We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed!!”
Review of India House

India House
Ranked #50 of 170 Restaurants in Dover
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not impressed!!”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Must say that I am deeply disappointed, I wont be going back!!. Chicken was as tough as old boots, dhansak was bland, no depth or freshness to it at all(not for the first time) the spinach in the sag aloo was i'm sure out of a tin and tasteless. The only good thing about our meal was the poppadums and the onion relish.. I know i should have complained but it was a take away and surely the chef knows that he is dishing out sub standard food.. I would have been horrified to served food in my own home like this let along to customers! POOR!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank haze1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    18
    8
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
dover
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Went to the India House last night for the first time, We had the meal deal of £9.00 per person, for a starter, main, rice, side and Naan... The service was excellent, ( albeit the restaurant empty, so we had the place almost to ourselves ) and the food was beautiful.... we had a Vegan in the party and NOTHING was too much trouble!!! Please go and support a lovely little restaurant, offering fantastic value for money!!! They even packed up the leftovers for one of our group to take home for her hubby ;-)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maria p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant curry”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Highly recommend India House. Excellent food, great service, good price. Hindol and the staff will always see you alright.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PadAFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, a must!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Visited with a group of friends. Eaten at many Indian restaurants in the area and this one is the best by far. Decor a little drab but you dont eat the wallpaper! Service very good, waiters and waitresses could not do enough.

Helpful?
Thank SteveA1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best indian”
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

The food is excellent, the service although not the speediest makes you feel well looked after, the best resturant for 10 miles at least :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iLOVEchips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed India House also viewed

 

Been to India House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing