We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Swingate Inn and Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The White Cliffs Hotel(St Margaret's at Cliffe)
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
US$92
Travelocity
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Dover(Whitfield)
US$76
Priceline
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$41
Hotels.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
21
26
27
9
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
26
27
9
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsan indian restaurantbest indianopen kitchenstraight roadwater pressureen routebooked this hoteldover portnamastefranceuk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We celebrated our wedding anniversary with a big party at the Swingate Inn in August 2013. The hotel had recently been re-decorated and was looking great. No problems parking, and some of our guests stayed at the hotel and found the rooms clean and comfortable. The staff could not have been more helpful, and we and our family and friends had a wonderful evening.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the end of our first day of a cycling trip to Amsterdam.
We had been cycling in pouring rain for 14 hours and could not have asked for a more friendly, helpful, and warm welcome from the Staff.
We can highly recommend restaurant the food. Tasty and well presented
The rooms however are average and need a spruce up but were adequate for our needs

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelrClayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed her overnight with my wife and 2 grand daughters prior to an early morning Chanel crossing. Staff were very friendly. We had booked a Family Room for 2 adults and 2 children. Double bed , a single and disappointedly a fold out bed for our youngest but although the room was basic it was clean and fairly comfortable.although the provision of additional pillows would have been useful. As breakfast was not included we decided to eat on board the boat instead. No soap or any other toiletries were provided. The hotel is adjacent to the busy main road to Deal and was quite noisy.
The hotel is within a 5 minute drive of the ferry terminal.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road would be quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Very expensive one night stay -£90 - room only, not the agreed price as discussed on the phone. Room worn out and not very clean. Small window high up made room very hot and stuffy, and depressing.
However convenient for Dover and the Chanel crossings.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diana07878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed here to attend a family christening in Guston. Staff are friendly enough and we didn't sample the food so can't comment on that front.
The hotel stay cost us £75 (without breakfast) and I loathed paying the bill in the morning.
The rooms are tired and dated, the beds were uncomfortable due to the fact the springs are practically protruding from the mattress. The shower was lukewarm and water pressure was non-existent. Unfortunately we were also placed in a room with a window facing the carpark/road, which made the room light up even with the curtains closed (due to the bright security light) and noise from the busy road was pretty irritating all through the night.
If the cost had been £40 or even £50 I could have stomached it but £75 is just ridiculous for what it is.
I wouldn't normally bother writing a review but the sad fact is, we stayed there a year ago and made the same observations to staff and was told they were looking at updating but one year on and absolutely nothing has changed apart from the cost has increased!

Room Tip: Hunt around for a better deal in Dover!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennalamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews