We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”
Review of Taste of India - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Taste of India
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This restaurant has been in Dover since I can remember and I have been in Dover for 35 years. . The postcode is CT17 0SX
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I dont think the previous reviewer has even ventured near the Taste!..In all the years we have been going there I have never seen a waitress!
We visited on Banquet night (Wednesday)..the place was busy and vibrant.
The service was fast and friendly
The food was top quality and freshly made, my daughter is a veggie, and she would have soon complained if they were not good!
A FANTASTIC MEAL

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lookey01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    4
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely disgusting”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Absolutely disgusting
I was looking forward to a good curry. But this was probably the worst I have ever had. Things started well. The two waitresses were helpful and very pleasant. The Pappadams and chutneys were good. The beer was refreshing. But then YUK! Thinking about the food still brings a queasy, sick feeling on. I had two vegetable dishes. The Cauliflower must have been cooked two weeks ago and reheated on numerous occasions. It had a horrible stringy, gluey quality. The potatoes also must have been cooked five days ago. They no longer tasted like potatoes. Other vegetables were difficult to identify – except for the onions and peppers, which at least tasted like onions and peppers.. The source was also reheated and congealed.glue.
ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnBu_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Indian food at its finest”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Following the closure of my previous regular curry house in Dover(the light of India) due to development i was looking for something that would measure up to the high standards set by them.Having read the reviews on trip advisor we decided to pay "the Taste" a visit. What a great decision this was. The food was delivered promptly,fresh, hot and looking good. When we tasted our dishes we were very pleased with our choices and decision to try the taste of india..
This is by far the best indian restaurant in the Dover area ( we have tried most).
They certainly live up to their name this truly is the Taste and i will be returning very soon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hydefamily84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Simply The Best”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We have just had yet another superb meal at the Taste.They cater for all ranges of heat,and tastes...They dish up very tasty and generous portions.4 x starters, mains,rices, naans, 2 veggie side dishes, 2 x Banglaas and 3 Pints Shandy..£65

Excellent value and super service..The Best Curry In Dover

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lookey01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Taste of India”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Best Indian in dover. The food is always freshly prepared, portions are large, staff friendly and helpful

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 83cathy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taste of India also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing