appear to be welcome and we were not greeted with a "Hello", rather, "I didn't know you had children.....this is not a Travelodge". Take away is also not allowed in the rooms. We did not stay for breakfast and definitely did not feel welcome.

The house is near an overground railroad (not Dover Priory) and on a busy road, so if you like to sleep with the windows open, as there is no A/C, and you are a light sleeper, this will likely not work for you.

If you are staying here do catch the ferry, watch the time, as the taxi ride, if going during peak times is ~15 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOEurOpe53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2009

I stayed here for one night whilst on business in the Dover area. Warm welcome, beautiful large room with antique furniture and lots of nice touches normally only found in hotels costing 2-3 times as much. Cooked breakfast was delicious and the whole place was spotlessly clean! I have stayed in hotels and b&b's all over the UK and this one definitely stands out as one of the best I have been to.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AubreyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
3.7 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
7.0 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beulah House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beulah House

Property: Beulah House
Address: 94 Crabble Hill, Dover CT17 0SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Dover
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Beulah Hotel Dover
Beulah House Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing