We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in dover”

The Swingate Inn and Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Swingate Inn and Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Dover
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place in dover”
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Stayed here during a trip to France. The hotel is located 5mins drive from the main ferry terminal at Dover and makes a perfect stopover for an early crossing.
I had the pleasure of enjoying their Sunday roast and was really impressed. Good food and value for money.
Friendly staff and clean rooms. Would return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dPatel86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    26
    24
    8
    11
See reviews for
18
39
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dover, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

i booked the swingate inn for my daughters wedding an paid £20 a head for adults and £10 a head for the children.This was for a carvery buffet,the carvery was a silver platter with beef on one side ang gammom on the other with the usual sausage rolls couple quiches ,small sausages an side salas and a small platter of salmon ect.For the sweet it was one apple pie one chocolate cake and one small pot of cream and one of custard.for the price we paid i think it was a total disgrace we could have bought the whole menu for under £150 an thats even going over the top.So for paying £550 for the buffet it was a disgrace.And on the night time buffet which was £250 it was even worse .Then after paying for the disco an bar to be on till 12 the disco was packing up at 11.15 and was going in van bt 11.45 and they closed the bar at 11.45 as well.I was recommended that this hotel was suppose to be one of the best,it spoilt the day for me just seeing the farce they called food being put out.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dover hotels

gaddass
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Great staff,waiter/barman was very helpful.Rooms are ok for the money,parking is good and its 3 minutes from the ferry.Wifi which worked well and they have a restaurant which serves decent pub grub.
Be wary if setting off early as the walls are quite thin and people coming to bed from the bar woke me several times even though they were not being noisy.
Its a bit tired on the decoration side in the rooms but thats reflected in the price,as a place to stay the night before a ferry its fine and everything in one place,parking,food and a beer.

Room Tip: Number 7 is at top of stairs so maybe the noise is louder here from other guests coming to bed,pick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaddass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Very quick friendly check in, I had read the reviews on trip advisor so was expecting a very basic room, however the room was spacious, clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was also clean and there were toiletries provided.

The staff were very approachable and engaging, the bar area was comfortable with a large TV. The beer was reasonably priced and well kept. The dinner was very well cooked and presented, served in a generous portion and was very good value. Breakfast was also plentiful and well cooked.
Will definitely use again when I am in the area

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theknightsthatgonee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modena, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Cheap and cheerful hotel near Dover, which made it an ideal overnight stop before catching an early morning ferry. The staff were very helpful and couldn't be faulted.

The rooms themselves are basic, but perfectly functional. We did ask for a travel cot when booking but it seems the message got lost, thankfully we had called ahead and they had time to sort out a travel cot for us which was very much appreciated.

We had a meal in the bar in the evening - we hadn't had chance to have a proper English curry during our two weeks back in the UK, so were delighted to find the pub serve a range of curries alongside the normal pub fare. The food was ok, I've had better but, after four months without a curry it was still a very welcome change.

We were travelling on the warmest night of the year and the room seemed to be much warmer than it deserved - so we had to sleep with the windows wide open. Unfortunately this meant we could hear the road noise outside which was a bit annoying, but better than being too hot.

We left before breakfast the following morning (which we thankfully didn't have to pay for) and were very grateful of the short drive to the ferry terminal.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stayed here as needed to catch an early fever. Wifi doesn't work, rooms are big but very basic and you wouldn't be surprised if you woke thinking you are in the 70's. You need a magnifying glass to see the tiny TV and its on the wrong wall to see it too. The two guys that were running the hotel and pub were very nice and the food in the pub was good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Herojoe90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

As others have said – a good over night choice.

Don’t get me wrong - As accommodation goes this is pretty average but…

What you get is a friendly bar, pub food and if you’re in luck a little local colour and music. All of which add up to a good way to get you in the mood for a holiday.

The perfect antidote to the corporate blandness elsewhere!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squaremeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
1.6 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
130 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
311 reviews
8.2 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swingate Inn and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swingate Inn and Hotel

Property: The Swingate Inn and Hotel
Address: Deal Road, Dover CT15 5DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swingate Inn and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Swingate Inn and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swingate Hotel Dover
The Swingate Inn And Hotel Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing