We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable place to stay in Dover”

The Swingate Inn and Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Swingate Inn and Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Dover
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Reasonable place to stay in Dover”
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Stayed here for 1 night in July. The Inn was easy to find with GPS. Right on the side of the road which was fairly busy late in the afternoon but the traffic didn't bother us during the night. The Inn looked quite pretty from the outside and the guy who checked us in was very friendly and took us to our room and showed us where everything was. The decor was a bit dated and could do with some updating. Our room was on the 1st floor overlooking the car park. We had a good size double bed and 1 single bed. The windows opened so we could get plenty of fresh air in our room. The toilet didn't flush very well and the pressure in the shower wasn't very strong but the bathroom and the bedroom were both a good size. There was a very pretty garden out the back and the staff were happy to serve our evening meal out there. The restaurant inside was a little dark and smelt a bit smokey. The meal was very good and the staff friendly. I don't know if I would call this a 4* Inn - more like a 3*.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KSTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    26
    21
    7
    11
See reviews for
17
38
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

The motel charges hotel prices, imagine you get a four bedroom room for £20 and you will get the level of comfort here. The stair carpet is dirty, the room had a prison window which was claustrophobic making to say the least. The bathroom had peeling wallpaper, the towel rail which was three foot long fell onto my son's head. A member of staff came and removed it, leaving the bits on the floor and a hole in the wall which had been drilled three times in succession. There was no attempt made to check on my son or to change our room. The shower was kept together with dodgy mastic and the bathroom floor changed colour when wet. All this for £90, room only! I haven't had such a dreadful experience since New York 1981. Only recommend to someone you really don't like at all.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JHollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dover hotels

London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

I have stayed here before and it has always been a good stay. THE rooms have recently been painted and look much fresher. Once again good food, and they even made me little girl something which was not on the menu. Thank u, and we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londoner_e17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

This inn is very convenient for the Dovery ferry port. It is clean but our toilet did not flush properly, the shower was a dribble, we only had three tiny towels (more were delivered upon request) and the food in the restaurant was not particularly good. Our party occupied two rooms and we discovered that we could open each others rooms and the key allocated to us was for another room altogether. It was for one night so we put a chair against our door. An inn with potential but just not quite there.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marika1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2010

My partner and I spent 2 days at the Swingate Inn, Dover, recently. If it had been down to me we would not even have checked in. If you need to stop in this area I would recommend the Premier Inn around the corner. At least you can be sure it will be clean.

I was extremely diappointed in the standard of accommodation considering it is supposed to have 4 stars. There was the previous occupants hair in the shower and toothpaste all up the mirror. Outside the bedroom window was a large pile of cigarette stubs.

The one good thing was the freindly staff who did their best in spite of everything.

All in all a very disappointing time.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G23London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2010

Really couldn't fault the service, menu choices or the decor and comfort level of the newly refurbished rooms. Definately the most improved and best value hotel close to the port.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaxiDad20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dover
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

I was married in the garden of this hotel, all I can say is the staff and hotel were the BEST... 4 weeks before my wedding I fell into a deep fat fryer and ended up severly burnt however sitting in the hotel with the manager, he was willing to move the gazebo so that no guest would see my arm nor would the wedding photographers, 3 days before the big day further upset and agony however yet again the hotel were more than accomodating, only down fall was the dj from their own disco (didn't have our first dance!!!!!) was replaced half way through (strongly recommend getting your own trusted disco firm). Honeymoon suite is directing above kitchen's back door 6am 1 chef singing along to radio 1 (bit hazy but we weren't too fussed!!!) Thanks for making our day so special dispite all the obstictacles

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank Heidemarie32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
863 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dover East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swingate Inn and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swingate Inn and Hotel

Property: The Swingate Inn and Hotel
Address: Deal Road, Dover CT15 5DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swingate Inn and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Swingate Inn and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swingate Hotel Dover
The Swingate Inn And Hotel Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing